

GEO CEGU NEWS



15

EGU announces 2013 Awards and Medals

The EGU has named the 41 recipients of next year's Union Medals and Awards, Division Medals, and Division Outstanding Young Scientist Awards. These individuals, honoured for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary, and space sciences, will receive their prizes at the 2013 EGU General Assembly taking place in Vienna on 07–12 April.

The following individuals will receive 2013 Union Medals and Awards:

- Edouard Bard Alfred Wegener Medal
- Sierd A. P. L. Cloetingh Arthur Holmes Medal
- Roger-Maurice Bonnet Jean Dominique Cassini Medal
- Hang Su, Xavier Fettweis, Simon M. Mudd, and Alexis P. Rouil-Iard – Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists
- Teodoro Miano Union Service Award

The following individuals will receive 2013 Division Medals:

- · Michael C. Gurnis Augustus Love Medal
- Jeroen Tromp Beno Gutenberg Medal
- · Harry L. Bryden Fridtjof Nansen Medal
- Göran T. Marklund Hannes Alfvén Medal
- Miryam Bar-Matthews Hans Oeschger Medal
- · Georgia Destouni Henry Darcy Medal
- · Helmut J. Weissert Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
- Michael L. Roderick John Dalton Medal
- Nikolai A. Tsyganenko Julius Bartels Medal
- Jürgen Kurths Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
- Florent Domine Louis Agassiz Medal
- · Mark Zoback Louis Néel Medal

- Didier Paillard Milutin Milankovic Medal
- Dominique Jault Petrus Peregrinus Medal
- William Shotyk Philippe Duchaufour Medal
- Justin Sheffield Plinius Medal
- James W. Kirchner Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal
- Catherine A. McCammon Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal
- Tilman Spohn Runcorn-Florensky Medal
- Emile A. Okal Sergey Soloviev Medal
- Leigh H. Royden Stephan Mueller Medal
- Zuheir Altamimi Vening Meinesz Medal
- John P. Burrows Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal
- Albertus J. Dolman Vernadsky Medal
- Alessandro Annoni Ian McHarg Medal

The following individuals will receive 2013 Division Outstanding Young Scientist Awards:

- Nicolas Brantut Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP)
- Juan C. Afonso Geodynamics (GD)
- Gabriele Villarini Hydrological Sciences (HS)
- Yongxiang Huang Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP)
- Roham Bakhtyar Ocean Sciences (OS)
- Yong Wei Planetary and Solar System Sciences (PS)
- Raúl Zornoza Belmonte Soil System Sciences (SSS)
- Steven A. F. Smith Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS)

For more information on EGU's honours, please check the <u>Awards</u> & <u>Medals</u> page on the EGU website.

An earlier version of this article was published on the EGU website



Some of EGU's 2012 medalists and awardees, their nominators, and the EGU President and Vice-President at the 2012 General Assembly. Credit: Sue Voice

Autumn 2012 Union election results

SPECIAL EDITION

16

The EGU election for the next Treasurer and Division Presidents closed on 01 December. The EGU is thankful to all those who used their voting right. Active participation in elections ensures continuation of the well-established bottom-up structure of our Union!

In total, we received 1266 ballot papers. **Roland Schlich** was elected Union Treasurer with 1238 votes, or 97.8%. The results of the Division Presidents election were as follows (note that each EGU voting member is allowed to vote in up to three Division elections):

- Atmospheric Sciences Oksana Tarasova (96.2%, 302 votes)
- Biogeosciences Alina Stadnitskaia (96.3%, 158 votes)
- Climate: Past, Present & Future Thomas Blunier (96.8%, 215 votes)
- Cryospheric Sciences Jürg Schweizer (97.5%, 77 votes)
- Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics Georg Dresen (96.1%, 74 votes)
- Earth and Space Science Informatics Joan Maso (97.9%, 47 votes)
- Energy, Resources and the Environment Christopher Juhlin (100.0%, 70 votes)
- Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology Nicholas Arndt (100.0%, 131 votes)
- Geodesy Michael Schmidt (69.7%, 108 votes); Feliz Perosanz (28.4%, 44 votes)
- Geodynamics Irina M. Artemieva (57.8%, 159 votes); Paul Tackley (42.2%, 116 votes)

- Geomorphology Andreas Lang (98.7%, 77 votes)
- Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems Walter Schmidt (55.0%, 72 votes); Francesco Soldovieri (45.0%, 59 votes)
- Hydrological Sciences Gerrit de Rooij (95.1%, 176 votes)
- Natural Hazards Stefano Tinti (98.4%, 189 votes)
- Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences Shaun Lovejoy (58.1%, 93 votes); Jose Manuel Redondo (41.9%, 67 votes)
- Ocean Sciences Peter Brandt (99.1%, 108 votes)
- Planetary and Solar System Sciences Ozgur Karatekin (54.4%, 87 votes); Jesus Martinez-Frias (43.8%, 70 votes)
- Seismology Charlotte Krawczyk (97.8%, 131 votes)
- Soil System Sciences Artemi Cerdà (98.9%, 90 votes)
- Solar–Terrestrial Sciences Norma B. Crosby (97.8%, 88 votes)
- Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology Patric Jacobs (93.9%, 31 votes)
- Tectonics and Structural Geology Susanne Buiter (98.0%, 148 votes)

The EGU Treasurer and all Division Presidents will be inaugurated during the EGU plenary meeting on 08 April 2013 in Vienna, Austria, with their terms lasting for two years from inauguration.

Photographs of the candidates are available on the EGU website.

An earlier version of this article was published on the EGU website

Scientists alarmed by verdict of Italian court

On 22 October an Italian judge sentenced seven members of Italy's National Commission for the Forecast and Prevention of Major Risks, six scientists and a former government official, to six years in jail for manslaughter for providing "inexact, incomplete and contradictory" information to the public before an earthquake hit the town of L'Aquila, Italy, in 2009. The EGU Seismology Division (SM) reacted to the verdict on their Division page with a statement that provides some insight on the possible consequences this case may have for the dialogue between science and society, and for scientific research itself. Following the publication of this SM document, copied below, the EGU has hosted a <u>Twitter discussion</u> and a <u>webbased forum</u> on the matter.

The seismological community is deeply concerned about the L'Aquila verdict by an Italian court on 22 October 2012. The manslaughter conviction of six earthquake experts in Italy for failing to give adequate warning of the 2009 earthquake in the city of L'Aquila that killed over 300 people, has occupied the thoughts of large parts of our community.

The consequences of this verdict for science in general, and for the exchange of information between scientists and policy-makers in particular, could be drastic. If scientists stop actively engaging with the public to demonstrate the importance of their work, if they refuse to work in hazard-evaluation panels, or if they are afraid of offering

scientific advice to the best of their ability, the prime foundations of science – sharing and openly discussing research and increasing knowledge – are no longer met.

As there are many subtleties to the L'Aquila case, it cannot be judged by most of us. Thus, to instead provide a constructive input on the discussion, the <u>current status of earthquake prediction</u> is summarised by scientists of the SM Division of EGU.

Charlotte Krawczyk SM Division President

An earlier version of this article was published on the SM Division page



Destruction in L'Aquila on 6 April 2009. Credit: AP/Guardia Forestale, HO