European Geosciences Union

EGU logo

Division on Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology (SSP)

President: Helmut Weissert,
Deputy President: Ian Jarvis,

The Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology Division (SSP) focuses its activities on all aspects of the sedimentary record. About 70 % of the Earth surface is covered by sedimentary deposits, which are eroded and deposited right at the contact between the solid lithosphere and the atmosphere, biosphere and hydrosphere. Sedimentary rocks record the history of our planet since almost 4 billion of years and play a pivotal role for our understanding of the evolution of life. This deep-time archive of Earth history is studied with a wide range of analytical techniques providing ever stunning details on the evolution of our planet. Sedimentary basins host important natural resources like coal, gas, oil, ore deposits and groundwater and therefore a better understanding of the physical, chemical and biological processes controlling the formation and distribution of sediments and sedimentary rocks is of utmost importance for our society.

Find the SSP division on



SSP Division Meeting 2015 & Lamarck Medal Lecture

The slides from the 2015 SSP division meeting can be found in the reports section of this page. The lecture "Scale-invariance of sediment patterns - the fingerprint of fundamental drivers" given by the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal awardee Wolfgang Schlager (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands) is available as PDF file (2.2 MB).

2015 Outstanding Young Scientist (YS) Award to Patrick Grunert

IMG_8655.JPG At the SSP division meeting Outgoing SSP President Patric Jacobs (left) and Incoming SSP President Helmut Weissert (right) have handed over the Certificate of 2015 Outstanding Young Scientist (YS) Award to Patrick Grunert (Graz University, Austria) for his contributions to understanding palaeobiologic, stratigraphic, geochemical and palaeoceanographic aspects of the Early Miocene. Patrick is the first YS awardee of the SSP division. Congratulations!

Current issue of the EGU newsletter

EGU newsletter cover image

Earlier this month, the EGU, through its Seismology and Natural Hazards Divisions, issued an information briefing about the recent Nepal earthquakes. The text, written for the broad geoscience community, summarises the earthquake processes, highlights new research directions for hazards in the region, and provides resources for post-earthquake hazard mapping and risk reduction.

In other news, the EGU has launched the call for proposals for EGU co-sponsored meetings. Further, the Union has signed a joint agreement with AGU, AOGS and JpGU, aimed at strengthening future collaboration to better serve the geoscience community around the world. Last but not the least, on 18 June, our journals received their new impact factors, while Earth Surface Dynamics was indexed in Web of Science for the first time (following Geoscientific Instrumentation, Methods and Data Systems indexed last month). Follow the links below to find out more.

[ Read more ]