Skip to main content
Cueva de los Verdes (Credit: Marta Umbert Ceresuela, distributed via

EMRP Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics Division on Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Division on Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics

Division on Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics

President: Fabio Florindo (
Deputy President: Eric Font (
Deputy President: Sergio Vinciguerra (

The Earth is a dynamical planet: its interiors’ electro-magnetism and physical properties contribute to this exciting property of our planet. The Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics (EMRP) Division addresses the experimental, theoretical and modeling approaches of fundamental solid-Earth and magneto-hydrodynamic processes that extend from the Earth’s surface to the core. A continuous demand for a better understanding of the magneto-hydrodynamic and physical processes responsible for the Earth’s magnetic field spatial and temporal variability is required. Theoretical and experimental aspects of rock physics, environmental magnetism, magnetic anomalies and plate tectonic reconstructions, magnetic polarity reversals, petrophysical assessment throughout physical, mechanical and magnetic properties, electrical conductivity and transport properties of the Earth’s crust and mantle are some of the key topics of research of our ‘living planet’ to which this division is dedicated.

The division awards the Louis Néel and the Petrus Peregrinus medals for outstanding contributions to geomagnetism, palaeomagnetism and rock physics.

In line with EGU and the other divisions, EMRP is actively trying to engage with early career scientists (ECS). The ECS representative of EMRP division is working with the other divisions ECS representatives to improve visibility of ECS concerns, as well as, help out with any ECS related issues (e.g. first attendance at EGU General Assembly and how to organize sessions).

Check out the ECS section for more information ( or contact directly the ECS representative of EMRP division (see at

Recent awardees

Kenneth P. Kodama

Kenneth P. Kodama

  • 2021
  • Petrus Peregrinus Medal

The 2021 Petrus Peregrinus Medal is awarded to Kenneth P. Kodama for fundamental contributions quantifying the physical mechanisms that control palaeomagnetic records in sedimentary rocks and for advancing the discipline of rock magnetic cyclostratigraphy.

François X. Passelègue

François X. Passelègue

  • 2021
  • Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award

The 2021 Division Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award is awarded to François X. Passelègue for his outstanding research in the field of experimental rock physics and novel understanding of earthquake dynamic rupture nucleation and propagation, and frictional and ductile processes.

Lucille Carbillet

Lucille Carbillet

  • 2021
  • Virtual Outstanding Student and PhD candidate Presentation (vOSPP) Award

The 2021 Virtual Outstanding Student and PhD candidate Presentation (vOSPP) Award is awarded to Lucille Carbillet From monodisperse to polydisperse: the influence of grain size distribution on the mechanical behavior of porous synthetic rocks

Current issue of the EGU newsletter

In the December issue of The Loupe we learn about the vital importance of mountain glaciers with Harry Zekollari in this month’s special webinar Vanishing Glaciers and seak to ECS Cryosphere Division blogger Larissa van der Laan about her work on glaciers and how she uses science-art in her career as a researcher and artist.

You can also watch the free recording of our special webinar about Digitalk:online (geo)science communication, available now on our YouTube channel.

Don’t forget to submit your abstract for EGU22, which is still intended to be held as a hybrid event 3 – 8 April 2022! Find out more here as well as information about the registration fees and submit your abstract by 12 January 2022 at 13.00 CET.

In addition this issue also shares the latest Journal Watch and GeoRoundup of December EGU journal highlights.

Find EMRP on

Subscribe to

Tweets by @egu_emrp