EGU 2018 Division meeting

11 of April 2018

Start of the session at 12:20

Participants number: 77 (a pdf scan of the participants' signatures is attached)

President Angelo De Santis takes the stage and welcomes the audience. He also apologizes for the small room 0.96 which did not accommodate the sessions of today enough people and left some out of the room unable to attend.

After being approved the agenda by the participants, the first point of the agenda is the announcement of Fabio Florindo from the INGV-Rome (Italy) as the future President of the Division for the 2019-2020 biennium while the rest of the officers panel will remain the same. Anita Di Chiara from Lancaster University (UK) is proposed as the new ECS Rep of the EMRP Division and approved by the Division meeting participants. Stephanie Zihms will step down form the role as she will become ECS Rep of the EGU.

A change to the EGU executive board is announced with Alberto Montanari as next year EGU President entering the board while present President, Jonathan Bamber will step down. For this year Montanari will act as Vice-President.

People are invited to subscribe the mailing list of the division: emrp-subscribe@gfz-postdam.de

Despite EMRP is one of the smallest among all divisions, it has two medals assigned so people are encouraged to suggest candidates for the new medalists for the next year. The deadline is announced to be the 15th of June 2018.

For info about small support for conferences, people are invited to find information on EGU website

It follows a mention to some numbers about the GA, namely 17k papers, with 28/64/8 as oral/poster/pico, with an increasing proportion of PICOs in the last four years out of the orals while poster presentations remain about the same.

New rules about the EGU of 2019 are announced: that solicited presentations by conveners themselves cannot be accepted anymore; every author can submit one abstract only or one solicited and one submitted or two solicited. The number of conveners per session is suggested to be reduced to about 2 to 5 and, with one main convener and maximum 3 co-conveners. Finally, conveners are invited to stress out the equal importance of poster, oral and PICO solicited presentations.

The EGU 2019 new timeline is shared with the audience, after the agreement of the Program Committee.

The sessions where the EMRP is leading increased of 17% while it decreased the percentage of sessions when they were co-organized

Mioara Mandea is announced as the Petrus Peregrinus 2018 medalist and, being present in the room, is applauded by the participants. The panel for the medal is constituted by former medalists, which constitutions changed for conflict of interests with Dominique Jault, substituted by John Tarduno as

Chair of the Panel. As per rule, Van der Voo, the medalist who was in the panel for the longest time will step down and Mandea will enter in the Medal Committee.

The 2018 Neel medal was given to Harry Green II who sadly deceased after his nomination; an entire session and a lecture in memoriam was dedicated in tribute him on Monday during the GA. Being a strict rule that every year one member of the panel has to step down (so the mandate cannot exceed 4 years) from the Neel medal committee, the name of the Nobel Prize Michael Kosterliz is proposed and finally approved and applauded by the audience. The reasons of his candidature are explained and justified: as Neel himself won the Nobel Prize, it is reasonable that, even if Kosterliz doesn't strictly belong to the EMRP community, he also won a Nobel Prize and his contribution to physics has been fundamental for the EMRP community. Kosterliz accepted and he will become a member of the Committee instead of the Chair. It follows an emotional and short moment of silence for the late Professor Green.

The importance of the EMRP Division is highlighted again, remembering that despite being one of the smallest of the GA hold the privilege of having two medals to assign every year, and the reason is for tradition and also the fact that if the co-organized sessions are taken into account, the numbers of the Divisions remarkably increase. It follows the comparison with the tomato for the Italian cuisine, which is everywhere "as we are".

The ECS awards is assigned to Marco Scuderi from La Sapienza University of Rome (Italy) for his contributions, who is present in the room and accepts the certificate, followed by applauses.

The OSPP award was assigned to Tao Huang who is not present in the room.

The ECS Rep Stephanie Zihms goes on the stage and presents about the ECS of the EMRP on socials, twitter and facebook, inviting ECS to share ideas and jobs and actively participate and get in touch with ECS Rep (*Chuck Norris* says so). She also announces the get-together social event, supported be the AGICO company, happening later in the night, where everyone is invited

President goes back to the stage and shows the 17 open access high impact factors journal of the EGU, one of which is newly open this year, Geosciences communication.

As for the last point of the agenda, any other business, a possible overgrowth of GA needs to be taken into account and so maybe change slightly the organization accordingly as for example to present the posters all day instead that only during the poster session slot assigned to increase from 4.8k to 6.4k the number of posters. Finally the audience is invited to give any feedback or suggestions for improving the organization of the GA in the future.

End of the meeting at 13:15 h