EGU Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division 2013 Business Meeting Vienna, Austria, 09 April 2013

Minutes taken by Norma Crosby

The 2013 EGU Division Business Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on 09 April 2013, 12:15–13:15, Room Y11. It was chaired by Norma Crosby (NC). There were approximately 100 attendees at the meeting (mainly ST people). See PDF meeting presentation for more details.

1. Awards and Medals

1.1 Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) 2012 Awards

Claire Foullon (OSP coordinator for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences) presented the Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) 2012 Awards to:

- Shiyong Huang for his poster "Electron acceleration in the reconnection diffusion region: Cluster observations".
- Ivana Richterova for her poster "Model of Secondary Electron Emission from Small Dust Grains Shape Influence".

1.2 Medalists Presentation and Proposals

NC presented the names of the 2013 awards/ medals that were given:

Hannes Alfvén: The 2013 Hannes Alfvén ST Division Medal went to Göran Marklund.

Julius Bartels: The 2013 Julius Bartels ST Division Medal went to Nikolai A. Tsyganenko.

Jean Dominique Cassini: The 2013 Jean Dominique Cassini Medal went to Roger-Maurice Bonnet.

Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists: One of the 2013 Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Young Scientists went to Alexis P. Rouillard.

Nominations for next year medalists should be submitted to <u>awards.medals@egu.eu</u> (the final deadline for submissions is 15 June, 2013). For details see:

http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html

NC presented proposals for the 2014 ST Division Medal Committees for approval.

The proposed Julius Bartels Medal Committee 2014 was approved during the ST business meeting:

Karl-Heinz Glassmeier [CHAIR], Eigil Friis-Christensen, Hannu Koskinen, Mark Lester
 [IN], Jean-Andre Sauvaud [OUT], Victor Sergeev [OUT]

The proposed Hannes Alfvén Medal Committee 2013 was approved during the ST business meeting:

Sandra Chapman [CHAIR], Margaret G. Kivelson, Mike Lockwood, Göran Marklund
 [IN], Bengt Hultqvist [OUT], Gerhard Haerendel [OUT]

For more information: http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/awards-and-medals.html

3. Journal News

Mike Pinnock is the Chief Editor of Annales Geophysicae (ANGEO). Due to an increase in the amount of submissions ANGEO has widened the editorial board. The current editors are:

- Solar corona and heliospheric physics: Chris Davis, Manuela Temmer
- Magnetospheric and space plasma physics: Ioannis Daglis, Lars Blomberg, Christopher
 Owen
- Ionosphere and aeronomy: Kirsti Kauristie, Keisuke Hosokawa
- Middle and upper atmosphere: Christoph Jacobi
- Lower atmosphere and climate: Philippe Drobinski, Paolo Michele Ruti

Mike Pinnock gave a short presentation followed by Manuela Temmer who confirmed that she is now the ST Publications Liaison Officer.

4. ST Division Organisation and Officers

ST 2014 Scientific Officers:

Heliosphere: Olga Malandraki (omaland@astro.noa.gr)

Solar Physics: Volker Bothmer (bothmer@astro.physik.uni-goettingen.de)

Magnetosphere: Natalia Ganushkina (Natalia.Ganushkina@fmi.fi)

Ionosphere: Jan Laštovička (jla@ufa.cas.cz)

ST 2014 Liaison Officers:

Publications: Manuela Temmer

News, media, education and web liaisons: Athanasios Papaioannou

2014 OSP Coordinator: Claire Foullon

5. EGU 2013 GA/ST Scientific Programme

This year EGU introduced the PICO (Presenting Interactive Content) concept. Each Division was allocated one PICO session. It was recalled that the maximum number of ST oral blocks are determined by EGU boundary conditions on room availability, as well as the fact that oral sessions are only in the first four daily slots. This year there were 494 ST abstracts and ST was allocated 27 oral blocks (OB). The Final ST 2012 oral / poster / PICO ratio was 34 % - 65 % - 1 %.

6. Call for 2014 Session Proposals

NC suggested that in the future there max. be 2 co-conveners per ST session. This was approved by the participants. She highlighted that the main convener has the final responsibility and must submit on-line session information (follow dead-lines). The main convener should discuss with co-conveners (co-conveners must be active). NC reminded the community that oral presentations in a given session should be presented by non-session conveners.

The EGU 2014 ST Division sessions template was presented. It included the three traditional Open Sessions [Sun and Heliosphere, Magnetosphere, Ionosphere] and the four largest ST sessions in 2013. The web interface for proposing special sessions should be made available to the community during the summer. The community is encouraged to contribute to the definition of the sessions.

7. EGU News

NC presented Communication Activities at the Assembly (EGU Today, Blogs, Social Media). She also presented the Meetings Calendar Tool (http://www.egu.eu/meetings/calendar/). EGU2014 will be held in Vienna, Austria from 27 April – 02 May 2014.

8. AOB

There was no other business and the meeting was closed.