Report SSP Division Meeting, Wednesday 15 April 2015, 12h15-13h25, Room B1

Outgoing SSP President Patric Jacobs welcomes the SSP community and outlines the agenda of the meeting. His presentation is annexed to this report as a pdf file.

After having provided some general details about the 2015 GA (participation at the GA, 2014 finances and 2015 budget of the EGU), Patric Jacobs provides some 'facts and figures' about the SSP participation in the 2014 and 2015 GA. The number of submitted abstracts increased from 292 to 377 (SSP being the lead division), which resulted in an increase of allocated oral blocks from 12 to 22 (in more suitable rooms B1 and B3). The ratio of abstracts submitted to SSP as lead division to abstracts submitted to SSP as co-organizing division changed from roughly 1/2 to 2/1. He also suggests the new SSP officers for the next two years 2015-2017 to be:

President: Helmut Weissert (ETH Zurich)
Programme Committee Chair: Helmut Weissert (ETH Zurich)
Deputy President: Ian Jarvis (Kingston Univ. London)

Science Officers:

Stratigraphy: Stéphane Bodin (Univ. Bochum)

Sedimentology: Guilhem Amin Douillet (Univ. München)

Daniel Parsons (Univ. Hull)

Palaeontology: Thijs Vandenbroucke (Univ. Lille)

Richard Twitchett (Natural History Museum, London)

Award and Medals Chair: Judy A. McKenzie (ETH Zurich)

Early Career Scientist Representative: Guilhem Amin Douillet (Univ. München)

Anna Sanson (Univ. Zurich)
Christian Zeeden (Univ. Achen)

It is suggested that additional early career scientists could join the officers team to help with the social media¹. The division meeting endorses the proposal.

Wolfgang Schlager (SSP 2015 Lamarck Medalist) accepts membership of the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee. He will replace Emiliano Mutti (SSP 2012 Lamarck Medalist) who is thanked for his excellent services at the Committee. As Helmut Weissert (SSP 2013 Lamarck Medalist) became SSP President, he will be replaced in the Committee by Ian Jarvis who served for several terms as Committee Chair. The proposal is endorsed by the division meeting. The Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee is thus composed of

Chair: Judy A. McKenzie

Members: Ian Jarvis, Isabella Premoli Silva, Wolfgang Schlager

Patric Jacobs brings the 2016 Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal to the attention of the division meeting (dedicated to 'Stratigraphy', at least two nominations, deadline 15 June 2015, procedure clearly outlined on relevant webpages).

> ¹ After the division meeting the following persons agreed to run a new SSP blog: Anna Sanson (anna.sanson@pim.uzh.ch) and Christian Zeeden (christian.zeeden@geo.rwth-aachen.de).

Melanie Froude was awarded the 2014 Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Award. As she recently took up a new position in a private company, she could not attend the 2015 GA. Her 'Certificate' will thus be sent to her home address. Patrick Grunert is the first awardee of the Outstanding Young Student (YS) Award in the SSP division. He briefly presents his research results to the division meeting and is handed over the 'Certificate' by outgoing President Patric Jacobs and incoming President Helmut Weissert. Names of several outstanding stratigraphers, sedimentologists and palaeontologists are suggested that could be used to name the SSP Outstanding YS Award after. As this however requires careful check of the names of other already existing awards and medals, the decision to name the SSP OYS Award is postponed.

Finally, outgoing SSP President Patric Jacobs brings the 2016 GA to the attention of the division meeting (importance of good use of skeleton programme, call for session proposals), thanks all outgoing division officers for their support and help which was very much appreciated, thanks the participants of the SSP division meeting for their presence and active participation, and wishes the incoming SSP President Helmut Weissert and his team of officers all the best for the next term 2015-2017.

Patric Jacobs Outgoing SSP President 20 April 2015 Helmut Weissert Incoming SSP President 20 April 2015