# **SSP Division Meeting 2025**

# Wednesday 30 April 2025 | 12:45-13:45 | Room D1 and Zoom

# Report

### Agenda

- Welcome
- EGU24
- 5 General Assembly
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2025-2026: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- EGU25: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

#### 1. Welcome

The meeting is conducted hybrid (live and zoom)

SSP President Cinzia Bottini welcomes the attendants and outlines the agenda of the Division Meeting.

# 2. EGU25 General Assembly

The Division President provides an overview of the statistics for EGU25:

### 3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The Division President provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications.

# 4. SSP Structure and Team 2025-2026: changes

The following compositions of the SSP team and commissions for 2025-2026 were approved:

The proposed committee does not change from 2024-2025.

The only change is in the Medal committee as reported below

#### **Division SSP 2022-2023**

President

Cinzia Bottini cinzia.bottini@unimi.it

**Deputy President** 

Marc De Batist marc.debatist@ugent.be

# **Program Group/Science Officers**

- Stratigraphy

Jorijntje Henderiks jorijntje.henderiks@geo.uu.se Alicia Fantasia alicia.fantasia@unifr.ch

- Sedimentology

Madeleine Vickers m.l.vickers@geo.uio.no Stephen Lokier s.lokier@bangor.ac.uk

- Paleontology

Kasia Sliwinska kksl@geus.dk

Antonino Briguglio antonino.briguglio@unige.it

### **Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representatives**

Shradha Menon shradha.menon@iitgn.ac.in Danijela Dimitrijević danijeladd88@yahoo.com

**SSP-Blog editor** 

Mathias Vinnepand mavinnep@uni-mainz.de

**Journals Representative** 

Arjen Stroeven arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se

# Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee

Alicia Fantasia, chair Shradha Menon David Harper Silvia Frisia Donald Prothero

### **Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee**

Cinzia Bottini chair
Jorijntje Henderiks
Alicia Fantasia
Madeleine Vickers
Stephen Lokier
Kasia Sliwinska
Antonino Briguglio

**All changes are approved/confirmed by the SSP Division** during the Division Meeting.

# 5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep

ECS Representative Shradha Menon gives an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities.

#### 6. SSP Awards

Donald Prothero is the recipient of the 2025 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year "recognition of his outstanding contribution to vertebrate palaeontology, stratigraphy and geochronology as well as his strong commitment to teaching and outreach".

This year no OECS was awarded due to limited (only one) number of nominations.

The Division President has encouraged the community to nominate.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2026 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a paleontologist, and for the 2026 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2025.

## 7. EGU25: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during EGU25:

33 sessions submitted
24 sessions scheduled
10 SSP
14 co-organized
647 abstracts submitted
277 abstracts/displays scheduled

She thanks all conveners for their great work and encourages them to submit their successful session again for EGU26, and to think about possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

# 8. Information and News from the SSP Community

The President invites input from the participants. David De Vleeschouwer asks to give more detailed feedbacks to those who have nominated for the JBL Medal or the OECS Award.

Cinzia Bottini, SSP President 6 May 2025