



Philippe Jousset Division President Seismology

21.04.2019

# Report to the EGU Council on the Business Meeting for the Seismology Division

Meeting Day & Time: April 10, 2019, 12:15 – 13:15 PM Meeting Location: Austrian Conference Center, Vienna Attendance: approximately 150 people in the room

The agenda of this business meeting was as follows

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Awards & Medals
- 3. Structure of the Seismology Division
- 3. Meeting & Session Statistics
- 4. Report from the ECS team
- 5. Any other business

#### 1. Welcome

In a brief 'Welcome' address, the SM-Division President welcomed all participants in the room, presented the above agenda of the business meeting, and invited all participants to actively engage in the upcoming discussions during this meeting.

### 2. Awards & Medals

The awards and medals of the Seismology Division were announced and presented:

- Beno Gutenberg Medal, awarded in 2019 to Prof. Annie Souriau, CNRS, Observatoire de Midi Pyrénées
- Division Outstanding Young Scientist Award, given in 2019 to Dr. Piero Poli, Isterre Grenoble
- Outstanding Student Poster & Pico (OSPP) Award, for their presentations in 2018, were given to Josefine Umlauft and Kurama Okubo.

Following the presentation of the awards, the guidelines for nominations were reviewed and explained for the OSPP awards and for the Arne Richter / Outstanding Young Scientist Award. The process for nominating Beno Gutenberg medalists was explained in detail, including the composition (and changes therein) of the Committee that evaluates incoming nominations. The meeting participants were alerted to the deadline of June 15, 2019, for nominating the 2019 Outstanding Young Scientists and Beno Gutenberg medalist.

# 3. Structure of the Seismology Division

Where to find information on the Division was indicated. The structure of the seismology division was then discussed. There are several important changes that are in effects as of the Division Meeting 2019. Dr. Philippe Jousset (<a href="mailto:philippe.jousset@gfz-potsdam.de">philippe.jousset@gfz-potsdam.de</a>) replaced officially Prof. Martin Mai as President of the Seismology Division. Philippe gave a short introduction of himself and of his vision for the future of the Division. He also thanked the excellent work carried out by Martin.

The Division has the same structure as before with section officers for specific topics:

SM Programme Group Chair Philippe Jousset Seismic Instrumentation & Infrastructure Damiano Pesaresi Computational & Theoretical Seismology Heiner Igel Lapo Boschi Seismic Imaging Across Scales (from near-surface to global scale, incl. Cedric methodological developments) Schmelzbach Deformation, Faulting and Earthquake Processes (incl. seismotectonics, Henriette Sudhaus geodynamics, earthquake source physics) Paul Martin Mai Crustal Fluids and Seismic Activity (incl. induced & triggered seismicity, Philippe Jousset volcano seismology) Engineering Seismology and Seismic Hazard **Fabrice Cotton** Real-Time Seismology and Early Warning Aldo Zollo

Lapo Boschi indicated (after the Division meeting) his wish to step down of his section position.

## 4. Meeting and Session Statistics & Planning for 2019

In this agenda item, the SM-Division President presented the meeting statistics for 2019 (number of abstracts, participants, sessions, registrations), and the development of the conference over the past ~10 years (material provided by the GA PC Chair, Susanne Buiter). The continuous increase in these numbers was followed by a presentation and discussion on the benefits of the new EGU GA format in 2019. The SM-Division had not organized a vote on the question on whether is was better than before, but feedback indicated a moajority of a beeter feeling as a whole.

The number of lead sessions and abstracts lead by the SM Division increased by 12%, although the total number part of the seismology (co-organised) decreased.

A proposal for future sessions was to try to merge as soon as possible the various sessions with similar topics.

The planing, rules and schedule of the blocks for the next general assembly 2020 were presented.

## 5. Report from the ECS team

The new team of the ECS representative was complete! They presented themselves on the stage. The new ECS representatives for the SM-Division is composed as follows:

Nienke Blom (Oxford, UK), also contact person: nienke.blom@esc.cam.ac.uk Marina Corradini (IPGP, Paris, France): corradini@ipgp.fr Michaela Wenner (ETH Zürich, CH): wenner@vaw.baug.ethz.ch

Eric Löberich (Vienna, Austria): e.loeberich@googlemail.com Walid Ben Mansour (Macquarie @ Sydney, AUS): wbm2@leicester.ac.uk Lucile Bruhat (IPGP / ENS, Paris, France): bruhat@ipgp.fr Maria Tsekhmistrenko (Oxford, UK): maria.tsekhmistrenko@seh.ox.ac.uk Andrea Berbellini (UCL, London, UK): a.berbellini@ucl.ac.uk

The ECS Team presented their activities since they started (blog, Twitter, Facebook, Short course - "Seismology for non-seismologists". The new ECS Team presented its planned activities which will attempt to build stronger interactions with seismo-related industries (for career-development purposes), and to define (and develop) more integrated EGU short-courses, defining "Seismology 101, bundled as Solid earth 101, Geology 101, Geodynamics 101).

### 6. Any other business

The SM-President indicated the EGU Journal "Solid Earth", the existence of the Job Centre at EGU GA, mentione the link for feedback "Feedback on the GA 2019", upcoming events during the GA 2020 (deadlines, Beno Gutenberg Medal lecture, Thursday evening; ECS social event, Wednesday evening), reminded the audience on the upcoming award deadline, June 15, 2018.

Adjourn at 13:15 PM.