# NP Division at the EGU General Assembly 2024

Report by François G Schmitt, NP Division president

Date of the division meeting: 16 April 2024 (1 hour, 12:45-13:45 CET)

Division meeting on site in the framework of the EGU2024 general assembly.

#### Agenda:

- 1. NP Awards and medals and composition of the committees
- 2. News from the Council
- 3. NP activities at the EGU24; approval of a new science officer
- 4. NP Early career scientists activities (by Mireia Ginesta-Fernandez)
- 5. NP scientific affairs (by Davide Faranda)
- 6. NPG journal report and news (by Daniel Schertzer)

## **NP Awards and medal**

First, 2023 OSPP awards for the NP division are given to **Lucas Schmutz** and **Jamie Mathews**. They have received their certificate during the 2024 general assembly.

During the 2024 general assembly the Medal and Awards lecture MAL14 occurred on 16 April, from 19 to 20:00 CET onsite in Vienna. The NP Division OECS 2024 Award was given to **Simone Benalla**. The Lewis Fry Richardson 2024 Medal was given to **Annick Pouquet.** 

#### **NP Activities**

There is a total of 33 sessions organized by the NP Division: 11 with NP as lead division, 19 co-organised by NP with other divisions leading and 3 ITS sessions associated with NP. There is also a total of 1007 abstracts (372 with NP lead). The overall percentage of the NP division is around 5% of the EGU, and around 2% counting only the NP-lead abstracts.

# Other reports

Other reports have been given to the audience.

- On the EGU NP Blog, EGU NP Social Media, and 2024 Outstanding Student & PhD Candidate Presentation (OSPP), by the Scientific Affairs officer for NP, Davide Faranda.
- Mireia Ginesta, ECS representative, Angel Garcia-Gago, the ECS deputy for the NP division, presented the ECS activities. As representative of the NP blog and social media, they also gave information on the NP activities on the online blog and on twitter, Instagram and Slack.
- Finally Daniel Schertzer presented the activities and news of the journal *Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics*, in behalf of all executive editors.

# **NP Division structure**

There are some changes in the structure of the NP Division:

- The science officer for turbulence (NP6) is rotating. The new NP6 science officer is approved by the audience (Jezabel Curbelo). Thanks to Yuliya Troitskaya for her past work as science officer.
- The new deputy president of the division is the president elect Davide Faranda (election at the end of 2023). Many thanks to Reik Donner for his one year term as Deputy president.

NP deputy President Davide Faranda (new for 2024)

- NP1 Mathematics for Planet Earth (science officer Tommaso Alberti)
- NP2 Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in Geosciences (science officer Christian Franzke)
- NP3 Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability (science officer Ioulia Tchiguirinskaia)
- NP4 Time Series and Big data Methods (science officer Reik Donner)
- NP5 Predictability (science officer Olivier Talagrand)
- NP6 Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion (science officer Jezabel Curbelo) (new for 2024, jezabel.curbelo@upc.edu)
- NP7 Nonlinear waves (science officer Julien Touboul)
- NP8 Emerging Phenomena in Geosciences (science officer Henk Dijkstra)

## Other members:

- Daniel Schertzer (publications),
- François G Schmitt (Programme group chair),
- Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs),
- MireiaGinesta-Fernandez (Early Career Scientists)
- Ulrike Feudel (Lewis Fry Richardson Medal Chair)
- Auguste Gires (Webmaster).

The composition of the **Richardson medal committee** was discussed and the following composition was approved by the audience after presentation of the short CV of the two incoming members.

- Chair: Ulrike Feudel
- Members:
  - Ekaterina Didenkulova;
  - Freddy Bouchet; (new for 2024, freddy.bouchet@cnrs.fr)
  - Bérengère Dubrulle;
  - Kateryna Terletska; (new for 2024, kterletska@gmail.com)
  - o Angelo Vulpiani

We thank Ekaterina Didenkulova and Valerio Lucarini for their participation: they are leaving the committee due to the 4 years rotation.