EGU Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division 2012 Business Meeting Vienna, Austria, 25 April 2012

Minutes taken by Norma Crosby

The 2012 EGU Division Business Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on 25 April 2012, 12:15–13:15, Room 32. It was chaired by Norma Crosby. There were approximately 100 attendees at the meeting (mainly ST people, but also a couple of PS people). See PDF meeting presentation for more details.

1. OSP 2011 Awards Ceremony

The Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) 2011 Awards were presented:

- 2nd place went to Alexandra Alexandrova for her poster "Three-dimensional non-steady magnetic reconnection signatures: Model and observations".
- 1st place went to Heli Hietala for her poster "Particle acceleration in shock-shock interaction multi-spacecraft in situ observations".

Claire Foullon is from 2012 the OSP coordinator for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences.

2. Solar - Terrestrial Sciences Division Outstanding Young Scientists Award 2012

The 2012 Division Outstanding Young Scientists Award was awarded to Alejandro Luque for his outstanding contribution to the understanding of the electrodynamics of plasma streamers found in Transient Luminous Events (TLEs) occurring in the mesosphere of the Earth.

3. Medalists Presentation and Proposals

For more information: http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/awards-and-medals.html

Hannes Alfvén: There was no 2012 Hannes Alfvén ST Division Medal.

Julius Bartels: The 2012 Julius Bartels ST Division Medal went to Michael Lockwood; the Ceremony was held on Mon. 23 April 2012.

Jean Dominique Cassini: The 2012 Jean Dominique Cassini Medal went to Angioletta Coradini; the Commemoration Ceremony for Angioletta Coradini was on Thu. 26 April 2012.

Nominations for the above next year medalists should be submitted to awards.medals@egu.eu [For details see http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html - Medal committee chairs to be contacted until 15 June 2012].

The 2011 *Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists* went to Aikaterini Radioti (colisted).

Proposals for 2012 Outstanding Young Scientists to be sent to Norma Crosby until 15 June 2012.

<u>The proposed Julius Bartels Medal Committee 2013 was approved during the ST business</u> meeting:

Hannu Koskinen [CHAIR], Wolfgang Baumjohann [OUT], Eigil Friis-Christensen [IN], Karl-Heinz Glassmeier, Jean-Andre Sauvaud, Victor Sergeev

<u>The proposed Hannes Alfvén Medal Committee 2013 was approved during the ST business meeting:</u>

Rickard Lundin [CHAIR], Donald Gurnett [OUT], Charles Carlson [OUT], Bengt Hultqvist, Atsuhiro Nishida [OUT], Charles F. Kennel [OUT], Gerhard Haerendel, Margaret Kivelson, Mike Lockwood [NEW]

4. EGU News

In Fall 2011 there were elections for EGU President Elect and EGU General Secretary:

Günter Blöschl:

- President-Elect (Vice-President) for one year term (2012-2013)
- Union President during two years (2013-2015)
- Past-President (Vice-President) for one more year (2015-2016).

Mioara Mandea:

• EGU General Secretary 2012–2014.

The EGU Executive Office is located in Munich.

Bárbara T. Ferreira was appointed as the new EGU Media and Communications since 01 Sept. 2011.

If you have feedback comments on the General Assembly 2012, please use the following link: http://tinyurl.com/EGU2012GA-feedback

GeoQ is the new newsletter of the European Geosciences Union, http://www.egu.eu/newsletter.html

EGU2013 will be held in Vienna, Austria from 07-12 April 2013.

5. ST Division Organisation and Officers

ST Scientific Officers:

Heliosphere: Olga Malandraki (omaland@astro.noa.gr)

Solar Physics: Volker Bothmer (bothmer@astro.physik.uni-goettingen.de)

Magnetosphere: Steve Milan (ets@ion.le.ac.uk) and Natalia Ganushkina

(Natalia.Ganushkina@fmi.fi)

Ionosphere: Jan Laštovička (jla@ufa.cas.cz)

ST Liaison Officers:

Publications: Bob Forsyth (<u>r.forsyth@imperial.ac.uk</u>) is the current ST Publications Liaison Officer.

EONS (Education, Outreach, News & Sponsorship): Annika Seppälä (Annika.Seppala@fmi.fi)

Annika Seppälä gave a short presentation on the EGU ST webpages and asked the community for feedback on what they would like to see on these pages. Both she and Norma Crosby suggested that it would be useful to have 1-2 additional people (e.g. young scientists) help build these pages.

Meetings: Norma Crosby (norma.crosby@oma.be)

6. Journal News

Mike Pinnock is the *Chief Editor* of Annales Geophysicae (ANGEO).

The current editors are:

- Solar corona and heliospheric physics: Bob Forsyth
- Magnetospheric and space plasma physics: Ioannis Daglis and Rumi Nakamura
- Ionosphere and aeronomy: Pierre-Louis Blelly and Kirsti Kauristie
- Middle and upper atmosphere: Christoph Jacobi

- Lower atmosphere and climate: Philippe Drobinski and Paolo Michele Ruti

Due to an increase in the amount of submissions ANGEO is planning to widen the editorial board.

7. 2011 GA/ST Scientific Programme

It was recalled that the maximum number of ST oral blocks are determined by EGU boundary conditions on room availability, as well as the fact that oral sessions are only in the first four daily slots. This year there were 495 abstracts and ST was allocated 20 oral blocks (OB). The Final ST 2012 oral / poster ratio was 32 % - 68 %.

8. Call for 2013 Session Proposals

The EGU 2013 ST Division sessions template was presented. It included the three traditional Open Sessions [Sun and Heliosphere, Magnetosphere, Ionosphere]. Some new suggestions for the approximate eight to ten special sessions were discussed for example Planetary Magnetospheres and Ionospheres sessions (e.g. Radiation Belts in the Solar System, Geomagnetic and Solar Index).

The community is encouraged to contribute to the definition of the sessions

The web interface for proposing special sessions should be made available to the community during July 2012.

9. AOB

There was no other business and the meeting was closed.