



# Report to the EGU Council on the Business Meeting for the Seismology Division

Meeting Day & Time: April 26, 2017, 12:15 – 13:15 PM

Meeting Location: Austrian Conference Center, Vienna, Room K1

Attendance: approximately 150 people in the room

The agenda of this business meeting was as follows

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Awards & Medals
- 3. Meeting & Session Statistics
- 4. Structure of the Seismology Division
- 5. Any other business

#### 1. Welcome

In a brief 'Welcome' address, the SM-Division President welcomed all participants in the room, presented the above agenda of the business meeting, and invited all participants to actively engage in the upcoming discussions during this meeting.

### 2. Awards

The awards and medals of the Seismology Division were announced and presented:

- Beno Gutenberg Medal, awarded in 2017 to Hitoshi Kawakatsu
- Division Outstanding Young Scientist Award, given in 2017 to Elmer Ruigrok
- Outstanding Student Poster & Pico (OSPP) Award, for their presentations in 2016, were given to **Alessandro Lechmann** and **Jagdish Vyas**.

Following the presentation of the awards, the guidelines for nominations were reviewed and explained for the OSPP awards and for the Arne Richter / Outstanding Young Scientist Award. The process for nominating Beno Gutenberg medalists was explained in detail, including the composition (and changes therein) of the Committee that evaluates incoming nominations. The meeting participants were alerted to the deadline of June 15, 2017, for nominating the 2018 Outstanding Young Scientists and Beno Gutenberg medalist.





## 3. Meeting and Session Statistics & Planning for 2018

In this agenda item, the SM-Division President presented the meeting statistics for 2017 (number of papers, participants, sessions, registrations), and the development of the conference over the past ~10 years (material provided by the GA PC Chair, G. Rooij).

The continuous increase in these numbers led to several questions that sparked a lively discussion on room sizes and room allocations, as well as general strategies for session organization that optimizes the available rooms. It was remarked that many rooms were found to be over-crowded, while for other non-seismology sessions very large rooms were essentially empty. The challenge is to accurately and honestly estimate the potential number of attendees. An advertisement was made to move towards PICO sessions, which were not used in the Seismology Division for the GA 2017.

It was also discussed that small session are difficult to keep, as they will have to be merged, or can be held as "poster only". Therefore, conveners are alerted to "think big and inclusive" in order to define the sessions broadly. The Division President pointed out that the EGU Program system allows to subdivide large sessions, and to group several talks of an oral block, or set of talks (posters), under a specific topic/theme that is in fact reflected in the online and printed program.

### 4. Structure of the Seismology Division

Next, the structure of the seismology division was discussed. No substantial changes will occur for the period April 2017 to April 2018, as all Sciences Officers and the ECS Team will remain on board.

The ECS-Point of Contact person, Laura Parisi, presented in a 10-min overview the various outreach activities of the ECS-Team (blog, paper of the month, Twitter, Facebook, Social Events, conference & workshop presence). The presentation and all ECS-activities were very well received by the participants of the business meeting.

The SM-Division President the explained the overall EGU procedures for electing Division Presidents, and the recent changes to include (vote for) a president-elect. He also pointed out that the SM-Division was operating without a Deputy President for the past two years. Therefore, a deputy president was sought who could run for "president-elect" in fall 2017; if voted for he/she would take office as "president-elect" in 2018, and become Division President in April 2019.

The Division President appointed Dr. Philippe Jousset (GFZ Potsdam) as deputy president, who was unanimously confirmed by the business meeting.







The final point of discussion for the Division Meeting was related to expanding the Medal Committee of the Beno Gutenberg medal. Currently, and already for the past several years, the Medal Committee is composed of the past five medalist. The Committee Chair is the medalist of four year ago for the to-be-awarded medal; the Division President takes an ex officio non-voting role in the committee.

It was then discussed – and approved – to expand the committee by a sixth non-medalist member; the proposal was to choose one of the past Division Presidents as committee member. The business meeting approved this proposal as well, however, the potential candidates (Charlotte Krawczyk, SM President 2011 – 2015) still would need to agree to serve on this committee. Going further back in time, the following former SM-Division Presidents would qualify: Ramon Carbonell (2007 – 2011), and Hans Thybo (2002 – 2007).

In a phone conversation on May 07, 2017, Martin Mai asked Ch. Krawczyk whether she would serve on this Beno Gutenberg medal committee but she declined. It was then decided in an email communication (May 08, 2017) with the Award-Committee Chair, Ozgur Karatekin, and the Executive Secretary, Philippe Courtial, to add the non-medalist committee member as of 2018.

### 5. Any other business

In the last agenda item, the SM-Division President presented information on the EGU Galileo Conferences, reminded the participants on the upcoming deadlines for EGU Awards & Medals, the EGU General Assembly in April 2018, and the opportunity to provide feedback about the 2017 General Assembly.

The meeting was closed at 13:10 PM.