SSP Division Meeting 2023

Wednesday 26 April 2023 | 12:45-13:45

Report

Agenda

- Welcome
- EGU22 General Assembly
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2023-2024: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- EGU22: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

1. Welcome

SSP President **Cinzia Bottini** welcomes the attendants and outlines the agenda of the Division Meeting. The President thanks **Marc De Batist** for his work as President of the SSP Division in the past years.

2. EGU22 General Assembly

The president provides an overview of the statistics for EGU23:

- 16,646 abstracts in the program;
- 925 active sessions, of which 629 division-led sessions, 51 Short Courses and 39 Medal and Award Lectures;

Updates from the EGU Programme Committee (PC)

- EGU Programme Committee now has two PC Co-chairs, appointed by the EGU Council for the planning of the General Assemblies 2023 & 202

3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The president provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications, such as:

- EGU Membership
 - 19176 members, of which 40% ECS and ca. 500 members in SSP
- Elections
 - Irina M. Artemieva is the new EGU President for the term 2023–2025;
- EGU open access journals
 - Several journals have subjects in common with SSP (e.g. "Solid Earth", "Natural Hazards and Earth System Science", "Climate of the Past", "Biogeosciences", "Earth System Dynamics");
 - SSP has as executive editor Arjen Stroeven (arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se) for "Solid Farth".
 - SSP authors are invited to submit manuscripts to "Solid Earth" and/or to the other EGU journals;

4. SSP Structure and Team 2023-2024: changes

The following changes to the SSP team for 2022-2023 need to be approved/confirmed at the SSP Division Meeting:

- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee
 - David Harper as former medalist member, replacing Michael Benton who rotates off;
- Program Group/Science Officers

Marc De Batist as Deputy President, replacing Stéphane Bodin who steps down;

All changes are approved/confirmed unanimously by the SSP Division during the Division Meeting. The President welcomes all new nominees and thanks i) Michael Benton for his work in the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee in the past years, ii) Stéphane Bodin for his work as Program Group/Science Officer and Deputy President over the past years.

The proposed new committee members will need to be approved by the Council.

Division SSP 2022-2023

President

Cinzia Bottini cinzia.bottini@unimi.it

Deputy President

Marc De Batist marc.debatist@ugent.be

Program Group/Science Officers

- Stratigraphy

Jorijntje Henderiks jorijntje.henderiks@geo.uu.se

lan Jarvis i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk

- Sedimentology

Guilhem Amin Douillet guilhem.douillet@geo.unibe.ch

Stephen Lokier s.lokier@bangor.ac.uk

- Paleontology

Mike Benton Mike.Benton@bristol.ac.uk
Antonino Briguglio antonino.briguglio@unige.it

Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representatives

Alicia Fantasia alicia.fantasia@unifr.ch Madeleine Vickers m.l.vickers@geo.uio.no

SSP-Blog editor

Mathias Vinnepand mavinnep@uni-mainz.de

Journals Representative

Arjen Stroeven arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se

Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee

Jorijntje Henderiks, chair

Elisabetta Erba André Strasser David Harper Madeleine Vickers

Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee

Cinzia Bottini, chair Jorijntje Henderiks

Ian Jarvis

Guilhem Amin Douillet

Stephen Lokier

Mike Benton

Antonino Briguglio

5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep

ECS Representatives Alicia Fantasia gives an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities:

- Regular meetings with all Division Reps (Zoom and Slack) & Wide Meetings (2022: Frankfurt, 2023: Prague)
 - Updates (e.g., GA Programme, Presidents Meetings, Council, GA Events, News...)
 - Working Group "Useful Tools and Documents for ECS"
- Advertisements on social media (Twitter & Facebook)

Onsite in Vienna:

- Pre-GA Meeting (last Saturday)
 - Updates
 - Working Groups
- Networking events and communication
 - ECS breakfast with President (Monday, 7:30-10:00, Rooftop Foyer)
 - ECS Reception (Tuesday, 19:00–20:30, Rooftop Foyer)
 - ECS SSP Lunch (Thursday 27, at 12.30, main entrance)
 - ECS Handover (Friday, 12.45-13.45, Room 3.29/30)
 - ECS EGU Booth (during the week, Hall X2)

6. SSP Awards

David A. T. Harper (Durham University, UK) is the recipient of the 2023 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year "for recognition of his outstanding work on the evolution and biostratigraphy of Lower Paleozoic invertebrate faunas, as well as his important contributions to quantitative palaeontology education". The medal lecture on "Fossils in the mountains: Understanding the relationship between biodiversity and geography during the Early Palaeozoic" will be given on 27 April 2023, during the SSP Medal and Award Session, between 19:00-20:00, in Room D3.

Stefanie Kaboth-Bahr (Institut für Geowissenschaften University of Potsdam, Germany) is the recipient of the 2023 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, and this "for her outstanding work in marine sedimentology and terrestrial stratigraphy to better understand low- and high-latitude climate processes as well as land-ocean coupling in the climate system". Her award lecture on "Paleoclimate archives as sentinels of future climate change" will be given on 27 April 2023, during the SSP Medal and Award Session, between 19:00-20:00, in Room D3.

Nina Wichern (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) Münster, Germany) is the recipient of the 2022 vOSPP Award "for the vPICO entitled: "The bivalve Angulus benedeni benedeni as a climate archive for Pliocene seasonality (Wichern, N. M. A.; de Winter, N. J.; Johnson, A. L. A.; Hamers, M. F.; Goolaerts, S.; Wesselingh, F.; Kaskes, P.; Claeys, P.; Ziegler, M.)

Congratulations to all the medalists and awardees.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2024 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a sedimentologist, and for the 2024 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2023.

7. EGU22: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during EGU22:

30 sessions submitted 32 sessions scheduled 12 SSP 20 co-organized 682 abstracts submitted 269 abstracts/displays scheduled 341 SSP 423 co-organized in SSP-led sessions

A striking observation is that the Palaeontology sub-group is becoming smaller and smaller.

The President thanks all conveners for their great work and encourages them to submit their successful session again for EGU24, and to think about possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

8. Information and News from the SSP Community

The President invites input from the participants, but none is given. A few participants advertise job positions in paleontology and stratigraphy.

Cinzia Bottini, SSP President 9 May 2023