Report SSP Division Business Meeting

Thursday April 11, 2013 at 12h15, Room B11

Incoming SSP Division President Patric Jacobs welcomes about 25 participants. He wishes Outgoing President Darren Gröcke (absent) a full and speedy recovery.

Details are provided about the EGU in general and about the GA in particular. These details can be found in the pdf of the President's presentation (see appendix).

The SSP Division Business Meeting discusses division matters such as

- SSP Division Science Officers: in order to guarantee close contacts with the SSP community, 4
 members volunteer to help the SSP division and are welcomed as new division officers. They
 will be officially appointed by the EGU Council in its meeting of Friday April 12. The list of
 new officers goes herewith in annex 1.
- Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal: the SSP Division awards each year its Lamarck Medal to honor
 a scientist who considerably contributed to the progress of one of the division's topics.
 According to the EGU Best Practice, the 2013 Medalist Helmut Weissert will replace the 2010
 Medalist Felix Gradstein in the SSP Division Award Committee. The accepted list of the
 committee follows in annex 2. The committee's composition will also be ratified by the EGU
 Council during its meeting of Friday April 12. Given the rotation between the SSP
 Subdivisions, the 2014 Lamarck Medal will have to be awarded to a palaeontologist.
- SSP Division activities during the next GA at EGU2014: the need to improve and increase the number of sessions is stressed, especially from the palaeontology side. Remedies will have to be sought to bring back to the SSP Division session proposals with attractive SSP themes that currently are organized under the umbrella of other divisions. Networking with the relevant national stratigraphical, sedimentological and palaeontological associations/societies and institutes/museums will be essential to increase the visibility of the SSP Division and its themes, a task that might be taken up by the subdivision secretaries. Submission of abstracts will have to be solicited through networking and well-targeted invitations and communication. Perhaps also financial support (in the form of e.g. travel grants) from the learned societies can help to stimulate PhD students to present their research results.

Patric Jacobs

SSP Division President

Ghent, April 16, 2013

Annex 1 - SSP Division Structure

Officers

<u>President</u>

Patric Jacobs, Department of Geology and Soil Science, Ghent University, Krijgslaan 281/S8, 9000 Gent, Belgium; <u>Patric.Jacobs@UGent.be</u>; +32 9 264 4651

Vice- President

Ian Jarvis, School of Geography, Geology and the Environment, Centre for Earth and Environmental Science Research, Kingston University London, Penrhyn Road, Kingston upon Thames, Surrey KT1 2EE, UK; <u>i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk</u>; +44 20 8417 2526

Secretary Stratigraphy Subdivision

Ulrich Heimhofer, Institute of Geology, Leibniz University Hannover, Callinstrasse 30, 30167 Hannover, Germany; <u>heimhofer@geowi.uni-hannover.de</u>; +49 511 762 2170

Secretary Sedimentology Subdivision

Guilhem Amin Douillet, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Munich, Theresienstrasse 41, 8033 Munich, Germany; <u>douillet@min.uni-muenchen.de</u>; +49 89 2180 4271

Secretary Palaeontology Subdivision

Barbara Mohr, Leibniz Institute for Evolutionary and Biodiversity Research, Natural History Museum, Invalidenstrasse 43, 10115 Berlin, Germany; <u>barbara.mohr@mfn-berlin.de</u>; +49 30 2093 8855

Anna Sanson Barrera, Palaeontology Institute and Museum, Zürich University, Karl Schmid-Strasse 4, CH-8006 Zürich, Switzerland; <u>anna.sanson@pim.uzh.ch</u>; +44 634 23 38

Programme Committee Member

Patric Jacobs

No webmaster

Annex 2 - SSP Medal Committee

<u>President</u>

lan Jarvis

Committee Members

Malcolm Hart (Palaeontology 2011)

Emiliano Mutti (Sedimentology 2012)

Helmut Weissert (Stratigraphy 2013)