Report of the Division Meeting of Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS) Wednesday 26 April 2017, 12:15 – 13:10, room G1

Notes by TS programme committee member Rebecca Bell (notes are not chronological)

EGU News

• The 2018 General Assembly (GA) will take place on 8th -13th April 2018 in Vienna. Dates of the meeting are on <u>www.egu.eu/ts/meetings/</u>

• Solid Earth full open access EGU journal has an impact factor of 2.083 for 2015, and a projected IF for 2016 of \sim 3.5 based on Scopus. Division members are encouraged to submit papers. Page charges 75 – 120 euro per final page + 19% VAT.

TS awards and medal

• The Stephan Mueller Medal 2017 was awarded to Cees Passchier

• The Outstanding Student Poster Award 2016 was awarded to Robert Herrendörfer

Union Arne Richter Outstanding Early Career Scientists award 2017 awarded to João Duarte (four Arne Richter awards are elected from 22 division OECSA)
Deadline for nominations for the 2018 Stephan Mueller medal and the TS OECSA is 15th June. More information is on www.egu.eu/awards-medals

15 June. More information is on <u>www.egu.eu/awarus-medais</u>

Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) award (Francesca Cifelli)

132 students participated in the OSP contest for TS in 2017 (this is a big increase from 95 students in 2016). Conveners successfully found 3 judges this year for all 132 student contributions.

Media

Communication in the division is now done via email, the TS website, TS facebook page, Twitter (@EGU_TS) and a blog initiated by early career scientists (blogs.egu.eu/divisions/ts). A TS mailing list is now active and is used for division news (sign up to <u>ts@lists.egu.eu</u> at http://lists.egu.eu/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/ts) and in addition the geo-tectonics mailing list from JICSMail is used. Feedback requested on the TS methods of communication.

Early Career Scientists / Young Scientists

• Anne Pluymakers and João Duarte stepped down as the TS Early career representatives. Anouk Beniest becomes the new Early Career representative for TS.

TS Programme at the General Assembly 2017

• There has been another increase in the number of abstracts submitted to the GA in 2017 (17,399) +7.87% higher than in 2016. 28% of submissions were given oral slots, 65% posters and 7% PICO. There were 649 unique science sessions and 88 short courses.

• The final number of attendees is 14,496 (number obtained Friday afternoon)

• The number of TS abstracts in sessions led by TS was 958 (862 in 2016) and 1518 for all sessions in which TS was involved. 28% abstracts were presented in oral slots, 64% poster and 8% PICO.

• There were 44 TS led sessions at the call and 32 TS-led sessions in the programme.

• 14 TS involved sessions were held in collaboration with other divisions

• TS had 3 poster-only sessions, 5 PICO sessions

• For room programming purposes TS is now in a cluster with EMRP

• This year we were in the basement in rooms G1 and D3 and yellow room 0.31.

• Posters grouped by related divisions rather than alphabetically in basement poster

halls X1 and X2. PICO sessions were distributed throughout the building.

• No day-time poster sessions.

TS officers and committees

• Susanne Buiter completed her term as president and stepped down as TS president at the meeting and was thanked by the division with long-lasting applause. Claudio Rosenberg is the new president of TS. Claudio Rosenberg thanked Susanne and her working group for their hard work during her term.

The Division Meeting approved the following committees and officers for 2017-2018: • Stephan Mueller Medal committee: Susanne Buiter (chair), Cees Passchier, Renée Heilbronner, Claudio Faccenna and César Ranero.

• TS division OECSA committee: Claudio Rosenberg (chair), João Duarte, Ake Fagereng, Stacia Gordon and Steven Smith.

•TS officers: Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth (Deputy-president), Fabrizio Balsamo (Outreach and OSP), Michael Kettermann (News and Media), Anouk Beniest (Early Career Scientist), Andrea Argnani, Rebecca Bell, Lucilla Benedetti, Florian Fusseis, Olivier Lacombe (all programme officers).

Questions and feedback from the division

Q: Two-thirds of our contributions are posters and these are only allocated 1.5 hours at the end of the day. Should we have poster sessions in the daytime like at the AGU fall meeting? We already schedule orals parallel to PICOs so why not schedule orals parallel to posters? In 2016 an overwhelming majority at the division meeting voted for all-day posters.

- Susanne Buiter described how she has discussed this issue with the other divisions and they are not keen for daytime posters. If we had daytime posters it may only be presenters from TS in the poster hall, which would be rather empty and perhaps lack atmosphere.
- There is limited scope to have more posters on a particular day as poster boards are limited. Divisions could potentially opt to have more posters on a particular day borrowing poster boards from another division, and then offering up their poster boards on a different day.
- A show of hands again voted unanimously in favour of daytime posters.

Q. Is it possible to develop a more formal interaction between TS and the seismology division to develop seismo-tectonic collaborations?

- Claudio Rosenberg reminded the division that they can take the initiative to develop such integrations by proposing co-sponsored sessions with members of other divisions

Q. TS's collaboration with GSA is working well, in terms of co-organising sessions and initiating new collaborations. Our collaboration with AGU Tectonophysics is

working less well, and although there are AGU sponsored sessions at EGU this is not really being reciprocated at AGU.

- No decision was made on this issue at the meeting.

The TS division was reminded that the GA runs from 8:30 - 19:00 all week and that there are the same number of posters scheduled on Friday evening as throughout the week. The division was encouraged to attend.

EGU will hold division president elections in Autumn 2017. The elected president will become the deputy president at GA 2018 and the TS president at GA 2019. The elected president will shadow the current president for one year in the new structure. If Claudio Rosenberg is re-elected for another 2 years a new deputy president will be elected in 2018.

The division was reminded that TS works in a "bottom-up manner" and that people are encouraged to begin thinking about session proposals for 2018. The call-for-sessions will open in July.

TS and EGU conferences/Summer School

• The Emile Argand Conference on Alpine Geological Studies will take place 13-15 September in Serbia.

• International workshop on mantle and lithosphere dynamics, 27-31 August 2017, Putten, The Netherlands.

• Structural analysis of crystalline rocks. Giorgio Pennacchioni and Neil Mancktelow. 4th EGU summer school. Lago di Neves area (South Tyrol, northeast Italy). 25th-31st August 2017.

• Check our meeting calendar for more: www.egu.eu/ts/meetings

Feedback!

- www.egu2017.eu/feedback
- ts@egu.eu