NP Division at the EGU General Assembly 2022

Report by François G Schmitt, NP Division president

Date of the division meeting: 20 May 2022 (1 hour, 14:30-15:30 CET)

Division meeting online on zoom in the framework of the virtual EGU2022 general assembly.

Agenda:

- Important informations about EGU22
- NP Awards and medals and composition of the committees
- News from the Council
- NP activities at the EGU22; approval of new Division deputy president
- NP Early career scientists activities (by Tommaso Alberti)
- Presentation on the Campfire "Scaling and multifractals" (by Auguste Gires)
- NPG journal report and news (by Daniel Schertzer)

NP Awards

First, 2021 OSPP awards for the NP division are given to **Giorgia di Capua** and **Sam Hartharn-Evans**. They have received their certificate during the 2022 general assembly.

During the 2022 general assembly the Medal and Awards lecture MAL20 occurred on 24 May, from 19 to 20:00 CET onsite in Vienna. The 2022 awards and medals were given to:

NP Division OECS 2022 Award to **Tommaso Alberti** Lewis Fry Richardson 2022 Medal to **Ulrike Feudel**

NP Activities

There is a total of 37 sessions organized by the NP Division: 12 with NP as lead division, and 25 coorganised by NP with other divisions leading. There is also a total of 928 abstracts (296 with NP lead). The overall percentage of the NP division is around 2.4% (counting only the NP-lead abstracts). See the table below.

The NP division also participated to 3 Inter- and Transdisciplinary sessions (ITS), and 5 short courses. Other NP activities have been advertised, including the networking events.

	Abstracts	Sessions
NP lead	296	12
Co-organised by NP	632	25
total	924	37

Table: number of abstracts and sessions for the NP division at the EgU22 general assembly.

Other reports

Other reports have been given to the audience.

- On the EGU 2022 Outstanding Student & PhD Candidate Presentation (OSPP), by the OSPP coordinator for NP, Davide Faranda.
- Tommaso Alberti, as ECS (Early Carrier Scientist) representative for the NP division, presented the ECS activities and the ECS networking event.
- As representative of the NP blog and social media, he also gave information on the NP activities on the online blog and on twitter.
- Auguste Gires presented the Campfire "Scaling and multifractals", organized online in January and February 2022 by Auguste Gires, Tommaso Alberti and Yongxiang Huang.
- Finally Daniel Schertzer presented the activities and news of the journal *Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics*, in behalf of all executive editors.

NP Division structure

The structure of the NP Division was discussed before the meeting. The new deputy president which is proposed to the audience is Reik Donner. This proposal was accepted by all. It was also recalled that Ioulia Tchiguiringskaia has been nominated during the summer 2021 as science officer for NP3.

NP deputy President Reik Donner (new in 2022)

- NP1 Mathematics for Planet Earth (science officer Valerio Lucarini)
- NP2 Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in Geosciences (science officer Christian Franzke)
- NP3 Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability (science officer Ioulia Tchiguirinskaia)
- NP4 Time Series and Big data Methods (science officer Reik Donner)
- NP5 Predictability (science officer Olivier Talagrand)
- NP6 Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion (science officer Yuliya Troitskaya)
- NP7 Nonlinear waves (science officer Julien Touboul)
- NP8 Emerging Phenomena in Geosciences (science officer Henk Dijkstra)

Other members:

- Daniel Schertzer (publications),
- François G Schmitt (Programme group chair),
- Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs),
- Tommaso Alberti (Early Career Scientists),
- Shaun Lovejoy (Lewis Fry Richardson Medal Chair)
- Auguste Gires (Webmaster).

The composition of the Richardson medal committee was discussed and the following composition was approved by the audience:

- Chair: Shaun Lovejoy,
- Members: Ekaterina Didenkulova; Bérengère Dubrulle; Valerio Lucarini; Ulrike Feudel

We thank Tim Palmer for his participation. He is leaving the committee due to the 4 years rotation.