## Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) division activities at the EGU General Assembly 2018

The NP division activities at the EGU 2018 were a real success with more than 500 abstracts, 5 short courses, and two interdisciplinary-transdisciplinary sessions and a Townhall meeting. 10 sessions were also co-organized with other divisions (about 300 abstracts). NP honours have been awarded to Tim Palmer with the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal 2018, and to Davide Faranda with the Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award 2018.

## Discussion and Decisions at the NP division meeting

A discussion on the new format of the General Assembly has been initiated, with a short presentation of its features. Overall the NP division is not in favor of a modification based on the new proposal of parallel poster and oral sessions. The main points raised were:

- 1. Many reactions concerning the format of the current poster session in the evening. Many people find it a very interesting scheme to meet people and networking, even if the beer and wine were not easily accessible.
- 2. Possible solutions raised to keep that poster format: webstreaming of the activities at the conference (but maybe counter-productive), posters in portrait instead of landscape, optimization of the poster boards (for some sessions several boards were still empty), or maybe other tricks to keep the current format.
- 3. In case of parallel poster and oral blocks, poster sessions could be before oral sessions, and some NP members would like to keep the opposite.

For EGU meeting 2019, it was decided to slightly modify the structure of the main themes of the NP division as follows.

NP1 – Mathematics for Planet Earth

NP2 – Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in Geosciences

NP3 – Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability

NP4 – Time Series and Big data methods

NP5 – Predictability

NP6 – Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion

NP7 – Nonlinear waves

NP8 – Emerging Phenomena in the Geosciences

together with the new NP executive board members as,

## Science officers:

Valerio Lucarini (NP1, Mathematics of Planet Earth)

Stefano Pierini (NP2, Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences)

François Schmitt (NP3, Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability)

Reik Donner (NP4, Time Series and Big Data Methods),

Olivier Talagrand (NP5, Predictability),

Jose Redondo (NP6, Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion),

Julien Touboul (NP7, Nonlinear Waves), Henk Dijkstra and possibly Ioulia Tchigirinskaia (NP8, Emergent Phenomena in Geosciences),

## Other members:

Daniel Schertzer (publications), Stéphane Vannitsem (Programme group chair), Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs), Igor da Silva Rocha Paz (Early Career Scientists), Shaun Lovejoy (Division Affairs) Auguste Gires (Webmaster).

The new Richardson medal committee is composed of:

**Chair:** Annick Pouquet,

Members: Edward Ott, Peter Read, Daniel Schertzer, Tim Palmer.

Stéphane Vannitsem

NP division president