NP Division at the EGU General Assembly 2023

Report by François G Schmitt, NP Division president

Date of the division meeting: 27 April 2023 (1 hour, 12:45-13:45 CET)

Division meeting on site and online on zoom in the framework of the EGU2023 general assembly.

Agenda:

- 1. NP Awards and medals and composition of the committees
- 2. News from the Council
- 3. NP activities at the EGU23; approval of a new science officer
- 4. NP Early career scientists activities (by Tommaso Alberti and Mireia Ginesta-Fernandez)
- 5. NP scientific affairs (by Davide Faranda)
- 6. NPG journal report and news (by Daniel Schertzer)

NP Awards

First, 2022 OSPP awards for the NP division are given to **Benedikt Schulz** and **Lana Blaschke**. They have received their certificate during the 2023 general assembly (B. Schulz was not present and will receive his certificate by surface mail after the conference).

During the 2023 general assembly the Medal and Awards lecture MAL9 occurred on 25 April, from 19 to 20:00 CET onsite in Vienna. The NP Division OECS 2023 Award was not given since there was not enough candidates. The Lewis Fry Richardson 2023 Medal was given to **Angelo Vulpiani**.

NP Activities

There is a total of 36 sessions organized by the NP Division: 10 with NP as lead division, and 26 coorganised by NP with other divisions leading. There is also a total of 1100 abstracts (363 with NP lead). The overall percentage of the NP division is around 2.2% (counting only the NP-lead abstracts).

The NP division is also the lead division for 3 Inter- and Transdisciplinary sessions (ITS), having a total of 116 abstracts. So altogether, NP leading sessions + ITS NP sessions there are 13 sessions and 479 abstracts, corresponding to 2.9% of all abstracts.

The NP division is also associated with 5 Short Courses.

Other reports

Other reports have been given to the audience.

- On the EGU NP Blog, EGU NP Social Media, and 2023 Outstanding Student & PhD Candidate Presentation (OSPP), by the Scientific Affairs officer for NP, Davide Faranda.
- Mireia Ginesta, incoming ECS representative, Angel Garcia-Gago, the incoming ECS deputy, and Tommaso Alberti, the outgoing ECS representative for the NP division, presented the ECS activities and the ECS drink event. As representative of the NP blog and social media, they also gave information on the NP activities on the online blog and on twitter, Instagram and Slack.
- Finally Daniel Schertzer presented the activities and news of the journal *Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics*, in behalf of all executive editors.

NP Division structure

The structure of the NP Division was discussed before the meeting. The new NP1 officer for "Mathematics of Planet Earth" is Tommas Alberti, since Valrio Lucarini wished to step down. This proposal was accepted by all.

NP deputy President Reik Donner

- NP1 Mathematics for Planet Earth (science officer Tommaso Alberti) (new for 2023)
- NP2 Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in Geosciences (science officer Christian Franzke)
- NP3 Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability (science officer Ioulia Tchiguirinskaia)
- NP4 Time Series and Big data Methods (science officer Reik Donner)
- NP5 Predictability (science officer Olivier Talagrand)
- NP6 Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion (science officer Yuliya Troitskaya)
- NP7 Nonlinear waves (science officer Julien Touboul)
- NP8 Emerging Phenomena in Geosciences (science officer Henk Dijkstra)

Other members:

- Daniel Schertzer (publications),
- François G Schmitt (Programme group chair),
- Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs),
- MireiaGinesta-Fernandez (Early Career Scientists) (new for 2023)
- Ulrike Feudel (Lewis Fry Richardson Medal Chair) (new for 2023)
- Auguste Gires (Webmaster).

The composition of the Richardson medal committee was discussed and the following composition was approved by the audience:

- Chair: Ulrike Feudel (new for 2023)
- Members:
 - Ekaterina Didenkulova;
 - Bérengère Dubrulle;
 - Valerio Lucarini;
 - Angelo Vulpiani (new for 2023)

We thank Shaun Lovejoy for his participation and chair of the committee. He is leaving the committee due to the 4 years rotation.