Report of the Division Meeting of Tectonics and Structural Geology (TS)

Held by TS president Claudio Rosenberg, Wednesday 10th of April 2019, 12:45 - 13:45, room K2.

The meeting started at 12.45.

Claudio Rosenberg opened the meeting and introduced the newly suggested TS Division officers for 2020-2021 (Zoe Mildon, Bernhard Grasemann, Philippe Yamato, David Fernández-Blanco) mentioning their functions and asking the audience to confirm their integration into the TS division by a vote. No one was against these candidates, hence they are now part of the division officers of the TS Division. Becky Bell, Andrea Argnani, Olivier Lacombe, and Anouk Beniest were thus replaced and thanked for the work they did in the past years.

The new members of the Medal committees of the TS Division were also confirmed by the unanimity vote of the audience: Serge Lallemand replaces César Ranero in the Stephan Müller committee, and Daniel Pastor-Galán replaces Stacia Gordon in the Outstanding ECS award committee.

Claudio presented the statistics for the EGU GA2019 and invited the TS members to provide feedback on the GA during the "meet with the TS division president and program group" during the lunch break of Thursday the 11th at the EGU booth and otherwise by email.

Claudio informed about the general time table in shaping the next EGU 2020 with the deadlines for session submission starting in June 2019. He reminded that new submissions for sessions should take notice on sessions that are already proposed, should avoid submitting topics that already are listed and recommended that sharpening of specific session characteristics may help in avoiding thematic overlap.

Claudio Rosenberg congratulated the recipients of the TS division Outstanding Student Poster and PICO Award: Loes van Dam and Luca Dal Zilio. Both of them came up on the stage.

Anouk Beniest, ECS Representative for 2018-2019, introduced the functions of the ECS team and the new ECS Representative for 2020-2021: David Fernández-Blanco.

Michael Kettermann, responsible for the media of the TS Division, presented the mailing lists and the social media activities related to the TS Division.

Claudio introduced the discussion on the potential renaming of the TS division medal, recalling the main reasons for that and explaining that the EGU council (who is responsible for the decision) had already been asked if such a change is possible. The answer of the council was that in case, for valid reasons, a renaming is required, the new name should be the one of a woman scientist, in order to start re-equilibrating the fact that the 22 medals of the EGU Divisions all carry the names of men.

Claudio Rosenberg mentioned that the present medal name is inherited from the European Geophysical Society and that we currently have an inconsistency between the description of the TS Division and that of the medal. Whereas the former defines itself as studying rock

deformation and its relationships to Earth dynamics, the latter states to be awarded in recognition of contributions to "tectonics and lithosphere geophysics". In addition, he pointed out that the medal name should not be thought to honour a past scientist, but rather as a symbol for the division to identify with on the one side and to give an image of the division to the outer world on the other side.

For these reasons, the name of Stephan Müller who was not himself a structural geologist or tectonicist, and whose research results are not perceived as direct advancements of the field of tectonics and structural geology, may not be appropriate for the Division medal. The name of Marie Tharp is suggested instead. In spite of her not being a classic tectonicist either, the results of her research have had an enormous impact on the advancement of Tectonic research (mapping of the ocean floors, first recognition and worldwide mapping of the axial valley of ocean ridges, assessment of their spatial relationship to seismicity).

Claudio made clear that an open discussion on the issue was needed and to ensure balanced information, he invited Mark Handy to give a short overview on the contributions of Stephan Müller and to present arguments against a change of the medal name. Mark red a short text recalling that Stephan Müller helped to determine the deep crustal structure of the Rhine Graben, that he initiated and co-initiated several European projects to determine the deep structure of the European continent. Moreover, he was a co-founder of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and a major proponent of its fusion with the former European Union of Geosciences (EUG) to make our current European Geosciences Union (EGU).

After Mark Handy's presentation a discussion started with Irina Artemieva, stating that the choice of a woman name for the medal does not necessarily favour women in science that other divisions also have medal names from scientists that are not experts of the Division discipline, and that lithosphere geophysics should not be taken out of the medal description. After 4 minutes she was asked by Claudio to terminate in order to allow other TS division meeting attendees to express their views. Zoe Mildon mentioned the importance of female role models for younger scientists, especially when doing outreach work (e.g. schools). Susanne Buiter, the chair of the TS division medal committee, reminded of the conditions under which a change in medal names would be considered by the EGU council and recalled that the only renaming took place this year in the Division of Cryospheric Sciences, where the new name is that of a couple: Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal. She also mentioned that the medal was created by the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and that we would probably not choose that name ourselves if we were to define it now. Hans Thybo mentioned an old deal between the EGS society and the newly founded EGU to maintain the medal name and have it as the one of the TS division.

The proposal to collect an impression on the distribution of opinions related to the matter by voting was welcomed by a majority in the room. However, several attendees also stated that they couldn't accept the short notice (an email sent ten days before the division meeting), the insufficient time for discussion and the non-representativeness of the division meeting attendees. Voting by raising hands indicated c. 63% in favour of the medal renaming, but the cross-check who is in favour of keeping things as they are resulted in a controversial, lively debate. Several attendees did not wish to vote considering that more options should be proposed.

Finally, Claudio added additional information related to this year's EGU and invited the attendees to submit feedback on the new formats of schedule.

Susanne Buiter presented the new format of the SE journal of the EGU.

The meeting closed at 13:45.