SSP Division Meeting 2019 Wednesday 10 April 2019, 12.45-13.45

Report

Agenda

- Welcome
- GA 2019 some numbers
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2019-2020: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- GA 2019: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

1. Welcome

SSP Outgoing President Helmut Weissert welcomes the SSP community and introduces SSP Incoming President Marc De Batist.

Marc De Batist in turn welcomes the attendants, and outlines the agenda of the meeting. He also thanks Helmut Weissert for his outstanding work as SSP President in the past years.

2. GA 2019 - some numbers

The president provides an overview of the statistics for GA 2019:

- 16250 abstracts in the program (down 6.2% relative to GA 2018, as expected because of "1 first-author abstract rule");
- 1/3 oral presentations and 2/3 poster/PICO presentations;
- 14283 advance registrations (up 12.2% relative to GA 2018) and likely > 15000 total registrations;

He also highlights a number of new initiatives at GA 2019:

- New daily schedule, with parallel oral/poster/PICO presentations and an extra networking/poster slot at 18:00-19:00;
- Clear photo policy for all oral/poster/PICO presentations;
- Inclusive GA promotion of use of gender neutral language;
- Job centre;
- New convenor/presentation rules and guidelines.

3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The president provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications, such as:

- GA 2020 provisional timeline
 - call for sessions opening on 24 June 2019 and closing on 5 September 2019;
- EGU open access journals
 - Several journals have subjects in common with SSP (e.g. "Natural Hazards and Earth System Science", "Climate of the Past", "Biogeosciences" and "Earth System Dynamics");
 - SSP has nominated an executive editor (Elias Samankassou) for "Solid Earth";
 - SSP authors are invited to submit manuscripts to "Solid Earth";
 - "Solid Earth" is encouraging Special Issues (from sessions at GA 2019)

- A new journal "Geochronology" has been launched

- EGU (https://www.egu.eu/) and SSP (<u>https://www.egu.eu/ssp/home/</u>) have a new website/ layout. Please go and visit it;
- Galileo conferences: topical meetings to discuss a well-focused cutting-edge topic at the frontier of geosciences research in a stimulating environment

4. SSP Structure and Team 2019-2020: changes

Marc De Batist (Gent University) starts his first term as President of SSP at GA 2019.

The following changes to the SSP team for 2019-2020 need to be approved/confirmed at the SSP Division Meeting:

- Stéphane Bodin (Aarhus University) as Deputy President of SSP. He will also continue his work as Science Officer for Stratigraphy;
- Madeleine Vickers (University of Copenhagen) and John Counts (University College Dublin) as ECS Representative and as Alternate ECS Representative, respectively;
- Helmut Weissert (ETH Zurich) and Isabel Montañez as chair and as member of the of the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee, respectively. Lucas Lourens rotates off. The proposed new committee members will be communicated to the Union Awards and Medals Committee and need to be approved by the Council.

All changes are approved/confirmed by the SSP Division. The President welcomes all new nominees and thanks Lucas Lourens for his work in the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee in the past years.

Division SSP 2019-2020

Batist Bodin Gcience Officers Bodin	marc.debatist@ugent.be stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk	confirmed
Bodin Science Officers		confirmed
cience Officers		confirmed
	stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk	
Bodin	stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk	
Bodin	stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk	
	i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk	
Amin Douillet	g.douillet@geo.unibe.ch	
.okier	slokier@pi.ac.ae	
denbroucke	Thijs.Vandenbroucke@ugent.be	
tini	cinzia.bottini@unimi.it	
ntist (ECS) Represe	entatives	
e Vickers	mlv@ign.ku.dk	confirmed
nts (alternate)	john.counts@icrag-centre.org	confirmed
narck Medal Com	mittee	
/eissert, chair		confirmed
ntañez		confirmed
nall		
/	eissert, chair ntañez	all

5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Representative

Outgoing ECS Representative Alena Ebinghaus gives an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities:

- GA 2019
 - Job Centre and Meet the Talent
 - Frosty paint at GA childcare
 - Selection of short courses, sessions and great debates of ECS interest
 - ECS lounge
 - SSP ECS Lunch on Thursday
- Social media
 - SSP weblog (<u>https://blogs.egu.eu/divisions/ssp/</u>)
 - Facebook (<u>https://www.facebook.com/EGUssp/</u>) and Twitter (<u>@EGU_SSP</u>)

The President thanks Alena Ebinghaus for her efforts as an ECS Representative during the past years and he introduces Madeleine Vickers and John Counts, who will take over as ECS Representative and Alternate ECS Representative. Alena Ebinghaus will remain involved as editor of the SSP weblog.

6. SSP Awards

Isabel Montañez (University of California Davis, USA) is the recipient of the 2019 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year *"for major contributions to the field of stratigraphy, in particular through the application of sedimentary geochemistry to address palaeoclimate and sequence stratigraphic concepts in deep time"*. The medal lecture was very well attended and a great success.

Christian Zeeden (Institute for Celestial Mechanics and Computation of Ephemerides, Paris, France) is the recipient of the 2019 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientists Award, and this *"for his outstanding research in the field of astrochronology and for his innovative statistical approaches in constructing astronomically tuned robust time scales"*. His award lecture will take place later in the week.

Two presentations, held during GA 2018, were selected for a 2018 Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Award:

- Emma Dunne (University of Birmingham, UK) The Late Triassic Latitudinal Biodiversity Gradient
- Ricarda D. Rohlfs (University of Bremen, Germany) Weighted Voronoi calculations in crystal surface morphology: a fast approach

Congratulations to all the awardees.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2020 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a paleontologist, and for the 2019 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientists Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2019.

7. GA 2019: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during GA 2019:

- SSP1 General sessions
- 6 sessions, of which 3 SSP and 3 co-organized
- SSP2 Stratigraphy and Earth Systems History 14 sessions, of which 5 SSP and 9 co-organized
- SSP3 Sedimentology Processes and Products 19 sessions, of which 4 SSP and 15 co-organized
- SSP4 Paleontology and Paleoecology

4 sessions, of which 3 SSP and 1 co-organized

He thanks all conveners for their great work, and encourages them to submit their successful session again for GA 2020, and to think about a possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

8. Information and News from the SSP Community

The President asks input from the SSP Division Meeting attendants about AG 2019. The attendants give the following positive and negative feedbacks:

- SSP Division Meeting attendants like the new format and daily schedule;
- SSP Division Meeting attendants appreciate the "1 first-author abstract rule";
- SSP Division Meeting attendants do not like the rule that Convenors are discouraged from being co-author on oral presentations in a session they convene. Especially for focused, topical sessions this rule is regarded as counter-productive;
- SSP Division Meeting attendants noticed that there is still too much (single-use) carpet in the poster halls.

Marc De Batist, SSP President 6 May 2019