Minutes of GI-division meeting April 14, 2015

Agenda

- □ Welcome
- EGU GA2015 facts
- □ GI Session Status 2015
- GI-Journal
- □ Election of GI-Deputy Division President
- Medal Division facts and actions
- Outstanding Student Poster Initiative
- □ Young Scientist Representative
- □ Election / Confirmation of Division Officers
- □ Any other business / EGU-service advertisement

1. GI-Session Development

Total: 465 abstracts (-11.2% with respect to GA2014 and + 7% with respect to GA2013)

oral: 29% distributed over 26 oral slots

PICO: 11%

poster: 60%

History: 2014: 524 (18 oral slots)

2013: 435 (20 oral slots)

2012: 335 (14 oral slots)

2011: 305

2010: 180

Number of GI oral sessions: 20, of which 15 were co-organized with other divisions.

2. GI Journals

GI-Journal Geoscientific Instrumentation, Methods and Data Systems development:

GI: Volumes 2012, 1.1 and 1.2: 238 pages, 20 articles

Volumes 2013, 2.1 and 2.2: 348 pages, 35 articles

Volume 2014, 3.1 and 3.2: 254 pages, 21 articles

Volume 2015, 4.1: 80 pages, 8 articles (till half of of March)

GID: papers currently in open discussion: 4, total

Special issues:

2012: High energy geophysics: muon and neutrino radiography

2013: Calibration methods and results of the in-situ experiments on Cluster and Double Star

Ari-Matti Harri reported on the status of the Journal by announcing that GI Journal will be indexed on Scopus since the next year and that the procedures to activate the request of the Impact Factor have been just started. The hope is to have GI Journal indexed in ISI-Web of Science on July 2016. In addition, Ari-Matti Harri reported about the issue on the lengthy period for the review stage; he claimed that a solution could be to send an initial invitation to more than two potential reviewers and inform the remaining persons that their service is no longer needed once the first two reviewers had accepted the task.

3. Election of GI-Deputy Division President:

Confirmation by acclamation of Dr. Vira Pronenko, Head of Laboratory for electromagnetic investigation of Lviv. Ukraine, e-mail: pron@isr.lviv.ua

4. Christiaan Huygens Medal

Award 2014

Francesco Soldovieri advised about the Christiaan Huygens Medal Lecture by Kristine M. Larson on Wed, 15 Apr, 09:15–10:15 / Room B11, as part of the session GI0.1. The Medal Award ceremony will be held just before the Medal Lecture.

Medal Committee:

Francesco Soldovieri reminded the modality for the application to the Division Medal.

Two members of the Medal Committee, including the current chairman, had to be replaced.

Francesco Soldovieri, as incoming Division President, stepped down and is replaced by Dr. Kristine Larson, which is the Christiaan Huygens Medalist for 2014. The change was accepted by acclamation.

Christop Wadlmann renounced to be member of the committee and it was necessary to elect an additional medal committee member. In addition, a new chairman of the Committee had to be nominated. On the basis of the proposal of Prof. Korepanov and by acclamation, the new member of the medal committee and its Chairman is the outgoing Division President Dr. Walter Schmidt.

Therefore, the new members of the Christiaan Huygens Medal committee 2015/2016 are:

Chairman: Walter Schmidt (space and radar instrumentation)

Members:

Günther Kargl (space instrumentation)

Jens Klump (Data systems and publishing)

Kristine Larson (GPS data processing and modeling)

Lara Pajewski (ground penetrating radars)

5. Outstanding Student Poster Initiative

Misha Krassovski (e-mail: <u>krassovskimb@ornl.gov</u>) was confirmed for a third year by acclamation as GI-OSP Coordinator.

Dr. Krassovsky presented the modality of evaluation for the OSP Award.

During the Division Meeting, the 2014 Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) Award was presented to Anne Dreißigacker for the poster entitled:

Development of Standard Samples for on-board Calibration of a New Planetary Fluorescence Spectrometer

(Dreißigacker, A.; Köhler, E.; Fabel, O.; van Gasselt, S.; Meyer, M.)

6. Young Scientist Representative

Division President reminded the possibility to have a YSR for the Division, by also outlining the role of YSR in the Division activities. Division president asked for a volunteer. Dr. Fabio Tosti was proposed. After a brief presentation, Dr. Fabio Tosti was elected as GI-YRS by acclamation.

7. Science officers

The current officers were confirmed by acclamation.

8. AOB

- Division president pointed out the possibility a theme (i.e., Active Planet) at the next General Assembly 2016. The audience agreed with this option.
 - Division President informed about the

EGU Galileo conferences

EGU Outreach

Communication Activities at the Assembly

GI website

Finally, as last addition to the Agenda, Francesco Soldovieri presented a subset of the slides presented to the Plenary meeting regarding the change from the current set-up to planned set-up of EGU. The audience has not raised concerns and/or issues about this matter.

List of attendees:

| Name | Affiliation | e-mail address |
|--------------------------------------|----------------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Walter Schmidt | FMI | walter.schmidt@fmi.fi |
| Håkan Svedhem | ESA | h.svedhem@esa.int |
| Vira Pronenko | LCISR | pron@isr.lviv.ua |
| Valery Korepanov | LCISR | vakor@isr.lviv.ua |
| Andriy Marusenkov | LCISR | marand@isr.lviv.ua |
| Jean Dumoulin | IFSTTAR | jean.dumoulin@ifsttar.fr |
| Vsevolod Koryanov | BMSTU | vkoryanov@mail.ru |
| Hannu Ruotsalainen | FGI | <u>hannu.ruotsalainen@fgi.fi</u> |
| Jie Guang | RADI | guangji@radi.ac.ca |
| Zahia Benaissa | USTHB | zabendz@yahoo.fr |
| Maria Genzer | FMI | maria.genzer@fmi.fi |
| Masatoshi Yamauchi | IRF | m.yamauchi@irf.se |
| Günter Kargl | IWF | guenter.kargl@oeaw.ac.at |
| Oliver Fabel | FU-Berlin | fabel@zedat.fu-berlin.de |
| Jens Klump | CSIRO | jens.klump@csiro.au |
| Jochem Küch | GFZ Potzdam | jkuech@gfz-potsdam.de |
| Mikhail Belikovich | IAPRAS | belikovich@appl-sci.nnov.ru |
| Misha Krassovski | ORNL | krassovskimb@ornl.gov |
| Francesco Soldovieri | CNR | soldovieri.f@irea.cnr.it |
| Lara Pajewski | Roma Tre University | lara.pajewski@uniroma3.it |
| Christina Plati | Nat. Techn. University of Athens | <u>cplati@central.ntua.gr</u> |
| Sonia Santos Assuncao | Murphy Surveys, Ireland | sonia.assuncao@upc.edu |
| Ari-Matti Harri | FMI | ari-matti.harri@fmi.fi |
| Nicola Masini | CNR | n.masini@ibam.cnr.it |
| Fabio Tosti | Roma Tre University | fabio.tosti@uniroma3.it |
| María Inmaculada Martínez Garrido | UCM | mi.martinez.garrido@csic.es |
| Maria Danese | CNR | m.danese@ibam.cnr.it |
| Beatrice Giuzio | UNIBAS | |