Minutes of GI-division meeting April 29, 2014

Agenda

- U Welcome
- **EGU status**
- **GI Session Status 2014**
- GI-Journal
- **D** Election of Deputy Division President
- **Gamma** Selection of Medal Committee Members
- **Outstanding Student Poster Initiative**
- **Election** / Confirmation of Division Officers
- □ Any other business / EGU-service advertisement

GI-Session Development:

Total 524 abstracts, oral 29% distributed over 18 oral slots, PICO 13%, poster: 58%

History: 2013: 435 abstracts

2012: 335 2011: 305 2010: 180

Number of GI-Sessions: 21, of which 14 were co-organized with other divisions.

GI-Journal Geoscientific Instrumentation, Methods and Data Systems development:

GI: Volumes 2012, 1.1 and 1.2: 238 pages, 20 articles Volume 2013, 2.1 and 2.2: 348 pages, 35 articles Volume 2014, 3.1: 58 pages, 6 articles

GID: currently in open discussion: 6, total

Special issues:

2012: High energy geophysics: muon and neutrino radiography 2013: Calibration methods and results of the in-situ experiments on Cluster and Double Star

Election of GI-Deputy Division President:

19 supporting votes, 5 abstained. Elected was:

Dr. Vira Pronenko, Head of Laboratory for electromagnetic investigation of Lviv. Ukraine, e-mail: pron@isr.lviv.ua

Christiaan Huygens Medal Committee:

2 members including the current chairmen had to be replaced according to the EGU best practice rules. 3 candidates volunteered and were approved by council to be eligible. Decision 1: Number of committee members: 5 or 6?

10 voted for 5, 1 voted for 6, 13 abstained.

Decision 2 following the proposal from the audience of also replacing current medal committee member Martin Huerlimann who would have started his 4th year, was not present and had not responded to the question of continuation: 13 voted for replacement, 1 voted against replacement, 10 abstained.

Decision 3: All meeting participants unanimously voted for the nomination of the remaining 2 current committee members and the three presented new candidates.

Decision 4, following a proposal by the audience: With 14 votes, 10 abstained, the continuing member Christoph Waldmann was elected as chairman for the committee.

The new members of the Christiaan Huygens Medal committee 2014/2015 are:

Chairman: Christoph Waldmann (ocean based geoscience and data systems) Günther Kargl (space instrumentation) Jens Klump (Data systems and publishing) Lara Pajewski (ground penetrating radars) Francesco Soldovieri (instrumentation for infrastructure monitoring)

During a follow-up discussion the council was asked to modify the medal nominations such that the need for a formal Curriculum Vitae and list of references are removed.

Rational: A correct CV can only be generated by the candidate him/herself which would directly involve the cooperation of the candidate in the early proposal process with possible embarrassment if not elected. With the current on-line options all relevant information of a suitable candidate can be retrieved by the nominator without involvement of the candidate. This could lead to sensitive situations especially with candidates from none-European cultures.

The Copernicus medal advertised in connection with the EGU-GA was shortly discussed and questioned if the council would see a conflict-of-interest in this medal. At least a council discussion of the topic was proposed.

Outstanding Student Poster Initiative

Misha Krassovski was confirmed for a second year by acclamation. e-mail: krassovskimb@ornl.gov

Science officers:

The current officers were confirmed by acclamation.

List of attendees:

Name	Affiliation	e-mail address
Walter Schmidt	FMI	walter.schmidt@fmi.fi
Håkan Svedhem	ESA	h.svedhem@esa.int
J. Vivekanandan	NCAR	vivek@ucar.edu
Vira Pronenko	LCISR	pron@isr.lviv.ua
Valery Korepanov	LCISR	vakor@isr.lviv.ua
Denys Dudkin	LCISR	dd@isr.lviv.ua
Andriy Marusenkov	LCISR	marand@isr.lviv.ua
Harri Haukka	FMI	harri.haukka@fmi.fi
Jean Dumoulin	IFSTTAR	jean.dumoulin@ifsttar.fr
Vsevolod Koryanov	BMSTU	vkoryanov@mail.ru
Hannu Ruotsalainen	FGI	hannu.ruotsalainen@fgi.fi
Jie Guang	RADI	guangji@radi.ac.ca
Zahia Benaissa	USTHB	zabendz@yahoo.fr
Leila Aliouane	UMBB	lil_aldz@yahoo.fr
Sid-Ali Ouadfeul	JAP	souadfeul@ymail.com
Maria Genzer	FMI	maria.genzer@fmi.fi
Masatoshi Yamauchi	IRF	m.yamauchi@irf.se
Günter Kargl	IWF	guenter.kargl@oeaw.ac.at
Oliver Fabel	FU-Berlin	fabel@zedat.fu-berlin.de
Jens Klump	CSIRO	jens.klump@csiro.au
Jochem Küch	GFZ Potzdam	jkuech@gfz-potsdam.de
Mikhail Belikovich	IAPRAS	belikovich@appl-sci.nnov.ru
Misha Krassovski	ORNL	krassovskimb@ornl.gov
Francesco Soldovieri	IREA-CNR	soldovieri.f@irea.cnr.it