Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) division activities at the EGU General Assembly 2019

The NP division activities at the EGU 2018 were successful with about 380 abstracts, 2 short courses, one interdisciplinary-transdisciplinary session and a Townhall meeting. More than 30 sessions were also co-organized with other divisions (about 650 abstracts), and several short courses. NP honours have been awarded to Shaun Lovejoy with the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal 2019, together with the two outstanding poster awards 2018 to Maxim Khudyakov and Yan Li.

Discussion and Decisions at the NP division meeting

Journal activities: Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics

The activities of the journal "Nonliner Processes in Geophysics" were presented in some details by Daniel Schertzer. The number of submission is very low, and it was stressed that this journal is a key forum for the NP community. The journal will experience in 2019-2020 a certain number of changes on the themes and the article formats proposed, more in line with the recent activities of the NP community.

Format of the General Assembly

A discussion took place on the new format of the general assembly. Lot of concerns were raised on the one-abstract rule, and also on the co-authorship of co-conveners. The former is very harmful for the NP division since the research presented in the NP sessions are often coming from small groups that are active in different fields. This implies that the number of abstracts they can submit is drastically reduced, and if they have to choose a division where to submit they will often target bigger divisions in which the visibility is higher.

For the second aspect, it seems important for research supervisors that are also co-conveners of sessions to allow their student to present their work. Discouraging such presentations is felt as very restrictive and removing this constraint is requested.

NP division at the General Assembly

For the general assembly of the EGU 2020, it has been decided to keep the structure of the main themes of the NP division as follows,

NP1 – Mathematics for Planet Earth

NP2 – Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in Geosciences

NP3 – Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability

NP4 – Time Series and Big data methods

NP5 – Predictability

NP6 – Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion

NP7 – Nonlinear waves

NP8 – Emerging Phenomena in the Geosciences

The new NP executive board members is,

Science officers:

Valerio Lucarini (NP1, Mathematics of Planet Earth)
Christian Franzke (NP2, Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences)
François Schmitt (NP3, Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability)
Reik Donner (NP4, Time Series and Big Data Methods),
Olivier Talagrand (NP5, Predictability),
Yuliya Troitskaya (NP6, Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion),
Julien Touboul (NP7, Nonlinear Waves),
Henk Dijkstra (NP8, Emergent Phenomena in Geosciences),

Other members:

Daniel Schertzer (publications), Stéphane Vannitsem (Programme group chair), Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs), Tommaso Alberti (Early Career Scientists), Shaun Lovejoy (Division Affairs) Auguste Gires (Webmaster).

The new <u>Richardson medal committee</u> is composed of:

Chair: Annick Pouquet,

Members: Edward Ott, Peter Read, Shaun Lovejoy, Tim Palmer.

Stéphane Vannitsem, NP division president