EGU 2024 Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division Meeting

Vienna Austria & Online 18 April 2023, 12:45-13:45, Room N2 Emilia Kilpua & Alexis Rouillard

Minutes prepared by Emilia Kilpua

The 2024 EGU Division Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on Thursday 18 April 2024, 12:45 - 13:45 in Room N2. It was chaired by Emilia Kilpua (EK), President of the Solar-Terrestrial (ST) Sciences Division of EGU. There were approximately 150 attendees at the meeting (mainly researchers associated to ST), attending in person as well as virtually. The slides presented and this report can be found at http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/.

EK opened the meeting

1. Approval of Minutes and Agenda

The minutes of last year's (2023) DM and the agenda of this year's meeting were approved (OM)

2. Awards and Medals 2024

EK presented the names of the 2024 awardee/medalists. They were given to:

- Hannes Alfvén medal: Sandra Chapman
- ST Outstanding Early Career Scientists (ECS) award: Erika Palmerio

EK gave an overview of different medals and awards and encouraged the ST community to submit nominations.

Nominations for next year medalists should be submitted via <u>https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/nominations/</u> by June 15 2024.

For details see also

https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates/

3. Medal Committees

EK presented the Julius Bartels Medal Committee for the 2024 and it was approved. The committee is:

- Hermann Opgenoorth (CHAIR)
- o Volker Bothmer
- o Masatoshi Yamnauch
- o Erika Palmerio
- o Quigong Zong

4. Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Award 2021

EK gave an overview of the OSPP Award and announced the winners for 2023 OSPP award and provided them certificates:

- Veera Juntunen
- Artem Smirnov

EK reminded the community of the importance to act as OSPP judges.

5. ST Division Organisation and Officers

ST Structure and Principles

EK presented the ST presidents. Emilia Kipua will be the ST Division President (2023-2025), Alexis Rouillard is the Incoming President. EK thanked Olga Malandraki for her long time service for the community as a Division President.

Additionally, the following Division Officers were appointed at the DM:

• ST Programme Group Chair: Emilia Kilpua (2024, confirmed until 2025)

The following ST officers were approved during the ST Division meeting by the meeting participants:

ST Scientific Officers 2024

- Solar Physics: Manuela Temmer (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- Heliosphere: Olga Malandraki (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- *Magnetosphere*: Yulia Bogdanova (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- *Ionosphere and Thermosphere*: Dalia Buresova (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- *Magnetosphere*: Yulia Bogdanova (2023, confirmed for 2025)
- *Space weather (magnetosphere and ionosphere)*: Guram Kervalishvili (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- Space weather (Sun and heliopshere): Emilia Kilpua (2024, confirmed for 2025)

ST Liaison Officers 2023

- Publications: Manuela Temmer (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- OSPP Coordinator: Veera Juntunen (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representative: Liliana Macotela (confirmed for 2025),
- Education and Public Outreach, News, Media, Webmaster: Eleanna Asvestari (2024, confirmed for 2025)
- Scientific Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Division Liaison: Emilia Kilpua (confirmed for 2025)

EK thanked all officers for their active involvement in shaping the programme of the ST division!

6. ST Early Career Scientist (ECS) Activities

EK announced the presentation of the ECS activities.

Liliana Macotela presented the slides and summarized activities that have been held by the ECSs during the EGU and on other times (e.g. picnic, dinner, campfire events). It was reminded by EK that it is good that senior scientists will inform their students about ECS activities and communication forums (e.g. Slack)

The following team was accepted by the ST DM meeting participants.

- Liliana Macotela (ECS-Rep)
- Veronika Haberle (ECS co-Rep)
- Chaitanya Shistla
- Ajeet Maurya
- Shredeevi P.R.
- Juliana Jaen
- Mashao Dakalo
- Chukwuma Anoruo
- Andreas Wagner
- Ezgi Gülay
- Maxime Grandin
- Jia Jia
- Golekamang Thaganyana
- Eleanna Asvestari

Olga Malandraki reminded that it would be important that ST ECSs will apply Council presentative position when that becomes open.

7. ST Education and Public Outreach

EK announced the presentation of the Education and Public outreach committee. The Head Officer Eleanna Asvestari (EA) presented the update. The plan is to publish blog posts a few times per month based on scientific and other topics. It was reminded that Science Officers could be contacted for suitable themes. All ST community members were encouraged to to send ideas and contribute to writing blog posts and other contents and send ideas.

The following team for 2023 - 2024 was accepted by the ST DM participants:

- Eleanna Asvestari, (EA) Head Officer (2024, confirmed 2025) Pietro Zucca
- Jia Jia
- Theodosios Chatzistergos
- Peijin Zhang

8. ANGEO Update

EK presented the ANGEO update based on the slides provided by the chief officers.

In 2022-2023 period there has been one Special Issue (related to EISCAT symposium). The declining trend in the submitted papers now shows some increase. Possible reasons for low numbers have been Covid-19, the reduced number of Special issues, the change to a 2-stage procedure of the journal in January 2018. It was emphasized that it is open access journal, non-commercial, citable already after submission and the review process is transparent and

fair. EK encourage the community to submit to Annales when they have suitable papers. It was agreed that the chief Editors get in contact with the Outreach committee.

9. 2024 GA/ST Scientific Programme

The slides presented the overall statistics of the 2024 EGU meeting.

ST is about 3% of number of registered participants and 4% of submitted abstracts.

EK summarized also briefly the items discussed in the Council meeting, and pointed out of the upcoming deadline for the **Training School** applications for financial support: 6 May - 17 June, 2024 (<u>www.egu.eu/meetings/training-schools</u>)

The rest of the time was used for discussing the feedback from the EGU and how to merge the sessions. It was mentioned that demand from ECSs to convene is large partly as this is nowadays looked very positively in grant applications. The feeling is that next year would be better merge partly already before the abstracts are send. The issue with too small rooms were discussed. In many sessions not all participants could get in and the air was not good in the rooms. The message has been taken already to the Council / PG and will be emphasized directly. Eleanna Asvestari summarized in the end the feedback she had heard from the community during the meeting.

EK asked if any other issues were raised.

EK closed the meeting.