Report SSP Division Meeting, Wednesday 20. April 2016, 12 15-13 30, Room L6

SSP President Helmut Weissert welcomes the SSP community and outlines the agenda of the meeting. His presentation is annexed to this report as a pdf file.

Agenda for Division Meeting 2016 SSP

- 1) Introductory Remarks
- 2) GA 2016 some numbers
- 3) Information EGU Activities Programs
- 4) EGU Publications
- 5) SSP Structure and Team 2016
- 6) Early Career Scientists
- 7) SSP Awards
 - Lamarck Medal Luc Lourens
 - Early Career Scientist Award David de Vleeschouwer
 - Outstanding Poster and PICO Award 2015 Tim van Peer
- 8) Lamarck Medal 2017 Paleontology
- 9) EGU GA 2017 > SSP Sessions
- 10) Varia

1-4) Introductory Remarks, GA 2016 - some numbers, Information EGU - Activities - Programs and EGU Publications

The president provided information on GA 2016, including number of participants, ratio posters vs orals. Based on this information, it was outlined to the SSP community that many authors, who wanted to give an oral presentation, were shifted to the posters/PICO presentations. It was noted to the SSP community that EGU is essentially a poster conference (2/3 posters and PICO and 1/3 talks). The number of submitted abstracts went up to 792 (including co-spnorred sessions), which resulted in an allocation of 22 oral blocks.

EGU publications – several EGU open access journals are ready to accept manuscripts from the SSP community. Elias Samankassou, a sedimentologist from University of Geneva, is now one of the editors of the journal "Solid Earth" and he attended and spoke at the meeting, inviting SSP authors to submit their manuscripts to "Solid Earth".

5) SSP structure and Team

The chair suggested that the SSP officers for the next two years 2016-2018 should be:

President: Helmut Weissert Programme Committee Chair: Helmut Weissert

Deputy President: Ian Jarvis

Science officers:

Stratigraphy: Stéphane Bodin

Sedimentology: Guilhem Amin Douillet

Daniel Parsons

Palaeontology: Thijs Vandenbroucke

Richard Twitchett

Award and Medal Chair: Judy A. McKenzie

Forly Carear Scientist Pan Children Amin Davillet

Early Career Scientist Rep. Guilhem Amin Douillet

Early Career Team: Christian Zeeden, Dorthe Bøttger

Helmut Weissert agreed to run for SSP president re-election for another two years in fall 2016. It was noted that other candidates can apply. The call for additional candidates will be in fall.

6) ECS

Additional early career scientists are asked to join the officers team to help with the social media and building the SSP ECS community. Anna Sanso, who ran SSP Facebook and Twitter is stepping back and is thanked by the community for her hard work and dedication.

7) Awards

Lucas Lourens was winner of the SSP 2016 Lamarck Medal.

David de Vleeschouwer received the SSP Early Career Scientist Award.

Tim van Peer was awared the OSSP poster award 2015.

Congratulations to all three!

8) Lamarck Medal 2017 - Paleontology

Luc Lourens accepted membership of the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee. He will replace Ian Jarvis who had replaced SSP 2013 Lamarck Medalist Helmut Weissert. Ian Jarvis is thanked for his excellent services at the Committee. The proposal is endorsed by the division meeting. The Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee for 2016-17 is thus composed of:

Chair: Judy A. McKenzie

Members: Isabelle Premoli Silva, Wolfgang Schlager, Luc Lourens

The chair brought the 2017 Jean Baptiste Lamarck Award to the attention of the division meeting (this year dedicated to 'Paleonotolgy', the SSP community were informed that at least two nominations were needed for the award to progress and that the deadline is 15 June 2016 - the procedure clearly outlined on relevant webpages).

9) EGU GA 2017 > SSP Sessions

Finally, the president brings the 2017 GA to the attention of the division meeting (importance of good use of skeleton programme, call for session proposals), he thanks all conveners for their great work and he thanks the participants of the SSP division meeting for their presence and active participation.

Helmut Weissert, SSP President 25th April 2016