EGU Geomorphology Division meeting

16/04/2015 12:15 - 13:15, room G2

Minutes (see also associated powerpoint presentation; slide numbers given below)

About 100 members present (room G2 full, people standing, 85 lunch packs gone)

Outgoing president Andreas Lang opened the meeting at 12:15. The agenda was as shown on slide 2. Andreas Lang provided some general news about the EGU budget and the 2015 General Assembly (slides 3-12) and continued with GM-related events and announcements (medal, prize winners etc.; slides 14-19) before thanking the division officers that have worked with him for the last years (slide 20).

Incoming president Peter van der Beek then presented the new GM team that will work with him in the coming years (slide 21):

GM Deputy president: Jens Turowski (GFZ Potsdam, Germany)

GM Division Officers: Dan Parsons (University of Hull, U.K.)

Taylor Schildgen (Universität Potsdam, Germany) Arjen Stroeven (University of Stockholm, Sweden) Veerle Vanacker (Université de Louvain, Belgium)

The division meeting approved the choice of deputy and division officers. Two other GM division members have offered to provide help in organising the programme and other division business, they are: Marco Van De Wiel (Coventry University, U.K.) and Kristen Cook (GFZ Potsdam, Germany).

A new **Early Career Scientist representative** had to be elected for the division and there were two candidates (slide 22): Edina Józsa (University of Pécs, Hungary) and Emma Shuttleworth (University of Manchester, UK). As Edina was not present at the GA, Peter van der Beek introduced her to the division, while Emma introduced herself. Then a vote was organized by show of hands and a clear majority voted for **Emma Shuttleworth**.

Peter van der Beek next presented the **GM medal committee** for 2016. He proposed to maintain the president, add the 2015 Bagnold medal awardee Heather Viles to replace 2011 awardee Stuart Lane who has served 4 terms, and to step down himself from the committee as a voting member to become ex-officio member as division president. The division meeting approved this, and the 2016 GM medal committee thus consists of:

President: Paul Bishop (University of Glasgow, U.K.) **Members**: Greg Tucker (University of Colorado, U.S.A.)

James Kirchner (WSL and ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

Heather Viles (University of Oxford, U.K.)

(Peter van der Beek, ex-officio)

Finally, Peter van der Beek outlined his strategy for the division (slides 25, 26), announced the 2016 General Assembly and made a first call for session proposals (slide 27). After some further announcements (slides 29-36) and questions from the members present, the division meeting was closed at 13:15.