# EGU Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division 2011 Business Meeting Vienna, Austria, 7 April 2011

Minutes taken by Norma Crosby and Iannis Dandouras

The 2011 EGU Division Business Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on 7 April 2011, 12:15–13:15, Room 30. It was co-chaired by Iannis Dandouras and Norma Crosby. The first part of the meeting was chaired by Iannis Dandouras and covered issues regarding EGU 2011. Norma Crosby chaired the end of the meeting which concerned next year's meeting – EGU 2012. There were approximately 100 attendees at the meeting (mainly ST people, but also a couple of PS people).

# 1. OSP 2010 Awards Ceremony

The Outstanding Student Poster 2010 Awards went to Zeynep G. Elmas for the poster "Higher order ionospheric effects on GNSS positioning in the European Region" and Yury Yasyukevich for the poster "Mid-latitude field-aligned ionospheric irregularities and its impact on GPS".

Zeynep G. Elmas was not able to collect the award, so it will be mailed to her. Yury Yasyukevich was present and received his award in person.

#### 2. Medalists Presentation and Proposals

For more information: http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/awards-and-medals.html

*Alfvén:* The 2011 Alfvén ST Division Medal went to Syun-Ichi Akasofu. Rickard Lundin is the current medal committee chair.

*Bartels:* The 2011 Bartels ST Division Medal went to Hermann Lühr. Stanley W.H. Cowley has been the medal committee chair. Hannu Koskinen will chair in the future (this was accepted during the EGU Council 2 meeting, 8 April 2011).

*Cassini*: The 2011 Cassini Union Medal went to Jean-Pierre Lebreton. Manuel Grande is the current medal committee chair.

Nominations for the above next year medalists should be submitted to <a href="mailto:awards.medals@egu.eu">awards.medals@egu.eu</a> [For details see <a href="http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html">http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html</a> - Medal committee chairs to be contacted until 15 June 2011].

The 2011 *Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists* went to Dr. Yuri Y. Shprits (ST Division).

Proposals for 2012 Outstanding Young Scientists to be sent to Norma Crosby until 15 June 2011.

#### 3. EGU News

During EGU 2011 Tuija Pulkkinen [2009-2011] was the Outgoing EGU President and Donald Bruce Dingwell [2011-2013] the Incoming EGU President.

On 1 July 2010 Philippe Courtial started as the new EGU Executive Secretary.

There is a new EGU Executive Office in Munich, Germay.

In Fall 2011 there will be elections for EGU President Elect and EGU General Secretary.

The General Assembly Feedback Form is available at <a href="http://tinyurl.com/EGU2011Feedback">http://tinyurl.com/EGU2011Feedback</a> [the community was encouraged to use this tool].

EGU2012 (22-27 April 2012) and EGU2013 will be held in Vienna, Austria.

# 4. ST Division Organisation and Officer

#### ST Scientific Officers:

*Heliosphere*: Bernd Heber (<a href="mailto:heber@physik.uni-kiel.de">heber@physik.uni-kiel.de</a>) has been the heliosphere officer and Olga Malandraki (<a href="mailto:omaland@astro.noa.gr">omaland@astro.noa.gr</a>) was proposed as his successor (this was accepted during the EGU Council 2 meeting, 8 April 2011).

*Solar Physics*: Volker Bothmer (<u>bothmer@astro.physik.uni-goettingen.de</u>) is the current solar physics officer.

*Magnetosphere*: Steve Milan (<u>ets@ion.le.ac.uk</u>) and Natalia Ganushkina (<u>Natalia.Ganushkina@fmi.fi</u>) are the current magnetosphere officers.

*lonosphere*: Jan Laštovička (<u>ila@ufa.cas.cz</u>) is the current ionosphere officer.

#### **ST Liaison Officers**:

Publications: Bob Forsyth (r.forsyth@imperial.ac.uk) is the current ST Publications Liaison Officer.

EONS (Education, Outreach and News): Minna Palmroth (minna.palmroth@fmi.fi) has been the ST EONS Liaison Officer and Annika Seppälä (annika.seppala@bas.ac.uk) was proposed as her successor (this was accepted during the EGU Council 2 meeting, 8 April 2011).

Meetings: Norma Crosby (norma.crosby@oma.be) is the current ST Meetings Liaison Officer.

### 5. New Division Presidents

Iannis Dandouras [Term: 2009-2010] was the Outgoing ST Division President and Norma Crosby [Term: 2011-2012] the Incoming ST Division President.

#### 6. Journal News

Mike Pinnock, the *Chief Editor* of Annales Geophysicae gave a brief update on the journal. He presented the current editors:

- Solar corona and heliospheric physics: Bob Forsyth
- Magnetospheric and space plasma physics: Ioannis Daglis and Rumi Nakamura
- Ionosphere and aeronomy: Pierre-Louis Blelly and Kirsti Kauristie
- Middle and upper atmosphere: Christoph Jacobi
- Lower atmosphere and climate: Philippe Drobinski and Paolo Michele Ruti

There has been fully, immediate open access to the journal since Jan. 2009. Moderate page charges (since Jan. 2009), to compensate for subscriptions suppression (typically 40-50 euros/page).

### 7. 2011 GA/ST Scientific Programme

It was recalled that the maximum number of ST oral blocks are determined by EGU boundary conditions on room availability, as well as the fact that oral sessions are only in the first four daily slots. This year there were 396 abstracts and ST was allocated 20 oral blocks (OB) => 17.94 abstracts/OB. The Final ST 2011 oral / poster ratio was 38% - 62% [Final EGU 2011 oral / poster ratio was 33% - 67%]. The ST Division had 2,94% of the total EGU 2011 abstracts.

#### 8. Call for 2012 Session Proposals

The EGU 2012 ST Division sessions template was presented. It includes the three traditional Open Sessions [Sun and Heliosphere, Magnetosphere, Ionosphere] and approximately eight to ten special sessions (e.g. Theory and simulations session, Space Weather session, Outreach session).

The community was encouraged to contribute to the definition of the sessions. There was some discussion of whether to organise an outreach session on Division level or Union level. Minna Palmroth recalled the presentations that had been given at last year's outreach session "ST6/EOS9 Best practices for education and outreach in Solar-Terrestrial sciences (co-organized)" which she had co-convened.

The web interface for proposing special sessions should be made available to the community during July 2011.

# 9. AOB

There was no other business and the meeting was closed.