2015 SSS meeting 14 April 2015

The meeting was opened at 1:20 by President Artemi Cerdà. New President Saskia Keesstra was introduced.

Awards were announced:

- Philippe Duchaufour medal Ingrid Kögel-Knabner
- Outstanding Poster awards announced (Christine Brings, Dácil Unzué Belmonte, Roman Hüppi, Pauline Fanguin)
- Outstanding Young Scientist Award Paulo Pereira
- Best Flyer Tani Taguas
- Best convener 2014 Agata Novara
- Best Course coordinator 2014 Marc Oliva
- Best oral talk 2014 Phil Greenwood
- Best poster 2014 Luis Alcantara and Beatriz Lozano
- Best PICO presentation 2014 Vanessa Wong

The 2016 Outstanding young scientists committee will be Saskia Keesstra, Raúl Zarnoza, Markus Steffens, and Paulo Pereira. The committee will be the SSS President and the last three awardees.

The 2016 Philip Duchaufour Medal committee will be Artemi Cerdà, William Shotyk, Johan Six, and Ingrid Kögel-Knaber. This committee will be the SSS Past President and the last three awardees.

A new SSS medal was proposed. At present SSS only has one medal, many divisions have two, yet SSS has grown to one of the largest divisions in EGU. The SSS membership endorsed pursuing a second metal. Send proposed names and ideas for what the medal should represent to Saskia Keesstra. Saskia and Artemi will work with the EGU executive board to pursue a second medal.

Paper numbers for the 2015 EGU were announced: 2015 – 14,231 total papers, 34% oral, 60% poster, 5% PICO, 12,437 participants (2014), 2015 SSS – 93 sessions, 1,573 abstracts, #2 in terms of division abstract submissions

When scheduling oral sessions, we want at least 1-2 young scientist talks in each oral block, posters will be scheduled during the 5th block. There were many requests for Monday and Friday time slots. There were some merging problems this year, if a session has less than 10 abstracts the President merges the abstracts. Conveners can make merging deals if they have 10 or more abstracts. Please keep sessions in the SSS division when making merging deals, moving a session to another division moves money to that other division. This money is used to support young scientists.

When planning for next year we want to consider:

- Poster only sessions and PICO sessions
- More involvement of young scientists
- 1-4 conveners from different countries per session
- Apply for financial support, or suggest that eligible colleagues apply

News and Information outreach for SSS, presented by Antonio Jordán

- Serves as the outreach and dissemination of news/activities/etc. for SSS
- Contact Antonio to provide information to be distributed
- -SSS has several social network pages, Facebook, Google+, and Twitter
- Members can send in information on research activities -
- Use of SSS social networks is growing
- These networks facilitate information exchange -
- The G-Soil blog launched in 2013, joined the EGU network in 2013, and renewed the website in 2015. Again, numbers of views etc. is increasing
- We want bloggers to add to the EGU blog (news on papers, congresses, sessions, ideas, etc.)
- Imaggeo is EGU's image repository. SSS is now the 3rd division in number of images _ submitted, and the lead division in images added over the last year. Imaggeo can include photographs, SEM type pictures, figures developed for papers, and videos
- We want to reach out to young scientists, encourage them to be more involved. Matthias Vanmaercke, Belgium, is the SSS young scientist representative.
- We are currently discussing launching a YouTube for the division. -
- Planet Press is a press release for kids (7-13). Members are invited to submit short pieces that would be age appropriate.

Thanks was expressed to Artemi for his service as SSS President, which was much supported by all meeting participants.

Organizing sessions for next year will start very soon - start thinking about possibilities. The approximate schedule:

- May-June, skeleton program
- Mid-June publication of skeleton, open call for sessions
- September finalize the program -
- Contact Saskia Keesstra to submit a session proposal

SSS division structure was presented, it will be kept as is for this year, this was approved by the SSS community by voting.

SSS Structure		
President	Saskia Keesstra	sss@egu.eu
Deputy President	Antonio Jordán	ajordan@us.es
Programme Group Chair	Saskia Keesstra	<u>sss@egu.eu</u>
Secretary for News and Outreach	Antonio Jordán	ajordan@us.es
Science Officers	Claudio Zaccone	c.zaccone@unifg.it
	Nunzio Romano	nunzio.romano@unina.it
SSS-GM-HS	Jantiene Baartman	jantiene.baartman@wur.nl

Connectivity		
Publications Affairs	Erik Brevik	eric.brevik@dickinsonstate.edu
Awards & Medals Chair	Teodoro Miano	teodoro.miano@uniba.it
OSP Coordinator	Wolfgang Fister	wolfgang.fister@unibas.ch
Young Scientist Representative	Matthias Vanmaercke	matthias.vanmaercke@ees.kuleuven.be

Subdivision: History, Education and Society of Soil Science

Committee chair	Andreas Baumgarten	andreas.baumgarten@ages.at
Committee vice-chair	Cristine Muggler	cristine.muggler@algemeen.beng.wau.nl cmuggler@ufv.br
Secretary	Brad Miller	miller@zalf.de

Subdivision: Land Degradation and Soil Conservation

Committee chair	Manuel Seeger	seeger@uni-trier.de
Committee vice-chair	Agata Novara	agata.novara@unipa.it
Secretary	Tani Taguas	evtaguas@uco.es

Subdivision: Soil as a Record of the Past

Committee chair	Sjoerd Kluiving	<u>s.j.kluiving@vu.nl</u>
Committee vice-chair	Daniela Sauer	daniela.sauer@uni-hohenheim.de
Secretary	Ian Simpson	i.a.simpson@stir.ac.uk

Subdivision: Soil Biology, Microbiology and Biodiversity

Committee chair	Stefano Mocali	stefano.mocali@entecra.it
Committee vice-chair	Lily Pereg	lperegge@une.edu.au
Secretary	Evgenia Blagodatskaya	janeblag@mail.ru

Subdivision: Soil Chemistry

Committee chair	Sylvie Quideau	sylvie.quideau@ualberta.ca
Committee vice-chair	César Plaza	c.plaza@ica.csic.es
Secretary	Ruben Sakrabani	r.sakrabani@cranfield.ac.uk

Subdivision: Soil Organic Matter

Committee chair	Axel Don	axel.don@vti.bund.de
Committee vice-chair	Heike Knicker	knicker@irnase.csic.es
Secretary	Daniel Rasse	daniel.rasse@bioforsk.no

Subdivision: Soil Physics

Committee chair	Antonio Coppola	antonio.coppola@unibas.it
Committee vice-chair	Horst H. Gerke	gerke@zalf.de
Secretary	Jaromir Dusek	dusek@mat.fsv.cvut.cz

Subdivision: Soil Pollution and Reclamation

Committee chair	Jaume Bech	jaumebechborras@gmail.com
Committee vice-chair	Elena Korobova	korobova@geokhi.ru
Secretary	Maria Manuela Abreu	manuelaabreu@isa.utl.pt

Subdivision: Soil, Environment and Ecosystem Interactions

Committee chair	Vanessa Wong	vanessa.wong@monash.edu
Committee vice-chair	Jan Jacob Keizer	jeejeeka@gmail.com
Secretary	Edivaldo L. Thomaz	thomaz@unicentro.br

Subdivision: Soils, Forestry and Agriculture

Committee chair	Guy Levy	vwguy@volcani.agri.gov.il
Committee vice-chair	Giuseppe Provenzano	giuseppe.provenzano@unipa.it
Secretary	José Gómez	joseagomez@ias.csic.es

Subdivision: Soils: Informatics and Statistics

Committee chair	Murray A. Lark	mlark@bgs.ac.uk
Committee vice-chair	Ana María Tarquis	anamaria.tarquis@upm.es
Secretary	Beate Zimmermann	<u>beate.zimmermann@uni-</u> potsdam.de

17-22 April 2016 is next EGU meeting

Minutes made by Eric Breivic, with some additions from Saskia Keesstra