Minute of the NH division Meeting, Tuesday, April 19th, 2016

The meeting started at 12:15 with the approval of the agenda. The agenda approved unanimously is reported in slide #2.

Item #2 in Agenda (slides #3 to #8) - Science Officers and deputy president

After communications about the organization of the NH division (presidency, deputypresidency, science officers and committees) in charge during 2015-16 before the GA (item #1), the new organization of NH has been proposed and approved unanimously:

Deputy President	Ira Didenkulova
Social Media Coordinator	Jackson Tellez
OSPP Coordinator	Olga Mavrouli
ECS Representative	Raffaele Albano

Sub-Division NH1: Hydro-Meteorological Hazards Science Officer Antonio Parodi Sub-Division NH2: Volcanic Hazards Science Officer Henry Odbert Sub-Division NH3: Landslide Hazards Science Officer Janusz Wasowski Sub-Division NH4: Earthquake Hazards Science Officer Antonella Peresan Sub-Division NH5: Sea & Ocean Hazards Science Officer Ira Didenkulova Sub-Division NH6: Remote Sensing & Hazards Science Officer Paolo Tarolli Sub-Division NH7: Wildfire Hazards Science Officer Mário Gonzalez Pereira Sub-Division NH8: Biological, Environmental & Other Hazards Science Officer Heidi Kreibich Sub-Division NH9: Natural Hazards & Society Science Officer Oded Katz Sub-Division NH10: Short-Course Coordinator Science Officer Robin Crockett

The composition of the OYS award committee has been proposed and approved unanimously. It is confirmed the composition of last year: Giorgio Boni (Chair by default as president of NH Division) Ira Didenkulova Heidi Kreibich

Item #4 in Agenda (slides #9 and #10) - Medal committees

After the awarding ceremony for OYS and OSPP from GA 2015 (item in agenda #3) the Soloviev medal committee composition has been updated appointing the last medallist Irasema Alcantara-Ayala since Thomas Glade was stepping down after 4 years service The new composition unanimously approved is then the following:

Alik Ismail-Zadeh	[2 yrs left] (Chair)
Emile Okal	[1 yrs left]
Costas Synolakis	[2 yrs left]
John C. Eichelberger	[3 yrs left]
Irasema Alcantara Ayala	[4 yrs left]

The Plinius medal composition has been updated. Bruce Malamud, present Chair, stepped down after 4 years service. Benjamin P. Horton, 2016 medallist was appointed as new member. The new Chair is Hermann Fritz. The new composition unanimously approved is then the following:

Hermann Fritz (new chair)	[4 yrs left]
Justin Sheffield	[1 yrs left]
Jutta Thielen	[3 yrs left]
Alfredo M. F. A. Lagmay	[3 yrs left]
Benjamin P. Horton	[4 yrs left]

The meeting ended at 13:00

Antonio Parodi (incoming	g)	
NH1 Hydro-meteorological	Hazards Antonio Parodi@cimafoundation.org	
Henry Odbert		
NH2 Volcanic Hazards	h.odbert@bristol.ac.uk	
Janusz Wasowski		
NH3 Landslide Hazards	j.wasowski@ba.irpi.cnr.it	
Antonella Peresan (incon	ning)	
NH4 Earthquake Hazards	aperesan@units.it	
Ira Didenkulova (new deputy president)		
NH5 Sea & Ocean Hazards	ira@cs.ioc.ee	
Paolo Tarolli (incon	ning)	
NH6 Remote Sensing & Haz	zards paolo.tarolli@unipd.it	
Mario Gonzalez Pereira	(incoming)	
NH7 Wildfire Hazards	gpereira@utad.pt	
Heidi Kreibich		
NH8 Biological, Environme	ntal & Other Hazards heidi.kreibich@gfz-potsdam.de	
Oded Katz		
NH9 Natural Hazards & Society odedk@gsi.gov.il		
Robin Crockett		
NH10 Short-Course Coordinator robin.crockett@northampton.ac.uk		

Rosa Lasaponara (<u>rosa.lasaponara@imaa.cnr.it</u>) has been appointed as **SCIENCE OFFICIER for the coordination of Outstanding Student Poster award**

For the **Early Career Research Representative** the meeting decided unanimously to start a poll abimong the 4 candidatures received. The poll will close on april 24th.Outgoing YS representative, Olga Mavrouli is taking care of the procedure. The list of candidatures received is the following (slide #15)

- 1. Tjarda Roberts
- 2. Rafaele Albano
- 3. Martin Braun
- 3. Alessandro Novellino

The meeting continued with some other items in agenda (#5 to #9) concerning communications to the audience

Item #10 communication activities at assembly (slides #16 to #18)

Two decisions were taken during the discussion upon this last item in agenda

Decision #1: the division meeting approved by majority the title for EGU GA 2016 "Active Planet" with 3 votes against and 3 abstensions

Decision #2: the division meeting approved unanimously to change the name of the NH topical conference, the Plinius Conference from "Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Storms" to "Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Risks"

The meeting closed at 13:15