# Minute of the NH division Meeting, Tuesday, April 10th, 2018

The meeting started at 12:15 with the approval of the agenda. The agenda approved unanimously is reported in slide #2.

## Item #2 in Agenda (slides #3 to #11) - Science Officers and deputy president

After communications about the results of the autumn 2017 elections (slide #3), the new organization of NH for 2018-2019 has been proposed. Several replacements of science officers will take place. The new organization is approved unanimously as follows:

Deputy PresidentIra DidenkulovaSocial Media CoordinatorJackson TellezOSPP CoordinatorOlga MavrouliECS RepresentativeRaffaele AlbanoDeputy ECS repr.Jonathan Rizzi

Sub-Division NH1: Hydro-Meteorological Hazards

**Science Officer** Antonio Parodi Sub-Division NH2: Volcanic Hazards

Science Officer Paraskevi Nomikou (NEW)

Sub-Division NH3: Landslide Hazards

Science Officer Michel Jaboyedoff (NEW) Sub-Division NH4: Earthquake Hazards Science Officer Antonella Peresan Sub-Division NH5: Sea & Ocean Hazards Science Officer Alberto Armigliato (NEW)

Sub-Division NH6: Remote Sensing & Hazards

Science Officer Paolo Tarolli

Sub-Division NH7: Wildfire Hazards

Science Officer Mário Gonzalez Pereira

Sub-Division NH8: Biological, Environmental & Other Hazards

**Science Officer** Paolo Ciavola (NEW)

Sub-Division NH9: Natural Hazards & Society

**Science Officer** Heidi Kreibich (NEW)

Sub-Division NH10: Short-Course Coordinator

Science Officer Robin Crockett

The composition of the outstanding ECS award committee has been proposed and approved unanimously. It is confirmed the composition of last year:
Giorgio Boni (Chair by default as president of NH Division)
Ira Didenkulova (president elected)

Heidi Kreibich

### Item #4 in Agenda (slides #12 and #13) - Medal committees

After the awarding ceremony OSPP from GA 2017 (item in agenda #3) the Soloviev medal committee composition has been updated appointing the last medallist Giuseppe De Natale and dr. Ning Li, meteorologist, from Priceton University. The current committee chair, Alik Ismail-Zadeh, is stepping down after 4 years service, the new chair is Irasema Alcantara-Ayala. Costas Synolakis is also stepping down after 4 years service.

The new composition, containing one non-past medallists according to recommendations, unanimously approved is then the following:

### New Chair:

Irasema Alcantara Ayala	[4 yrs left]
John C. Eichelberger	[1 yr left]
Augusto Neri	[3 yrs left]
Giuseppe De Natale	[4 yrs left]
Ning Li	[4 yrs left]

The Plinius medal composition has been updated rotating Bruno Merz that was stepping down. The new composition, containing one non-past medallists according to recommendations, unanimously approved is then the following:

#### Chair:

Hermann Fritz	[2 yrs left]
Jutta Thielen	[1 yrs left]
Alfredo M. F. A. Lagmay	[1 yrs left]
Benjamin P. Horton	[2 yrs left]

The meeting ended at 13:10 after the communications and AOB (items from #5 to #10 in agenda)