Minutes of the NH division Meeting, Tuesday, May 5th, 2020

The meeting started at 12:35 with the approval of the agenda. The agenda approved unanimously.

Items #2 and 3 in Agenda - Presidents, Science Officers and deputy president

The organization of NH for 2020-2021 is proposed. Several replacements of science officers take place.

The new organization is approved unanimously as follows:

Deputy President Paolo Tarolli

Social Media Coordinator Kateryna Terletska [3 yrs left]

OSPP Coordinator Jonathan Rizzi [3 yrs left]
ECS Representative Valeria Cigala [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH1: Hydro-Meteorological Hazards

Science Officer Yves Tramblay [4 yr left] Sub-Division NH2: Volcanic Hazards

Science Officer Paraskevi Nomikou [2 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH3: Landslide Hazards

Science Officer Michel Jaboyedoff [2 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH4: Earthquake Hazards

Science Officer Anastasia Nekrasova [4 yr left]

Sub-Division NH5: Sea & Ocean Hazards

Science Officer Alberto Armigliato [2 yrs left] Sub-Division NH6: Remote Sensing & Hazards

Science Officer Giorgio Boni [4 yr left] Sub-Division NH7: Wildfire Hazards **Science Officer** Marj Tonini [4 yr left]

Sub-Division NH8: Biological, Environmental & Other Hazards

Science Officer Paolo Ciavola [2 yrs left] Sub-Division NH9: Natural Hazards & Society Science Officer Heidi Kreibich [2 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH10: Multi-Hazards **Science Officer** Joel Gill [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH11: Short-Course Coordinator **Science Officer** Raffaele Albano [4 yrs left]

The composition of the outstanding ECS award committee remains the same. Ira Didenkulova (Chair by default as president of NH Division)
Paolo Tarolli (Deputy president)
Olga Mavrouli

<u>Item #5 in Agenda - Medal committees</u>

The Soloviev medal committee composition is updated. Irasema Alcantara Ayala is stepping down after 4 yrs of service. John J. Clague (medallist) is appointed for a 4 year term. Maria-Carmen Llasat is appointed as a new chair of the committee.

Chair:

| Maria-Carmen Llasat | [3 yr left] (non-medalist) |
|---------------------|-----------------------------|
| Augusto Neri | [1 yrs left] |
| Giuseppe De Natale | [2 yrs left] |
| Ning Li | [2 yrs left] (non-medalist) |
| John J. Clague | [4 yr left] |

The Plinius medal composition is updated. Hermann Fritz and Benjamin P. Horton are stepping down after 4 yrs of service. Jadranka Sepic (non-medallist) and Claire Horwell (medallist) are appointed for a 4 year term. Jadranka Sepic is appointed as a new chair of the committee. The new composition, contains two non-past medallists according to recommendations, unanimously approved is then the following:

Chair:

| <u> Jadranka Sepic</u> | [4 yrs left (non-medalist) |
|------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Hannah L. Cloke | [3 yrs left] |
| Marijan Herak | [3 yrs left] (non-medalist) |
| Bruno Merz | [2 yrs left] |
| Claire Horwell | [4 yrs left] |

The community was questioned about the names of NH medals: Plinius medal and Soloviev medal. Both names were supported by the community.

There was a discussion on changing Soloviev medal to Solov'ev medal.

Response: Soloviev wrote his name in his papers as "Soloviev". This is how he called himself and this is how the medal should be called. "Solov'ev" was used by the translators, who translated the Soloviev's book to English.

There was an interest in giving the female name to the OECS Award.

Response from EGU Council: Not possible to attribute names to the Division OECS Awards.

There was a discussion whether NH structure should include sub-division, which would include new and unprecedented hazard, such as COVID-19 crisis. One of such subdivisions could be NH8 Environmental & Other Hazards, which could also be renamed.

In the light of COVID-19 crisis, the need of WG on disaster risk reduction with a focus on vulnerability and exposure to disasters was discussed.

| The meeting ended at 14:15 after the communications and AOB (items from #5 to #10 in agenda) |
|--|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |