SSP Division Meeting 2020 Tuesday 20 April 2021, 13.30-14.30

Report

Agenda

- Welcome
- vEGU21 Gather Online
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2021-2022: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- vEGU21: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

1. Welcome

The meeting is conducted as a Zoom live session.

SSP President Marc De Batist welcomes the attendants and outlines the agenda of the Division Meeting.

2. vEGU21 Gather Online – some numbers

The president provides an overview of the statistics for vEGU21:

- 13801 abstracts in the program (down 24% relative to SGO 2020);
- 843 active sessions, of which 636 vPICO sessions, 56 Short Courses and 32 Medal/Award Lectures
- 13982 participants, from 126 countries;
- For 3675 participants the registration fee was waived (i.e. for scientists from Low/Lower-Middle Income Countries, PhD candidates from Upper-Middle Income Countries, Undergraduate and Master Students, Retired members of EGU, Medallists and Teachers, Journalists,...

vEGU21 is spread over 2 weeks:

- Week 1 (19-23 April): Union Symposia, Great Debates (Except GDB1), most Medal and Award Lectures, most Division Meetings and 2 Short Courses per day;
- Week 2 (26-30 April): 38/39 parallel vPICO sessions and 4 Short Courses per day.

3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The president provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications, such as:

- Elections
 - Patric Jacobs was elected as the EGU Treasurer for the term 2021–2023;
- EGU open access journals
 - Several journals have subjects in common with SSP (e.g. "Solid Earth", "Natural Hazards and Earth System Science", "Climate of the Past", "Biogeosciences", "Earth System Dynamics");
 - SSP has nominated an executive editor (Arjen Stroeven; <u>arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se</u>) for "Solid Earth";
 - SSP authors are invited to submit manuscripts to "Solid Earth";
 - "Solid Earth" is encouraging Special Issues (from sessions at vEGU21)

4. SSP Structure and Team 2021-2022: changes

The following changes to the SSP team for 2021-2022 need to be approved/confirmed at the SSP Division Meeting:

- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee

-

- André Strasser as former medalist member, replacing Jim Best who rotates off;
- Madeleine Vickers as ECS member, replacing Guilhem Amin Douillet who rotates off;
- Jorijntje Henderiks as new non-medalist member;
- Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee
 - "All science officers" as new members.

All changes are approved/confirmed unanimously by the SSP Division during the online Division Meeting. The President welcomes all new nominees and thanks Jim Best and Guilhem Amin Douillet for their work in the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee in the past years.

The proposed new committee members will be communicated to the Union Awards and Medals Committee and need to be approved by the Council.

Division SSP 2021-2022 President		
Marc De Batist	marc.debatist@ugent.be	
Deputy President		
Stéphane Bodin	stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk	
Program Group/Science Officers		
- Stratigraphy		
Jorijntje Henderiks	jorijntje.henderiks@geo.uu.se	
lan Jarvis	i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk	
- Sedimentology		
Guilhem Amin Douillet	guilhem.douillet@geo.unibe.ch	
Stephen Lokier	s.lokier@bangor.ac.uk	
- Paleontology		
Thijs Vandenbroucke	Thijs.Vandenbroucke@ugent.be	
Cinzia Bottini	cinzia.bottini@unimi.it	
Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representatives		
Alicia Fantasia	alicia.fantasia@univ-lyon1.fr	
Madeleine Vickers	mlv@ign.ku.dk	
SSP-Blog editor		
Alena Ebinghaus	aebinghaus@abdn.ac.uk	
Journals Representative		
Arjen Stroeven	arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se	
Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Commi	ttee	
Helmut Weissert, chair		
André Strasser		confirmed
Michael J. Benton		
Isabel Montañez		
Jorijntje Henderiks		confirmed
Madeleine Vickers		confirmed

Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee

Marc De Batist, chair	
Jorijntje Henderiks	
lan Jarvis	
Guilhem Amin Douillet	
Stephen Lokier	
Thijs Vandenbroucke	
Cinzia Bottini	

confirmed confirmed confirmed confirmed confirmed

5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Representative

ECS Representatives Madeleine Vickers and Alicia Fantasia give an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities:

- SGO 2020
 - Virtual networking evening, encouraging ECS presence
- Between SGO 2020 and vEGU21: social media
 - SSP-Blog (https://blogs.egu.eu/divisions/ssp/)... coordinated by Alena Ebinghaus
 - Facebook (<u>https://www.facebook.com/EGUssp/</u>)
 - Twitter (<u>@EGU_SSP</u>)
 - (looking for social media manager)
- vEGU2021
 - ECS Virtual Networking Event in Gather.town
- Looking forward
 - Designate SSP (social) media manager?

6. SSP Awards

André Strasser (Université de Fribourg, Switzerland) is the recipient of the 2021 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year *"in recognition of his contributions to the study of shallow-water carbonates and for his success at merging carbonate sedimentology with cyclo- and sequence stratigraphy"*. The medal lecture on *"Coral meets Milankovitch – or: time-distribution in shallow-marine carbonate sequences"* will be given on 20 April 2021, during the SSP Medal and Award Session, between 15:00 and 17:00.

Also the medal lecture by the 2020 medalist, Michael J. Benton, on "*The evolution of feathers*" will be given during this Medal and Award Session.

Niels de Winter (Utrecht University, The Netherlands) is the recipient of the 2021 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, and this "for his outstanding research on the application of μ XRF analyses on biominerals to reconstruct palaeo-seasonality during past greenhouse climates". His award lecture on "Advances in high-resolution paleoclimate reconstructions using growth experiments, age modelling and clumped isotope analyses" will be given on 20 April 2021, during the SSP Medal and Award Session, between 15:00 and 17:00.

Also the award lecture by the 2020 awardee, Anna Joy Drury, on "*Deep-sea panoramas: Progress and remaining challenges in late Miocene stratigraphy and climate*" will be given during this Medal and Award Session.

Congratulations to all the medalists and awardees.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2022 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a stratigrapher, and for the 2022 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2021.

7. vEGU21: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during vEGU21:

69 sessions submitted 48 sessions scheduled 20 SSP 28 co-organized 772 abstracts submitted 764 abstracts/displays scheduled 341 SSP 423 co-organized

He thanks all conveners for their great work (under especially challenging circumstances, this year), and encourages them to submit their successful session again for GA 2022, and to think about possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

8. Information and News from the SSP Community

During the past year, several new online resources were launched (and some already existing ones saw increased activity):

- Cyclostratigraphy.org (https://www.cyclostratigraphy.org/),
- SedsOnline (<u>https://sedsonline.com/</u>),
- CarbonateWorld.com (https://carbonateworld.com/),
- AntarcticGlaciers.org (http://www.antarcticglaciers.org/),
- Palaeocast (<u>https://www.palaeocast.com/</u>).

Marc De Batist, SSP President 20 April 2021