# **EGU 2025 Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division Meeting**

Vienna Austria & Online 30 April 2025, 12:45-13:45, Room N2

Chair: Alexis Rouillard (ST Division President)

The 2025 EGU Division Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on Wednesday 30 April 2025, 12:45 - 13:45 in Room N2. It was chaired by Alexis Rouillard (AR), the current President of the Solar-Terrestrial (ST) Sciences Division of EGU. There were approximately 100 attendees at the meeting (mainly researchers associated to ST), attending in person as well as virtually. The slides presented and this report can be found at http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/.

AR opened the meeting

## 1. Approval of Minutes and Agenda

The minutes of last year's (2025) DM and the agenda of this year's meeting were approved (OM)

#### 2. Awards and Medals 2025

AR presented the names of the 2025 awardee/medalists. He congratulated Richard Horne giving a great talk the previous day and encouraged people to participate to Karin Dissauer's talk. The awards of 2025 were given to:

- Julius Bartels medal: Richard Horne
- ST Outstanding Early Career Scientists (ECS) award: Karin Dissauer

AR gave an overview of different medals and awards and encouraged the ST community to submit nominations.

Nominations for next year medalists should be submitted via <a href="https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/nominations/">https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/nominations/</a> by June 15 2025.

For details see also

https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates/

## 3. Medal Committees

AR presented the Alfven Medal Committee for the 2025 and it was approved. The committee is:

- Margit Haberreiter (CHAIR)
- David McComas
- o Janet Luhmann
- Sandra Chapman
- Mateja Dumbovic

## 4. Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Award 2024

AR gave an overview of the OSPP Award and rules, announced the winners for 2024 OSPP award and provided them certificates:

Leonard Schulz

AR reminded the community of the importance to act as OSPP judges.

## 5. ST Division Organisation and Officers

# **ST Structure and Principles**

AR presented the ST presidents. Alexis Rouillard will be the ST Division President (2025-2025), Emilia Kilpua is the Out-going President. AR thanked Emilia Kilpua for her long time service for the community as a Division President.

Additionally, the following Division Officers were appointed at the DM:

• ST Programme Group Chair: Alexis Rouillard (until 2027)

The following ST officers were approved during the ST Division meeting by the meeting participants:

#### ST Scientific Officers 2025

- Solar Physics: Manuela Temmer (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Heliosphere: Olga Malandraki (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Magnetosphere: Yulia Bogdanova (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Ionosphere and Thermosphere: Dalia Buresova (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Magnetosphere: Yulia Bogdanova (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Space weather (magnetosphere and ionosphere): Guram Kervalishvili (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Space weather (Sun and heliopshere): Emilia Kilpua (2025, confirmed for 2026)

## ST Liaison Officers 2025

- Publications: Liliana Macotela (confirmed for 2026)
- OSPP Coordinator: Veera Juntunen (2025, confirmed for 2026)
- Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representative: Andreas Wagner (confirmed for 2026),
- Education and Public Outreach, News, Media, Webmaster: Liliana Macotela (confirmed for 2025)
- Scientific Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Division Liaison: Alexis Rouillard (confirmed for 2026)

EK thanked all officers for their active involvement in shaping the programme of the ST division!

### 6. ST Early Career Scientist (ECS) Activities

Andreas Wagner announced the presentation of the ECS activities.

Andreas Wagner presented the slides, thanked the previous team and summarized activities that have been held by the ECSs during the EGU (e.g. ice breaker, picnic, meet ST ECS at the EGU booth, ECS dinner) and on other times (e.g. two campfire events in Autum 2024 and Spring 2025 on how to convene a scientific session and how to apply for fellowship). The activities are gathering more and more events. AW showed the results of the ECS feedback from the community. For communication there are the Slack channels and a newsletter.

The following team was accepted by the ST DM meeting participants.

- Andras Wagner (ECS-Rep)
- Geetashree Kakoti (ECS co-Rep)
- Chaitanya Shistla
- Mrittika Ghosh
- Shreedevi P.R.
- Juliana Jaen
- Ezgi Gülay

AR encourage Olga Malandraki reminded that it would be important that ST ECSs will apply Council presentative position when that becomes open.

#### 7. ST Education and Public Outreach

AR announced the presentation of the Education and Public outreach committee. The previous Head Officer Eleanna Asvestari (EA) presented the update. EA gave an updated from the past year, e.g. on blog posts and thanked the previous team.

The following team for 2025 - 2026 was accepted by the ST DM participants:

- Liliana Macolela, Head Officer
- Mrittika Ghosh
- Ezgi Gülay
- Guram Kervalishvili
- Shreedevi P.R.

#### 8. ANGEO Update

AR presented the ANGEO update based on the slides provided by the chief officers. The submission rates to Annales have been rising clearly. AR encouraged people to submit their papers to Annales.

## 9. 2025 GA/ST Scientific Programme

The slides presented the overall statistics of the 2025 EGU meeting.

The abstracts submitted to EGU has been increasing past years. The overflowing of rooms is now becoming a problem for many divisions.

AR advertise the Award Ceremony and the Heliospheric Community meeting. He encouraged people to give feedback to EGU and to science officers.

The rest of the time was used for discussion and feedback of the meeting:

Council level ECS-rep importance was discussed and emphasized. They have clear voice in the council meeting and bring the bottom – up view.

The success of hybrid mode shares the views, some consider it working smoother now some reported technical problems and online talks being less engaging. The lack of presenters allowing to share and control their presentation is problematic.

The size of the room was discussed.

Many ST-division sessions are overflowing, the size and organization of many of the room is not ideal. For example, from narrow and long rooms that are fully packed, people cannot get to the microphone or out of the room when they need.

It was noted that it would be good to have a few dedicated chairs for those who really need them.

The possibility to present your poster and disappearance last year difficult pointers were appreciated.

It would be nice to have more flexibility, e.g. changes virtual poster to onsite if travel plans change.

AR asked if any other issues to be discussed

AR closed the meeting.