

Report to the EGU Council on the Business Meeting for the Seismology Division

Meeting Day & Time:	April 11, 2018, 12:15 – 13:15 PM
Meeting Location:	Austrian Conference Center, Vienna
Attendance:	approximately 180 people in the room

The agenda of this business meeting was as follows

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Awards & Medals
- 3. Meeting & Session Statistics
- 4. Structure of the Seismology Division
- 5. Any other business

1. Welcome

In a brief 'Welcome' address, the SM-Division President welcomed all participants in the room, presented the above agenda of the business meeting, and invited all participants to actively engage in the upcoming discussions during this meeting.

2. Awards

The awards and medals of the Seismology Division were announced and presented:

- Beno Gutenberg Medal, awarded in 2018 to **Prof. Haruo Sato**, Univ. Tohoku, Japan
- Division Outstanding Young Scientist Award, given in 2018 to **Dr. Martin van Driel**, ETH Zurich
- Outstanding Student Poster & Pico (OSPP) Award, for their presentations in 2017, were given to **Nienke Blom** and **Baptiste Gombert**.

Following the presentation of the awards, the guidelines for nominations were reviewed and explained for the OSPP awards and for the Arne Richter / Outstanding Young Scientist Award. The process for nominating Beno Gutenberg medalists was explained in detail, including the composition (and changes therein) of the Committee that evaluates incoming nominations. The meeting participants were alerted to the deadline of June 15, 2018, for nominating the 2019 Outstanding Young Scientists and Beno Gutenberg medalist.





3. Meeting and Session Statistics & Planning for 2019

In this agenda item, the SM-Division President presented the meeting statistics for 2018 (number of papers, participants, sessions, registrations), and the development of the conference over the past ~10 years (material provided by the GA PC Chair, Susanne Buiter).

The continuous increase in these numbers was followed by a discussion on potential modifications for the General Assembly 2019 and how to accommodate the growth. One of the key ideas would be to schedule orals, PICOs and posters in identical time blocks, following essentially the "AGU Model". The SM-Division had no clear "yes" or "no" vote in this regard, but in general it was recognized that over-crowed rooms and over-populated poster sessions (and the fact that many people spend a lot of time just queuing for drinks at the beginning of the TB5 poster session) require substantial changes to the GA structure. Interestingly, the SM-Division had a 2/3 majority in an informal vote for 12-min presentation (instead of the current 15-min), which would allow for an steep increase in the number of talks, but not solve the issue of over-crowed rooms.

4. <u>Structure of the Seismology Division</u>

Next, the structure of the seismology division was discussed. There are several important changes that are in effects as of the Division Meeting 2018:

- The elected deputy president, Dr. Philippe Jousset (philippe.jousset@gfz-potsdam.de) was officially presented to and accepted by the Division. He took office as of April 11, 2018, and is already incorporated in communications/activities of the SM-Division president
- Section officer Dr. Susana Custodio (topic "Deformation, Faulting and Earthquake Processes (incl. seismotectonics, geodynamics, earthquake source physics)" stepped down. As new Section Officer for this topic, Dr. Henriette Sudhaus (henriette.sudhaus@ifg.uni-kiel.de) was voted for. She accepted this position.
- A new ECS-Team was voted into office, after the 2016-2018 ECS team (Laura Parisi (point of contact), Laura Ermert, Lucia Gualtieri, Kathrin Spieker, and Koen van Noeten) compled their 2-year term. The new ECS representatives for the SM-Division is composed as follows:
 - Nienke Blom (Oxford, UK), also contact person: <u>nienke.blom@esc.cam.ac.uk</u>
 - Marina Corradini (IPGP, Paris, France): corradini@ipgp.fr
 - Michaela Wenner (ETH Zürich, CH): wenner@vaw.baug.ethz.ch
 - Eric Löberich (Vienna, Austria): e.loeberich@googlemail.com
 - Walid Ben Mansour (Macquarie @ Sydney, AUS): wbm2@leicester.ac.uk
 - Lucile Bruhat (IPGP / ENS, Paris, France): bruhat@ipgp.fr
 - Maria Tsekhmistrenko (Oxford, UK): maria.tsekhmistrenko@seh.ox.ac.uk
 - Andrea Berbellini (UCL, London, UK): a.berbellini@ucl.ac.uk





The outgoing ECS Team summarized its activities in 2016-2018 (blog, paper of the month, Twitter, Facebook, Social Events), highlighting in particular the successful EGU meetingsupport proposal on a very well received career-development workshop associated with the 2017 TIDES meeting.

Subsequently, the new ECS Team presented its planned activities which will attempt to build stronger interactions with seismo-related industries (for career-development purposes), and to define (and develop) more integrated EGU short-courses (in particular for the TS-Division and GD-division).

5. Any other business

In the last agenda item, the SM-Division President made a number of announcements related to "Feedback on the GA 2018", upcoming events during the GA 2018 (Beno Gutenberg Medal lecture, Thursday evening; ECS social event, Wednesday evening), and reminded the audience on the upcoming award deadline, June 15, 2018.

Adjourn at 13:15 PM.