# Business meeting Division on Magnetism, Palaeomagnetism, Rock Physics & Geomaterials (MPRG)

Room 42 / Thu, 06 May, 12:15-13:15

Chair: Mioara Mandea, President Division

Attendance: ~50

#### Agenda:

- 1. Welcome by the Division President
- 2. Approval of the Agenda
- 3. Division Officers
- 4. Report on the Activities of EGU and the Division
- 5. Presentation of Division Medallists
- 6. MPRG change of name, logo, web, email list
- 7. Election of Division President; proposal of candidates
- 8. Division Medals and Awards Committees
- 9. Division Publications and nomination of Editors
- 10. Any other business

## Welcome by the Division President

Short introduction and welcome by the MPRG president.

## Approval of the Agenda

The Agenda has been approved.

#### **Division Officers**

The division officers have been named and introduced (unfortunately only a vice-president, P. Meredith has attended the BM), with their roles in division life. Special thanks have been expressed to Alexis Maineult, who is in charge of division webpage.

# Report on the Activities of EGU and the Division

Division President has presented the main activities over the last year, at EGU and also division level. An important aspect is the division participation at GA 2010, so some important numbers with respect of division activities have been indicated (see the ppt).

#### Presentation of Division Medallists

The two division medalists, for Neel and Peregrinus medals (Teng-fong WONG and Jean-Pierre VALET) have been introduced.

## MPRG – change of name, logo, web, email list

This important topic has been discussed during the last two years, during the division Bms, but also via division email list. The new proposed name "Earth magnetism and rock physics" has been accepted by all attendance. The idea about division logo has been discussed and the idea to have a division internal competition for it has been launched.

The mprg email list becomes emrp list and it operates. The few problems linked to the web have also been pointed out.

## Election of Division President; proposal of candidates

As the current Division President, Mioara Mandea, is at her second term, a new President will be elected by the end of the year. At time being, two candidates

indicate their wish to serve the community, Georg Dresen and Karl Fabian. Also, the need to have new vice-presidents and secretaries has been addressed.

#### Division Medals and Awards Committees

The new rules regarding division medals and awards have been presented. The two committees are chaired by P. Meredith (Neel Medal) and D. Gubbins (Peregrinus Medal). The committee members are the division president and the last three medalists.

The nomination package and the YSOPP rules have been presented and discussed.

#### Division Publications and nomination of Editors

The new SOLID EARTH journal has been presented, and the community encourage to submit manuscripts to it.

# Any other business

Some of activities during the GA have been pointed out. Also the way to indicate the general comments with respect of the meeting. The BM presentation is also available on the Division Web.