SSP Division Meeting 2024 Wednesday 17 April 2024 || 12:45–13:45 || Room D1 and Zoom

Report

Agenda

- Welcome
- EGU24 General Assembly
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2024-2025: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- EGU24: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

1. Welcome

The meeting is conducted hybrid (live and zoom) SSP President Cinzia Bottini welcomes the attendants and outlines the agenda of the Division Meeting.

2. EGU24 General Assembly

The president provides an overview of the statistics for EGU24:

3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The president provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications.

4. SSP Structure and Team 2024-2025: changes

The following new compositions of the SSP team and commissions for 2024-2025 were approved:

The proposed new committee members will need to be approved by the Council.

cinzia.bottini@unimi.it
marc.debatist@ugent.be
cers
jorijntje.henderiks@geo.uu.se
alicia.fantasia@unifr.ch
m.l.vickers@geo.uio.no
s.lokier@bangor.ac.uk
kksl@geus.dk
antonino.briguglio@unige.it

Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representatives

Shradha Menon	shradha.menon@iitgn.ac.in
Danijela Dimitrijević	danijeladd88@yahoo.com

SSP-Blog editor

Mathias Vinnepand

mavinnep@uni-mainz.de

Journals Representative

Arjen Stroeven	arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se
7 in jen buoeven	al jen.stroeven@hatgeo.su.se

Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee

Jorijntje Henderiks, chair Shradha Menon Madeleine Vickers Elisabetta Erba David Harper Silvia Frisia

Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee

Cinzia Bottini Jorijntje Henderiks Alicia Fantasia Madeleine Vickers Stephen Lokier Kasia Sliwinska Antonino Briguglio

All changes are approved/confirmed by the SSP Division during the Division Meeting.

chair

The President thanks i) Ian Jarvis, Guillheim Duillet and Michael Benton for their work as Program Group/Science Officers ii) Alicia Fantasia and Madeleine Vickers as ECS Representatives.

5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep

ECS Representative Alicia Fantasia gives an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities.

6. SSP Awards

Silvia Frisia (University of Newcastle, Australia) is the recipient of the 2024 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year "recognition of her outstanding contribution to breakthroughs in sedimentology through the unique combination of investigating carbonates from outcrop- to nano-scales as well as her strong commitment to teaching and outreach".

Miguel Ángel Maté González (University of Salamanca, Spain) is the recipient of the 2024 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, and this "for his outstanding contribution to the characterization of anthropic traces on bone remains in Pleistocene archaeological sites through development of improved techniques".

Alina Lucia Ludat (LMU Munich, Germany) is the recipient of the 2024 vOSPP Award "for the POSTER entitled: "for the POSTER entitled: "The influence of tectonic surface faulting on vegetation growth and soil formation of the Mara River Basin, East Africa (Alina Lucia Ludat and Simon Kübler.).

Congratulations to all the medalists and awardees.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2025 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a stratigrapher, and for the 2025 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2024.

7. EGU24: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during EGU24:

38 sessions submitted 30 sessions scheduled 11 SSP 19 co-organized 871 abstracts submitted 384 abstracts/displays scheduled

She thanks all conveners for their great work and encourages them to submit their successful session again for EGU25, and to think about possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

8. Information and News from the SSP Community

The President invites input from the participants, but none is given.

Cinzia Bottini, SSP President 17 April 2024