Report SSP Division Meeting, Wednesday April, 11th 2018, 12.15-13.30

SSP President Helmut Weissert welcomes the SSP community and outlines the agenda of the meeting.

Agenda

- 1) GA 2018 some numbers
- 2) Information EGU Activities Programs-Publications
- 3) SSP Structure and Team 2018-2019
 - New: President-Elect Marc De Batist (presidency starting EGU 2019)
 - New Program Committee Member: Stephen Lokier
- 4) Early Career Scientists, Report from Alena Ebinghaus
- 5) SSP Blog
- 6) SSP Awards
 - Lamarck Medal James Best
 - Outstanding Poster and PICO Award 2016
- 7) Medals and Awards 2019
 - Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal 2019 Stratigraphy
 - ECS Award 2019
- 8) EGU GA 2019 > SSP Sessions –skeleton program
- 9) Information and News from the SSP Community

1) EGU GA 2018

The president provided information on a very successful GA 2018, including the number of participants, and the ratio posters vs. orals. EGU remains a poster-dominated conference (2/3 posters/PICO and 1/3 talks). 8% of the presentations are now PICO presentations. The number of participants and abstracts went up to 15 000/17 000. SSP received more than 500 abstracts.

2) Informations EGU

EGU has a new website – please go and visit it

EGU publications – several EGU open access journals are ready to accept manuscripts from the SSP community. Elias Samankassou, a sedimentologist from University of Geneva, is one of the editors of the journal "Solid Earth". SSP authors are invited to submit their manuscripts to "Solid Earth".

2) SSP Structure and Team 2018

Marc De Batist (Gent University) was elected in November 2017 as the new Presidentelect for SSP. He will start his first term as President of SSP at the General Assembly 2019. Daniel Parsons steps down as a Science Officer for Sedimentology. Dan will be the new President-elect in GM. Thank you very much, Dan for all you have done for SSP. Stephen Lokier, Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi, is appointed by the SSP Plenum, as a new member of the program committee. Stephen is a carbonate sedimentologist.

Division SSP 2018

PRESIDENT

Helmut Weissert helmut.weissert@erdw.ethz.ch

DEPUTY PRESIDENT

Marc De Batist Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be

PROGRAM GROUP/SCIENCE OFFICERS

Sedimentology

Stephen Lokier, slokier@pi.ac.ae

Guilhem Amin Douillet, g.douillet@geo.unibe.ch

Stéphane Bodin, stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk

Ian Jarvis, i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk

Palaeontology

Thijs Vandenbroucke thijs.vandenbroucke@ugent.be>

Cinzia Bottini cinzia.bottini@unimi.it

ECS REPRESENTATIVE

Alena Ebinghaus aebinghaus@abdn.ac.uk

5) Early Career Scientists, Report from Alena Ebinghaus

Additional early career scientists are asked to join the officers team to help with the social media.

6) SSP Awards

James Best (Univ. of Illinois, U.S.) is winner of the SSP 2018 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal. The medal lecture was a great success, more than 300 persons attended the lecture. No Early Career Scientist was awarded in SSP in 2018.

2 presentations were selected for the 2017 OSPP Award

Pinar Günes (Memorial Univ. Newfoundland, Canada) Ye Feng (Tel Aviv University, Israel)

Congratulations to all the awardees.

7) Lamarck Medal - Medal Committee

James Best accepts membership of the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee. He will replace Wolfgang Schlager. Wolfgang Schlager is thanked for his excellent services for the Committee. Judith McKenzie, chair of the medal committee from 2015-2018, has finished her 4 years term. New chair of the medal committee 2019 is Marc De Batist, President-elect SSP. We thank you, Judy, for your continuous support of SSP and EGU, for

your excellent guidance of the Medal Committee and, we hope, that we will get your valuable advice on SSP matters also in the next years.

LAMARCK MEDAL COMMITTEE

Chair: Marc De Batist

James Best
Paul Wignall.

Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be
jimbest@illinois.edu
P.B.Wignall@leeds.ac.uk

Luc Lourens L.J.Lourens@uu.nl

Guilhem Amin Douillet g.douillet@geo.unibe.ch (non-medalist member)

Lamarck Medal 2019 – Stratigraphy

EGU Division Stratigraphy, Sedimentology & Palaeontology
Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal to be awarded to a scientist for exceptional
contributions in SSP disciplines!
2019 - Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal to be awarded to a mid-career scientist for
exceptional contributions in Stratigraphy
Nomination process is now open; see instructions:
www.egu.eu/awards-medals/
Deadline 15 June 2018!

8) EGU GA 2019 > SSP Sessions

Finally, the president brings the 2019 GA to the attention of the division meeting, he thanks all conveners for their great work and he thanks the more than 100 participants of the SSP division meeting for their presence and active participation. Please plan to submit your successful session again for 2019, or decide about a new topic, and new co-conveners. We urge all the conveners of successful 2017 or 2018 sessions to resubmit their session for 2018. You all, with your contributions, will make SSP-EGU 2019 a successful event.

 $\begin{array}{l} \text{Helmut Weissert, SSP President} \\ 14^{\text{th}} \, \text{May 2018} \end{array}$