EGU 2017 Solar-Terrestial Division Meeting

Vienna, Austria, 27 April, 12:15-13:15 in Room L3.
Minutes prepared by Margit Haberreiter

The 2017 EGU Division Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on Thursday, 27 April, 12:15-13:15 in Room L3. It was chaired by Margit Haberreiter (MH). There were approximately 120 attendees at the meeting (mainly researchers associated to ST). The slides presented, and this report, can be found at:

http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/.

1. Approval of Minutes and Agenda

The minutes of last year's DM and the agenda of this year's meeting were approved.

2. Awards and Medals 2017

MH presented the names of the 2017 awardee/medalists that were given:

Jean Dominique Cassini: The 2017 Jean Dominique Cassini Medal went to Luciano less.

Hannes Alfvén: The 2017 Hannes Alfvén ST Division Medal went to Eric Priest.

Julius Bartels: The 2017 Julius Bartels ST Division Medal went to Tuija Pulkkinen.

In 2017 the Arne Richter Award went to Julia Thalmann.

3. Medal Committees

The proposed Julius Bartels Medal Committee 2018 was approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

Hermann Lühr (chair), Norma Crosby [IN] Yuri Shprits [OUT], Rumi Nakamura, Jeffrey Forbes.

The proposed Hannes Alfvén Medal Committee 2018 was approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

• Loukas Vlahos (chair), Ionnis Dandouras [IN], Sandra Chapman [OUT], Stephen Fuselier, Sami Solanki.

For more information: http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/awards-and-medals.html

Discussion:

MH informs the community that the new rule regarding the composition of the medal committe is that at least one member of the committee is recommended to not be a former medallist.

Nominations for next year medalists should be submitted to **awards.medals@egu.eu** (the final deadline for submissions is **15 June, 2017**). The community is urged to come with suggestions of strong candidates! For details see:

http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html

4. OSP 2017 Award Ceremony

Margit Haberreiter gave an overview of the participation statistics in the OSPP Award competition

(see slides 15-16 of 2017 DM presentation). It should be noted that the quality and number of participants increased.

In 2016 the Outstanding Student Poster and PICO (OSPP) Award was selected. MH (OSP - now OSPP - coordinator for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences) presented them to the following students:

• Cecilia Norgren for her poster "Kinetic scale current sheet observed at the magnetopause", by Norgren, C.; Graham, D.; Khotyaintsev, Y.; André, M.; Vaivads, A.

MH concluded with a summary of the participation statistics of the 2016 OSPP Award.

5. EGU Update

EGU Executive Board

EGU President

• Jonathan Bamber

Vice-President:

Hans Thybo (outgoing)

General Secretary

Håkan Svedhem

EGU Treasurer

Patric Jacobs

Executive Secretary

Philippe Courtial

EGU Galileo conferences

As last year, the possibility to organize *EGU Galileo conferences* was mentioned and a slide summarizing the key information of this possibility has been presented at the DM. These meetings should address well-focussed cutting-edge topics in geoscience, typically last 3-5 days with up to 100 participants. EGU provides support, and partly sponsors the events. Financial loss or benefit will go to EGU. For details see: http://www.egu.eu/meetings/galileo-conferences/

There is a 2-stage application process. For details see:

http://www.egu.eu/meetings/galileo-conferences/proposal-and-selection-of-the-submissions/

6. ST Division Organization

ST Structure and Principles

MH recalls that the Division President can be re-elected once. The next incoming election for the "ST Deputy president-elect" will be held in autumn 2018. MH informs the community that **nominations** are invited until September 15, 2017). For details of the election process please see the EGU webpage http://www.egu.eu/elections/.

In case you have questions, please feel free to send an email to the ST Division President.

Additionally, the following Division Officers were appointed at the DM:

Programme Group Chair

• Margit Haberreiter (2017, confirmed for 2018)

Deputy President

Olga Malandraki (2017, confirmed for 2018)

The following ST officers were approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

ST Scientific Officers 2017

- Solar Physics: Manuela Temmer (2017, confirmed for 2018)
- Heliosphere: Olga Malandraki (2017, confirmed for 2018)
- Magnetosphere: Yulia Bogdanova (2017 incoming, confirmed for 2018), Natalia Ganuskina (outgoing)
- Ionosphere: Dalia Buresova (2017, confirmed for 2018)

•

ST Liaison Officers 2017

- Publications: Manuela Temmer (2017, confirmed for 2018)
- OSPP Coordinator: Chao Xiong (incoming 2017, confirmed for 2018)
- Early Career Scientist Representative: Jone Peter Reistad (2017, confirmed for 2018)
- Education and Public Outreach, News, Media, Webmaster: Athanasios Papaioannou (2017, confirmed for 2018)
- Scientific Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Division Liaison: Margit Haberreiter (2017, confirmed for 2018).

The ST Division officers communicate as needed on issues such the EGU GA program, in particular the call for sessions, call for abstracts and the respective selection of sessions and abstracts for the final program.

7. ST Young Scientist Activities

Jone Peter Reistad gave a brief presentation on the ST ECS Activities (see slides 24-26 of the Division Meeting presentation at http://static.egu.eu/static/7154/reports/st/2017_slides_st.pdf)

8. ST Education and Public Outreach

MH noted that an ST EGU blog is in preparation. Any suggestions and input should be either sent to Athanasios Papaioannou (email: <a href="atpapaio" atpapaio" atpapai

MH would also like to remind the audience about the webpage on Education and Public Outreach of the ST division: http://www.egu.eu/st/education-public-outreach/

9. ANGEO Update

Christoph Jacobi gave a presentation (see slides 29-34 of the DM presentation at http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/2017_slides_st.pdf).

10. 2017 GA/ST Scientific Programme

Overall statistics of the 2017 General Assembly, as well as the ST Scientific Programme are shown in the ST DM presentation (see meeting slides). In summary, the number of abstracts decresed by 10%. Keeping in mind the extraordinary increase by 57% in 2016 a slight decrease in 2017 is not surprising. Further, MH reminded the participants that PICO sessions are an excellent way to communicate science results and at the same time accommodate a large number of abstracts. In case the number of abstracts will generally continue to rise for the GA in the coming year(s), the possibility to submit

PICO sessions will become increasingly important in order to host all abstracts within the conditions at the conference center regarding available time blocks as well as space.

11. EGU 2017 and the Future

EGU2018 will be held in Vienna, Austria from 8-13 April 2018.

MH asked the scientific community for their active involvement in shaping the EGU GA and reminded the audience of the bottom-up process of EGU. As last year, MH would like to encourage the community to propose sessions for EGU2018, in particular Joint Sessions organized together with other divisions, such as e.g. the AS, CL, and PS Divisions, as well as others. It should also be noted that Interdisciplinary events (IE) are a separate programme group and also considered when proposing sessions.

Finally, MH would like to remind the participants to visit/fill in the EGU General Assembly Feedback 2017 form: www.egu2017.eu/feedback and not to forget to think about potential PICO sessions in the future.

There was no other business and the meeting was closed.