SSP Division Meeting 2022

Tuesday 18 May 2022 || 13:00-14:00 || Zoom meeting

Report

Agenda

- Welcome
- EGU22 General Assembly
- Information on EGU Activities, Programs, Publications
- SSP Structure and Team 2022-2023: changes
- Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep
- SSP Awards
- EGU22: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions
- Information and News from the SSP Community

1. Welcome

The meeting is conducted as a Zoom live session.

SSP President Marc De Batist welcomes the attendants and outlines the agenda of the Division Meeting.

2. EGU22 General Assembly

The president provides an overview of the statistics for EGU22:

- 12615 abstracts in the program (down 9% relative to vEGU21);
- 777 active sessions, of which 614 short-oral sessions, 54 Short Courses and 35 Medal and Award Lectures;
- 7280 on-site registrations, from 88 countries, and 4384 virtual registrations, from 107 countries.

3. Information on EGU – Activities, Programs, Publications

The president provides information on various EGU activities, programs, publications, such as:

- EGU Membership
 - 14,988 members members, of which 9,135 ECS
- Elections
 - Irina M. Artemieva was elected as EGU President for the term 2023–2025;
 - Jane K. Hart was elected as EGU General Secretary for the term 2022–2024.
- EGU open access journals
 - Several journals have subjects in common with SSP (e.g. "Solid Earth", "Natural Hazards and Earth System Science", "Climate of the Past", "Biogeosciences", "Earth System Dynamics");
 - SSP has nominated an executive editor (Arjen Stroeven; <u>arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se</u>) for "Solid Earth";
 - SSP authors are invited to submit manuscripts to "Solid Earth";
 - "Solid Earth" is encouraging Special Issues (from sessions at EGU22)

4. SSP Structure and Team 2022-2023: changes

The following changes to the SSP team for 2022-2023 need to be approved/confirmed at the SSP Division Meeting:

- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee
 - Jorijntje Henderiks as chair, replacing Helmut Weissert who rotates off;
 - Elisabetta Erba as former medalist member, replacing Isabel P. Montañez who rotates off;
- Program Group/Science Officers
 - Mike Benton as Program Group/Science Officer for Paleontology, replacing Cinzia Bottini who will become President-Elect;
 - Antonino Briguglio as Program Group/Science Officer for Paleontology, replacing Thijs Vandenbroucke who steps down;
- SSP-Blog Editor
 - Mathias Vinnepand as SSP-Blog Editor, replacing Alena Ebinghaus who steps down.

All changes are approved/confirmed unanimously by the SSP Division during the online Division Meeting. The President welcomes all new nominees and thanks i) Helmut Weissert and Isabel P. Montañez for their work in the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee in the past years, ii) Cinzia Bottini and Thijs Vandenbroucke for their work as Program Group/Science Officer for Paleontology over the past years, and iii) Alina Ebinghaus for her work as SSP-Blog Editor over the past years.

The proposed new committee members will need to be approved by the Council.

Division SSP 2022-2023

President

Marc De Batist marc.debatist@ugent.be

President-Elect

Cinzia Bottini cinzia.bottini@unimi.it

Deputy President

Stéphane Bodin stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk

Program Group/Science Officers

- Stratigraphy

Jorijntje Henderiks jorijntje.henderiks@geo.uu.se Ian Jarvis i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk

- Sedimentology

Guilhem Amin Douillet guilhem.douillet@geo.unibe.ch

Stephen Lokier s.lokier@bangor.ac.uk

- Paleontology

Mike Benton Mike.Benton@bristol.ac.uk
Antonino Briguglio antonino.briguglio@unige.it

Early Career Scientist (ECS) Representatives

Alicia Fantasia alicia.fantasia@univ-lyon1.fr Madeleine Vickers m.l.vickers@geo.uio.no

SSP-Blog editor

Mathias Vinnepand mavinnep@uni-mainz.de

Journals Representative

Arjen Stroeven arjen.stroeven@natgeo.su.se

Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee

Jorijntje Henderiks, chair Elisabetta Erba André Strasser Michael J. Benton

Madeleine Vickers

Outstanding Early-Career Scientist Award Committee

Marc De Batist, chair Jorijntje Henderiks Ian Jarvis Guilhem Amin Douillet Stephen Lokier Mike Benton Antonino Briguglio

5. Early Career Scientists: Report from the ECS Rep

ECS Representatives Madeleine Vickers and Alicia Fantasia give an overview of various ECS or ECS-related activities:

- vEGU21
 - Two successful virtual networking events:
 - ECSs only on Zoom in conjunction with the OS Division
 - Gathertown for all members of SSP
- Between vEGU21 and EGU22
 - Regular meetings with all divisions ECS Reps
 - SSP-Blog (https://blogs.egu.eu/divisions/ssp/)... coordinated by Alena Ebinghaus
 - Facebook (<u>https://www.facebook.com/EGUssp/</u>)
 - Twitter (@EGU SSP)

(looking for social media manager)

- EGU22
 - pre-EGU22 ECS Meeting in Vienna on 21 May 2022
 - ECS networking event for all Divisions on 24 May 2022
- Looking forward
 - Designate SSP (social) media manager?

6. SSP Awards

Elisabetta Erba (University of Milan, Italy) is the recipient of the 2022 SSP Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which was awarded this year "for research excellence in marine micropalaeontology, Mesozoic stratigraphy and palaeoceanography, and for major contributions to scientific drilling in marine and terrestrial realms". The medal lecture on "Tiniest story-tellers of the largest ecosystem: calcareous nannofossils and the Mesozoic ocean" will be given on 26 May 2022, during the SSP Medal and Award Session, between 19:00-20:00, in Room D2.

Yin Lu (University of Innsbruck, Austria) is the recipient of the 2022 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, and this "for outstanding and innovative contributions to lacustrine palaeoseismology and related sedimentary processes". His award lecture on "Subaqueous Paleoseismology: Fresh perspectives on sedimentary response to regional tectonics" will be given on 23 May 2022, during Session SSP3.2: "Limnogeology - reading the geological record of lakes", on 13:25, in Room -2.32/33.

Mathia Sabino (University of Hamburg, Germany) is the recipient of the 2021 vOSPP Award "for the vPICO entitled: "Environmental change across the onset of the Messinian salinity crisis in the northern Mediterranean (Piedmont Basin, NW Italy) (Sabino, M.; Natalicchio, M.; Birgel, D.; Dela Pierre, F.; Peckmann, J.).

Congratulations to all the medalists and awardees.

The President announces that nominations are currently invited for the 2023 Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal, which will be awarded to a palaeontologist, and for the 2023 SSP Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award, in all SSP disciplines. Deadline for submitting nominations is 15 June 2022.

7. EGU22: SSP Sessions and co-organized sessions

The President gives an overview of the SSP sessions during EGU22:

30 sessions submitted
32 sessions scheduled
12 SSP
20 co-organized
682 abstracts submitted
269 abstracts/displays scheduled
341 SSP
423 co-organized in SSP-led sessions

A striking observation is that the Palaeontology sub-group is becoming smaller and smaller. At EGU22 no sessions were proposed in Palaeontology, and the few palaeontologically-themed abstracts that were submitted needed to be scheduled in the Open Session.

He thanks all conveners for their great work and encourages them to submit their successful session again for EGU23, and to think about possible new sessions, and new co-conveners.

8. Information and News from the SSP Community

The President invites input from the participants, but none is given.

Marc De Batist, SSP President 18 May 2022