EGU 2014 Solar-Terrestrial Sciences Division Meeting

Vienna, Austria, 29 April 2014

Minutes taken by Norma B. Crosby

The 2014 EGU Division Meeting for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences was held on 29 April 2014, 12:15–13:15, Room Y1. It was chaired by Norma Crosby (NC). There were approximately 100 attendees at the meeting (mainly ST people). See meeting slides (http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/) for more details.

1. Awards and Medals 2014

NC presented the names of the 2014 awards/medals that were given:

Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Young Scientists: One of the 2014 Arne Richter Awards for Outstanding Young Scientists went to Noé Lugaz.

Jean Dominique Cassini: The 2014 Jean Dominique Cassini Medal went to Stamatios M. Krimigis.

Hannes Alfvén: The 2014 Hannes Alfvén ST Division Medal went to Karl Schindler.

Julius Bartels: The 2014 Julius Bartels ST Division Medal went to Rumi Nakamura.

2. Medal Committees

The proposed Julius Bartels Medal Committee 2015 was approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

• Karl-Heinz Glassmeier [CHAIR], Eigil Friis-Christensen, Hannu Koskinen [OUT], Mark Lester, Rumi Nakamura [IN]

The proposed Hannes Alfvén Medal Committee 2013 was approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

 Sandra Chapman [CHAIR], Margaret G. Kivelson [OUT], Mike Lockwood, Göran Marklund, Loukas Vlahos [IN]

For more information: http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/awards-and-medals.html

Nominations for next year medalists should be submitted to awards.medals@egu.eu (the final deadline for submissions is 15 June, 2013). The community is urged to come with suggestions of strong candidates! For details see:

http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/proposal-and-selection-of-candidates.html

3. OSP 2013 Award Ceremony

NC reminded the participants that there exists many opportunities for Young Scientists at EGU:

http://www.egu.eu/young-scientists/

On behalf of Claire Foullon (OSP coordinator for Solar-Terrestrial Sciences) NC presented the Outstanding Student Poster (OSP) 2013 Award to:

• Beate Krøvel Humberset for her poster "Untangling the space-time ambiguity of pulsating aurora".

4. ST Division Organisation and Officers

NC recalled that the ST Division has its own webpage: http://www.egu.eu/st/

She spoke about the New By-Laws that are located at (http://www.egu.eu/about/by-laws/) and specifically highlighted:

<u>By-Law 4.6</u>: The President of each Division shall be elected (according to the rules stated in By-Laws 3.1. and 3.5.) for a term of two years, and shall be eligible for immediate reelection once only.

<u>By-Law 7.5</u>: Each Division shall have at least one Deputy President and may have additional Division officers.

<u>By-Law 7.7</u>: Each Division shall hold a Division meeting during the course of the General Assembly of the Union. The Division meeting appoints the Deputy President(s) and the other Division officers.

NC recalled that the upcoming ST President election will occur this autumn and that the community is encouraged to suggest potential candidates.

The role of ST Deputy President is to be a backup for the ST President (e.g. attend a meeting on her/his behalf). NC suggested Olga Malandraki for the role of 2015 ST Deputy President, whom she already had asked. There were no objections and Olga Malandraki was approved by the meeting participants as the 2015 ST Deputy President.

The following ST officers were approved during the ST Division Meeting by the meeting participants:

ST Scientific Officers 2015:

- *Heliosphere*: Olga Malandraki (2014, confirmed for 2015)
- Solar Physics: Volker Bothmer (2014, confirmed for 2015)
- Magnetosphere: Natalia Ganushkina (2014, confirmed for 2015)
- *lonosphere*: Jan Laštovička (2014, confirmed for 2015)

ST Liaison Officers 2015:

- Publications: Manuela Temmer (2014, confirmed for 2015)
- OSP Coordinator: Claire Foullon (2014, confirmed for 2015)
- Young Scientist Representative:
 - NC suggested Beate Krøvel Humberset for this role, whom she already had asked. There were no objections and Beate Krøvel Humberset was approved by the meeting participants as the 2015 ST Young Scientist Representative.
- Education and Public Outreach, News, Media, Webmaster: Athanasios Papaioannou (confirmed for 2015)
- Scientific Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Division Liaison: Norma Crosby (confirmed for 2015).

It was asked by a meeting attendee if the above "officers" communicate together on a regular basis during the year. NC replied that this was normally not the case, but that this was a very good suggestion and would be noted. The "communication" procedure based on emails and telecoms shall be initiated during the upcoming year.

5. ST Education and Public Outreach Update

Athanasios Papaioannou gave a presentation (see last part of meeting slides: http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/) on the ST Education and Public Outreach (EPO) webpage: http://www.egu.eu/st/education-public-outreach/

Specifically he presented the new EPO sub-webpages that had been built: EPO Websites, EPO Books, EPO Videos. Participants were encouraged to contribute with input to this activity (contact: Athanasios Papaioannou); all input will systematically be monitored.

NC suggested that the Young Scientist Representative could help provide input/feedback to the potential informative guide for prospective ST students that had been proposed.

ANGEO Update

Mike Pinnock gave a presentation (see last part of meeting slides: http://www.egu.eu/st/reports/) on the ST journal Annales Geophysicae (ANGEO): http://www.annales-geophysicae.net/

There are now three Co-Editors-in-Chief: Mike Pinnock, Christoph Jacobi, Ioannis A. Daglis.

ANGEO is an 'Open Access Journal'. This has lately become a very important point for funding agencies.

7. 2014 GA/ST Scientific Programme

Overall statistics of the 2014 General Assembly, as well as the ST Scientific Programme are shown in the ST Division Meeting presentation (see meeting slides). This year EGU continued (made larger) the PICO (Presenting Interactive Content) concept. However, this year no ST sessions were interested in having a PICO session.

Some ST Division Meeting participants indicated that they had visited PICO sessions this year but found that the noise level was sometimes too high.

Speaking with ST attendees during the week NC got the impression that the ST poster sessions were very successful this year and well-appreciated.

8. EGU 2015 and the Future

EGU2015 will be held in Vienna, Austria from 12–17 April 2015.

NC asked the meeting participants if they would like to continue with the Open Call procedure for ST Session Proposals. It was agreed that this procedure will be applied for 2015. Next year will also continue with the three Open Sessions [Sun and Heliosphere, Magnetosphere, Ionosphere and Thermosphere].

NC reminded the participants to visit/ fill in the EGU General Assembly Feedback 2014 form: www.egu2014.eu/feedback

and not to forget to think about potential PICO sessions in the future.

There was no other business and the meeting was closed.