NP division at the EGU General Assembly 2017

First I would like to warmly thank Shaun Lovejoy my predecessor for the last four years during which he promoted new activities within the NP division in particular the short courses, and enhanced collaborations at the level of the Union.

The new NP executive board is now composed of Stefano Pierini (NP2, Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences), François Schmitt (NP3, Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability), Reik Donner (NP4, Time Series and Patterns), Olivier Talagrand (NP5, Predictability), Jose Redondo (NP6, Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion), Philippe Fraunié (NP7, Nonlinear Waves), Valerio Lucarini (NP8, Nonlinear Stochastics), Daniel Schertzer (publications), Stéphane Vannitsem (Programme group chair), Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs), Igor da Silva Rocha Paz (Early Career Scientists), Shaun Lovejoy (Division Affairs) August Gires (Webmaster). The new Richardson medal committee is composed of: Chair: Annick Pouquet, Members: Edward Ott, Peter Read, Daniel Schertzer, Olivier Talagrand, Tamas Tel.

The EGU General Assembly 2017 was a real success in terms of number of participants and activities. The NP division contributed to this success with 372 abstracts within 14 sessions, 9 short courses, and one interdisciplinary session and two sessions in the Great Debates organized at the level of the Union. 7 sessions were also co-organized with other divisions (170 abstracts). I would like to thank all the conveners and participants for this success.

NP honours have been awarded to Edward Ott with the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal 2017, and to Malte Stuecker with the Outstanding Student Poster and Pico Award 2016.

The preparation of the next assembly will start soon (and can be followed at <u>http://www.egu2018.eu</u>) and in this context I would like to remind you that proposals for the NP awards (Lewis Fry Richardson Medal and the Outstanding Young Scientist Awards) should be introduced before June 15, 2017. The link associated to these awards is <u>https://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/</u>.

Thank you for all your efforts!

Looking forward to seeing you all in Vienna in 2018!

Stéphane Vannitsem

NP division president