## Minute of the NH division Meeting, Tuesday, April 9th, 2019

The meeting started at 12:45 with the approval of the agenda. The agenda approved unanimously is reported in slide #2.

# <u>Item #2 in Agenda (slides #3 to #17) - Presidents (incoming and outgoing), Science Officers and deputy president</u>

After communications about the change of presidents (slides #3 to #4), the new organization of NH for 2019-2020 is proposed. New Deputy President is appointed (slide #5). The new fixed term for Science Officers (2 + 2 years) is introduced (slide #6). Several replacements of science officers take place. The remaining terms of all Science Officers are revisited (slides #7 to #17). New NH sub-division "Multi-Hazards" is established (slides #11 to #12). The new organization is approved unanimously as follows:

**Deputy President** Paolo Tarolli (NEW)

Social Media Coordinator Kateryna Terletska (NEW)

OSPP Coordinator Jonathan Rizzi (NEW)
ECS Representative Valeria Cigala (NEW)

Sub-Division NH1: Hydro-Meteorological Hazards

**Science Officer** Antonio Parodi [1 yr left]

Sub-Division NH2: Volcanic Hazards

**Science Officer** Paraskevi Nomikou [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH3: Landslide Hazards

**Science Officer** Michel Jaboyedoff [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH4: Earthquake Hazards

Science Officer Antonella Peresan [1 yr left]

Sub-Division NH5: Sea & Ocean Hazards

**Science Officer** Alberto Armigliato [3 yrs left] Sub-Division NH6: Remote Sensing & Hazards

**Science Officer** Paolo Tarolli [1 yr left] Sub-Division NH7: Wildfire Hazards

**Science Officer** Mário Gonzalez Pereira [1 vr left]

Sub-Division NH8: Biological, Environmental & Other Hazards

Science Officer Paolo Ciavola [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH9: Natural Hazards & Society

**Science Officer** Heidi Kreibich [3 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH10: Multi-Hazards (NEW)

**Science Officer** Joel Gill [4 yrs left]

Sub-Division NH11: Short-Course Coordinator

Science Officer Robin Crockett

The composition of the outstanding ECS award committee is proposed and approved unanimously.

Ira Didenkulova (Chair by default as president of NH Division)

Paolo Tarolli (Deputy president)

Olga Mavrouli

## Item #4 in Agenda (slides #18 and #19) - Medal committees

After the awarding ceremony OSPP from GA 2018 (item in agenda #3) the Soloviev medal committee composition is updated appointing Maria-Carmen Llasat as a new member. John C. Eichelberger is stepping down after 4 years of service.

The new composition, containing two non-past medallists according to recommendations, unanimously approved is then the following:

### Chair:

Irasema Alcantara Ayala	[3 yrs left]
Maria-Carmen Llasat	[4 yr left] (non-medalist)
Augusto Neri	[2 yrs left]
Giuseppe De Natale	[3 yrs left]
Ning Li	[3 yrs left] (non-medalist)

The Plinius medal composition is updated. Jutta Thielen and Alfredo M. F. A. Lagmay are stepping down after 4 yrs of service. Bruno Merz is appointed for a 3 year term. Marijan Herak (non-past medallist) and Hannah L. Cloke (past medallist) are appointed for a 4 year term. The new composition, containing one non-past medallists according to recommendations, unanimously approved is then the following:

### Chair:

Hermann Fritz	[1 yrs left]
<u>Hannah L. Cloke</u>	[4 yrs left]
<u>Marijan Herak</u>	[4 yrs left] (non-medalist)
Bruno Merz	[3 yrs left]
Benjamin P. Horton	[1 yrs left]

The meeting ended at 13:45 after the communications and AOB (items from #5 to #10 in agenda)