# Report SSP Division Meeting, Wednesday April, 26th 2017, 12.15-13.30, Room L6

SSP President Helmut Weissert welcomes the SSP community and outlines the agenda of the meeting.

Program

- 1) Agenda for Division Meeting 2017 SSP
- 2) GA 2017 some numbers
- 3) Information EGU Activities Programs-Publications
- 4) SSP Structure and Team 2017 New ECS Representative: Alena Ebinghaus New Program Committee Member: Cinzia Bottini
- 5) Election of "President-Elect", November 2017
- 6) Early Career Scientists, Report from Guilhem Douillet & Alena Ebinghaus
- 7) SSP Awards
  - a. Lamarck Medal Paul Wignall
  - b. Arne Richter Award for Yadong Song
  - c. Outstanding Poster and PICO Award 2016
- 8) Lamarck Medal
  - a. Medal Committee
  - b. 2018 Sedimentology
- 9) EGU GA 2018 > SSP Sessions
- 10)Varia

# 2) Information EGU – Activities – Programs-Publications

The president provided information on a very successful GA 2017, including the number of participants, and the ratio posters vs. orals. Based on this information, it was better understood that many authors who wanted to give an oral presentation were offered a poster or PICO presentation. EGU is a poster-dominated conference (2/3 posters and PICO vs. 1/3 talks). While the number of participants and papers went up for EGU overall this year, SSP had a decrease in the number of abstracts by more than 15 %, when comparing 2017 to 2016. One of the reasons identified was in the scheduling of sessions in physical sedimentology. Many of the sessions proposed for 2017 did not reach a critical size and, therefore, a large number of abstracts were moved into GM division-led sessions. It will be important to keep physical sedimentology as a strong part of SSP at EGU. Therefore, we urge sedimentologists to identify exciting topics suitable for strong SSP sessions in 2018.

EGU publications – several EGU open access journals are ready to accept manuscripts from the SSP community. Elias Samankassou, a sedimentologist from University of Geneva and one of the editors of the journal "Solid Earth" was present at the meeting and invited SSP authors to submit their manuscripts to "Solid Earth".

## 3) SSP Structure and Team 2017

Richard Twitchett steps down as a science officer for palaeontology. Thank you very much, Rich, for your support of SSP. As a new member of the program committee. Cinzia

Bottini, Università degli Studi di Milano is appointed by the SSP Plenum. Cinzia is a micropalaeontologist and she will replace Richard Twitchett.

Guilhem Amin Douillet steps down as the Early Career Scientist Representative for SSP. He is replaced by Alena Ebinghaus, post-doctoral student at the University of Aberdeen.

Division SSP 2017

#### PRESIDENT

Helmut Weissert helmut.weissert@erdw.ethz.ch

#### DEPUTY PRESIDENT

Ian Jarvis i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk

# PROGRAM GROUP/SCIENCE OFFICERS

Sedimentology Daniel Parsons d.parsons@hull.ac.uk Guilhem Amin Douillet g.douillet@min.uni-muenchen.de Stratigraphy Stéphane Bodin stephane.bodin@geo.au.dk Ian Jarvis i.jarvis@kingston.ac.uk Palaeontology Thijs Vandenbroucke thijs.vandenbroucke@ugent.be Cinzia Bottini cinzia.bottini@unimi.it

#### ECS REPRESENTATIVE

Alena Ebinghaus aebinghaus@abdn.ac.uk

## 4) Election of "President-Elect", November 2017

EGU decided at the Plenary 2017, that from 2017 onwards, the new president will be elected one year before he/she assumes office as new Division President. He/she will act as President-elect for one year. In the case of SSP, Helmut Weissert will be president until 2019. A new "president-elect" will be elected in November 2017. Persons interested in candidacy for election should contact Helmut Weissert. If there are more than three candidates, the SSP nomination committee will select two or three candidates who will have to be approved by the EGU Council in Fall 2017, prior to the general election.

## 5) Early Career Scientists, Report from Guilhem Douillet & Alena Ebinghaus

Additional early career scientists are asked to join the officers team to help with the social media.

## 6) SSP Awards

Paul Wignall (University of Leeds) is the recipient of the SSP 2017 Lamarck Medal. The medal lecture was a great success, and more than 300 persons attended the lecture. Yadong Sun (University of Erlangen) is the awardee of one of the 4 prestigious 2017 Arne Richter Awards for Early Career Scientists.

3 posters were selected for the 2016 OSPP Award:

Dursun Acar (Istanbul University, Turkey); Ido Sirota (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel); Madeleine Vickers (Plymouth University, UK)

Congratulations to all the awardees.

## 7) Lamarck Medal - Medal Committee

Paul Wignall accepts membership of the Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal Award Committee. He will replace Isabella Premoli Silva. Isabella Premoli Silva is thanked for her excellent services on the Committee. Judy McKenzie agreed to chair the committee for another two years. EGU decided at the Plenary Meeting 2017, that the Medal Committees may include one additional member. The person should not be a medalist and it is recommended that an Early Career Scientist is appointed. SSP decided to propose the last ECS representative as an additional member of the Jean-Baptiste Lamarck Medal Committee. Guilhem Amin Douillet is approved as new member of the medal Committee.

#### LAMARCK MEDAL COMMITTEE

Chair: Judith McKenzie	judy.mckenzie@erdw.ethz.ch
Paul Wignall.	P.B.Wignall@leeds.ac.uk
Luc Lourens	L.J.Lourens@uu.nl
Wolfgang Schlager,	schlager@planet.nl

New addition (non-medalist member, past ECS Representative): Guilhem Douillet g.douillet@min.uni-muenchen.de

Lamarck Medal 2018 – Sedimentology

EGU Division Stratigraphy, Sedimentology & Palaeontology Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal to be awarded to a mid-career scientist for exceptional contributions in SSP disciplines! 2018 - Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal to be awarded to a mid-career scientist for exceptional contributions in Sedimentology! Nomination process is now open; see instructions: www.egu.eu/awards-medals/ Deadline: 15 June 2017!!!

## 8) EGU GA 2018 > SSP Sessions

Finally, the president brings the 2018 GA to the attention of the division meeting, he thanks all conveners for their great work and he thanks the participants of the SSP division meeting for their presence and active participation.

Please plan to submit your successful session again for 2018, or decide about a new topic, and new co-conveners. We urge all the conveners of successful 2016 or 2017 sessions to resubmit their session for 2018. You all, with your contributions, will make SSP-EGU 2018 a successful event.

Helmut Weissert, SSP President 2<sup>nd</sup> May 2017