European Geophysical Society
Louis Néel Medal (since 1993)

This medal has been established by the Section on Solid Earth Geophysics (SE) in recognition of the scientific achievements of Louis Eugène Felix Néel, who shared the 1970 Nobel Prize of Physics for his fundamental research and discoveries concerning antiferromagnetism. This medal is reserved for individuals in recognition of outstanding achievements in the fertilization of the Earth Sciences by the transfer and application of fundamental theory and/or experimental techniques of solid state physics, as defined in its broadest sense.
Louis Néel Medallists

J. Michael Brown  
1999 D.J. Dunlop 1997 R. Boehler
1995 J.-P. Poirier 1994 F. Stacey