Division medals 2023

EGU celebrates its 2023 division medallists, whom the community is honouring for their important contributions to the Earth, planetary, and space sciences.

Christoph Schär

2023 Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal

The 2023 Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal is awarded to Christoph Schär for pioneering research on extreme weather, based on his skills in atmospheric dynamical theory and numerical modeling, that have enabled regional climate models to couple with complex topography.

Tom Battin

2023 Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal

The 2023 Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky Medal is awarded to Tom Battin for fundamental contributions to the biogeosciences through studies linking biology, ecology, chemistry and hydrology to the functioning and of inland waters across scales.

Hugues Goosse

2023 Hans Oeschger Medal

The 2023 Hans Oeschger Medal is awarded to Hugues Goosse for wide and significant contributions to palaeoclimate modeling and pioneering work in data assimilation in palaeoclimatology.

Bette L. Otto-Bliesner

2023 Milutin Milanković Medal

The 2023 Milutin Milanković Medal is awarded to Bette L. Otto-Bliesner for her exceptionally outstanding contribution to modelling the earth system from deep-time to glacials and interglacials, and leading pioneering work to use palaeoclimate for better future projection.

Etienne Berthier

2023 Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal

The 2023 Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal is awarded to Etienne Berthier for outstanding scientific achievements in regional and global glacier mass change and remote sensing, and for immense service to the global cryospheric community.

Lisa Tauxe EMRP
Lisa Tauxe

2023 Petrus Peregrinus Medal

The 2023 Petrus Peregrinus Medal is awarded to Lisa Tauxe for world leading expertise in palaeo- and rock-magnetism, development of advanced experimental methods, and far reaching service to the community via books, program packages and database.

Jürgen Müller

2023 Vening Meinesz Medal

The 2023 Vening Meinesz Medal is awarded to Jürgen Müller for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of modern geodesy, in particular for his scientific leadership in the field of Lunar Laser Ranging.

Thorsten W. Becker

2023 Augustus Love Medal

The 2023 Augustus Love Medal is awarded to Thorsten W. Becker for outstanding research contributions in regional and global geodynamics, seismology, tectonics, and earthquake source processes, and for scientific leadership and selfless service.

Maurizio Fedi

2023 Christiaan Huygens Medal

The 2023 Christiaan Huygens Medal is awarded to Maurizio Fedi for his ground-breaking contributions to gravity and magnetic field modelling and the analysis of geophysical potential fields.

Dimitri Lague

2023 Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal

The 2023 Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal is awarded to Dimitri Lague for impactful research in quantifying landscapes and their dynamics through a suite of innovative approaches, including new technologies and techniques, alongside outstanding leadership in open science.

Susan L. S. Stipp

2023 Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal

The 2023 Robert Wilhelm Bunsen Medal is awarded to Susan L. S. Stipp in recognition of her fundamental research and unique applications of nano-geochemistry and mineralogy.

Marc F. P. Bierkens

2023 Henry Darcy Medal

The 2023 Henry Darcy Medal is awarded to Marc F. P. Bierkens for outstanding research on integrative global and regional-scale water resources modelling, aimed at understanding surface and groundwater supply depletion related to human uses and climate change.

Taikan Oki

2023 John Dalton Medal

The 2023 John Dalton Medal is awarded to Taikan Oki for his seminal contribution to global hydrology through pioneering work in developing novel numerical models to quantify the global water cycle, and its evolution under human pressure.

Alberto Viglione

2023 Plinius Medal

The 2023 Plinius Medal is awarded to Alberto Viglione for seminal contributions to understanding and assessing hydrological extremes.

Peng Cui

2023 Sergey Soloviev Medal

The 2023 Sergey Soloviev Medal is awarded to Peng Cui for his high-level career in research and applications on debris flows and other mountain hazards, and his leadership on disaster risk reduction in adherence with the Sendai Framework.

Angelo Vulpiani

2023 Lewis Fry Richardson Medal

The 2023 Lewis Fry Richardson Medal is awarded to Angelo Vulpiani for contributions to stochastic resonance, as a mechanism for climate variability, the development of multifractals to describe turbulence and chaotic systems, and its implications for predictability.

Alberto Naveira Garabato

2023 Fridtjof Nansen Medal

The 2023 Fridtjof Nansen Medal is awarded to Alberto Naveira Garabato for groundbreaking and pioneering research characterised by extraordinary insight and innovation that mechanistically revealed previously unseen key aspects of ocean mixing and ocean circulation.

Tristan Guillot

2023 Runcorn-Florensky Medal

The 2023 Runcorn-Florensky Medal is awarded to Tristan Guillot for fundamental contributions to the study of the formation, interior and atmosphere of giant planets and exoplanets, and for his inspirational leadership across multiple fields in planetary sciences.

David A. T. Harper

2023 Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal

The 2023 Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal is awarded to David A. T. Harper in recognition of his outstanding work on the evolution and biostratigraphy of Lower Paleozoic invertebrate faunas, as well as his important contributions to quantitative palaeontology education.

Ravendra Naidu

2023 Alina Kabata-Pendias Medal

The 2023 Alina Kabata-Pendias Medal is awarded to Ravendra Naidu for outstanding research on developing better ways to assess, characterise risks of, and remediate contaminated soil, and the potential impacts of contaminants on environmental and human health.

Andreas A. Richter

2023 Philippe Duchaufour Medal

The 2023 Philippe Duchaufour Medal is awarded to Andreas A. Richter for his pioneering scientific contributions in soil ecological research, and his work as an excellent teacher and mentor for his students, following an inclusive approach.

Hermann Opgenoorth

2023 Julius Bartels Medal

The 2023 Julius Bartels Medal is awarded to Hermann Opgenoorth for his exceptional contributions to substorms and space weather research, and his strong leadership in international collaboration.

Richard G. Gordon

2023 Stephan Mueller Medal

The 2023 Stephan Mueller Medal is awarded to Richard G. Gordon in recognition for his outstanding and innovative contribution to global tectonics, in particular, for his leadership of the NUVEL (Northwest University Velocity) and MORVEL (Mid-Ocean Ridge Velocity) global plate motion projects.