European Geosciences Union

EGU logo

Division on Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP)

President: Stéphane Vannitsem,
Deputy President: François Schmitt,

Although the geosciences are rife with nonlinearity, the NP division is focused on a series of nonlinear paradigms whose applications cut across the “geospheres”, disciplines.  Examples include deterministic chaos, tipping points, nonlinear waves, similarity across scales (scaling, scale invariance, fractals, multifractals), network theory, stochasticity, predictability and its limits, pattern formation, self-organized criticality, extreme events.  NP geoscience is highly multidisciplinary, it plays an important role in fundamental geoscience.  Applications of NP science include new methodologies, new modelling and new data analysis techniques.

Subscribe to mailing lists

NP mailing list  NP-ECS mailing list EGU newsletter


NP division at the EGU General Assembly 2017

First I would like to warmly thank Shaun Lovejoy my predecessor for the last four years during which he promoted new activities within the NP division in particular the short courses, and enhanced collaborations at the level of the Union.
The new NP executive board is now composed of Stefano Pierini (NP2, Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences), François Schmitt (NP3, Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability), Reik Donner (NP4, Time Series and Patterns), Olivier Talagrand (NP5, Predictability), Jose Redondo (NP6, Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion), Philippe Fraunié (NP7, Nonlinear Waves), Valerio Lucarini (NP8, Nonlinear Stochastics), Daniel Schertzer (publications), Stéphane Vannitsem (Programme group chair), Davide Faranda (Scientific Affairs), Igor  da Silva Rocha Paz (Early Career Scientists), Shaun Lovejoy (Division Affairs) August Gires (Webmaster).  The new Richardson medal committee is composed of: Chair: Annick Pouquet, Members: Edward Ott, Peter Read, Daniel Schertzer, Olivier Talagrand, Tamas Tel.

The EGU General Assembly 2017 was a real success in terms of number of participants and activities. The NP division contributed to this success with 372 abstracts within 14 sessions, 9 short courses, and one interdisciplinary session and two sessions in the Great Debates organized at the level of the Union. 7 sessions were also co-organized with other divisions (170 abstracts). I would like to thank all the conveners and participants for this success.
NP honours have been awarded to Edward Ott with the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal 2017, and to Malte Stuecker with the Outstanding Student Poster and Pico Award 2016.
The preparation of the next assembly will start soon (and can be followed at and in this context I would like to remind you that proposals for the NP awards (Lewis Fry Richardson Medal and the Outstanding Young Scientist Awards) should be introduced before June 15, 2017. The link associated to these awards is

Thank you for all your efforts!
Looking forward to seeing you all in Vienna in 2018!

Stéphane Vannitsem
NP division president

Current issue of the EGU newsletter

EGU newsletter cover image

Two important EGU calls opened this month. The first is the EGU 2018 General Assembly call for sessions, which opened on July 10. Do you have a brilliant idea for a scientific session or a short course? Please submit it by September 8. Also of highlight is the call for candidates for the EGU autumn elections. You can propose candidates, including nominating yourself, to serve as the next EGU Union President, General Secretary and Division Presidents by 15 September. Another important deadline, coming up this month, is the deadline for applications for financial support to organise training schools on 15 August.

Also this month, the EGU issued a position statement in support of the teaching of evolution in schools around the world. EGU President Jonathan Bamber says: “Evolution is a well-established, evidence-based scientific concept rooted in clear and logical facts, supported by a wealth of evidence on geological time.”

[ Read more ]