Top of clouds (Credit: Jean-Luc Baray, distributed via

AS Atmospheric Sciences Awards & medals committees

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Division on Atmospheric Sciences

Awards & medals committees

Ex-officio members are not included; they are the relevant division president and the chair of the Union Awards Committee. Awards and medals committee members should declare at the beginning of the selection procedure any potential conflict of interest.

Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal

Atmospheric Sciences

Pinhas Alpert (Chair)
Johannes Lelieveld
Michael Prather
Oksana Tarasova

Alfred Wegener Medal & Honorary Membership

Atmospheric, hydrological or ocean sciences

Murugesu Sivapalan (Chair)
Ingeborg Levin
John Burrows
Lynne Talley
Meinrat O. Andreae
Michael L. Bender