Skip to main content
Vatnajokull glacier from a plane (Credit: Lamquin Nicolas, distributed via

NP Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences Structure

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Division on Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences


Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences (NP) structure
François Schmitt
Deputy President
Davide Faranda Email
Programme Group Chair
François Schmitt
Science Officers
Tommaso Alberti Email NP1: Mathematics of Planet Earth
Christian Franzke Email NP2: Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences
Ioulia Tchiguirinskaia Email NP3: Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability
Reik Donner Email NP4: Time Series and Big Data Methods
Olivier Talagrand Email NP5: Predictability
Jezabel Curbelo Email NP6: Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion
Julien Touboul Email NP7: Nonlinear Waves
Henk Dijkstra Email NP8: Emergent Phenomena in Geosciences
OSPP Co-ordinator
Daniel Schertzer Email
Scientific Affairs
Davide Faranda Email
ECS Representative
Mireia Ginesta-Fernandez
Auguste Gires Email

Awards & medals committees

Lewis Fry Richardson Medal committee
Lewis Fry Richardson Medal
Committee chair Ulrike Feudel
Committee members Angelo Vulpiani
Bérengère Dubrulle
Freddy Bouchet
Kateryna Terletska

Journal editors

Executive editors of Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics (NPG)
Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics (NPG)
Executive editors Ana M. Mancho
Christian Franzke
Daniel Schertzer
Olivier Talagrand
Stéphane Vannitsem