EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Division on Planetary and Solar System Sciences
ps.egu.eu

Structure

President

Stephanie C. Werner

ps@egu.eu

Deputy President

Özgür Karatekin

ozgur.karatekin@oma.be

Programme Group Chair

Stephanie C. Werner

ps@egu.eu

Science Officers

Bernard Foing

Terrestrial Planets Systems

bernard.foing@esa.int

Ingrid Mann

Small Bodies (dwarf planets, asteroids, comets) to Dust

ingrid.b.mann@uit.no

Athena Coustenis

Giant Planets Systems

athena.coustenis@obspm.fr

Lee Grenfell

Space Weather, Climate, Habitability, and Life in (Exo-) Planetary Context

lee.grenfell@dlr.de

Publications Committee

Özgür Karatekin

o.karatekin@oma.be

Aikaterini Radioti

a.radioti@ulg.ac.be

Athena Coustenis

athena.coustenis@obspm.fr

Webpages & Media

Elodie Gloesener

elodie.gloesener@oma.be

Cedric Gillmann

cedric.gillmann@observatoire.be

Loic Rossi

loic.rossi@latmos.ipsl.fr

David Bates Medal Chair

Tilman Spohn

tilman.spohn@dlr.de

Runcorn-Florensky Medal Chair

Tilman Spohn

tilman.spohn@dlr.de

OSPP Coordinator

Lena Noack

lena.noack@fu-berlin.de

ECS Representative

Maike Neuland

ecs-ps@egu.eu

Programme groups

Terrestrial Planets Systems

This includes terrestrial planets, their environments and Moons. Science questions include processes and the evolution in interiors, at surfaces, in atmospheres, exospheres or magnetospheres. Related observational, instrumental, experimental, modelling and theoretical methods are relevant. In the future, research on small exoplanets can be integrated here.

Synergies are welcome with general planetary topics and with other EGU areas in Earth sciences and techniques.

Small Bodies (dwarf planets, asteroids, comets) to Dust

This programme group concerns the small objects in the planetary system, including asteroids, moons, comets and the interplanetary dust and meteoroid complex. It also includes the interaction of these objects with the solar wind and other component of the interplanetary medium resulting e.g. in comae, exospheres, dust layers, plasma sheets or magnetospheres. We also welcome research on gas and dust in planetary disk and emerging planetary systems.

Giant Planets Systems

This theme will deal with the systems as a whole of the giant planets and Pluto. The physics of the planets, their satellite systems, magnetospheres and rings will be discussed, as well as the coupling processes and the interactions among the different objects. This theme also invites findings regarding the exoplanetary systems. Results based on space and ground-based observations will be presented. Laboratory and theoretical work in support of these analyses are welcome.

Space Weather, Climate, Habitability, and Life in (Exo-) Planetary Context

'Space weather' deals with stellar winds, magnetospheres and the impact of high energy particles upon (exo)planetary atmospheres. 'Climate' broadly refers to understanding responses and evolution of climate-related variables in (exo)planetary environments. 'Habitability' encompasses investigating processes which favor the development and sustainment of life (e.g. the presence of liquid water, the availability of energy and nutrients etc.) in (exo)planetary environments. Finally, 'Life in the (exo)planetary context' refers to investigating the potential origin(s) and evolution of life and its associated biosignatures beyond the solar system.