European Geosciences Union

www.egu.eu

EGU logo

PS Structure

President Stephanie C. Werner ps@egu.eu
Deputy President Özgür Karatekin ozgur.karatekin@oma.be
Programme Group Chair Stephanie C. Werner ps@egu.eu
Science Officers Bernard Foing
Terrestrial Planets Systems
bernard.foing@esa.int
Ingrid Mann
Small Bodies (dwarf planets, asteroids, comets) to Dust
ingrid.b.mann@uit.no
Athena Coustenis
Giant Planets Systems
athena.coustenis@obspm.fr
Lee Grenfell
Space Weather, Climate, Habitability, and Life in (Exo-) Planetary Context
lee.grenfell@dlr.de
Publications Committee Özgür Karatekin o.karatekin@oma.be
Aikaterini Radioti a.radioti@ulg.ac.be
Athena Coustenis athena.coustenis@obspm.fr
Webpages & Media Elodie Gloesener elodie.gloesener@oma.be
Cedric Gillmann cedric.gillmann@observatoire.be
Loic Rossi loic.rossi@latmos.ipsl.fr
David Bates Medal Chair Tilman Spohn tilman.spohn@dlr.de
Runcorn-Florensky Medal Chair Tilman Spohn tilman.spohn@dlr.de
OSPP Coordinator Lena Noack lena.noack@fu-berlin.de
ECS Representative Maike Neuland ecs-ps@egu.eu

Programme Groups

Terrestrial Planets Systems

This includes terrestrial planets, their environments and Moons. Science questions include processes and the evolution in interiors, at surfaces, in atmospheres, exospheres or magnetospheres. Related observational, instrumental, experimental, modelling and theoretical methods are relevant. In the future, research on small exoplanets can be integrated here.

Synergies are welcome with general planetary topics and with other EGU areas in Earth sciences and techniques.

Small Bodies (dwarf planets, asteroids, comets) to Dust

This programme group concerns the small objects in the planetary system, including asteroids, moons, comets and the interplanetary dust and meteoroid complex. It also includes the interaction of these objects with the solar wind and other component of the interplanetary medium resulting e.g. in comae, exospheres, dust layers, plasma sheets or magnetospheres. We also welcome research on gas and dust in planetary disk and emerging planetary systems.

Giant Planets Systems

This theme will deal with the systems as a whole of the giant planets and Pluto. The physics of the planets, their satellite systems, magnetospheres and rings will be discussed, as well as the coupling processes and the interactions among the different objects. This theme also invites findings regarding the exoplanetary systems. Results based on space and ground-based observations will be presented. Laboratory and theoretical work in support of these analyses are welcome.

Space Weather, Climate, Habitability, and Life in (Exo-) Planetary Context

'Space weather' deals with stellar winds, magnetospheres and the impact of high energy particles upon (exo)planetary atmospheres. 'Climate' broadly refers to understanding responses and evolution of climate-related variables in (exo)planetary environments. 'Habitability' encompasses investigating processes which favor the development and sustainment of life (e.g. the presence of liquid water, the availability of energy and nutrients etc.) in (exo)planetary environments. Finally, 'Life in the (exo)planetary context' refers to investigating the potential origin(s) and evolution of life and its associated biosignatures beyond the Solar System.