EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Division on Earth and Space Science Informatics

Division on Earth and Space Science Informatics

President: Helen M. Glaves (
Deputy President: Jens Klump (

As far as informatics and information technology are concerned, the ESSI division deals with Community-driven and multidisciplinary challenges and solutions. This include topics like: data model and metadata standardization, spatial data infrastructure interoperability, semantics services, quality and uncertainty information encoding and propagation, geospatial data processing, environmental model accessability, big data management, and data visualization for scientific discovery.

Recent awardees

Kerstin A. Lehnert

Kerstin A. Lehnert

  • 2018
  • Ian McHarg Medal

The 2018 Ian McHarg Medal is awarded to Kerstin A. Lehnert for exceptional contributions to the advancement of informatics and, in particular, her pioneering efforts on open, transparent and reproducible science.

Latest posts from the ESSI blog

Good practice in the evaluation of researchers

A new statement on good practice in the evaluation of researchers and research programmes has been posted by three national academies (Académie des Sciences, Leopoldina and Royal Society). It states that “the use of bibliometric indicators for early career scientists must in particular be avoided. Such use will tend to push scientists who are building their career into wellestablished/fashionable research fields, rather than encouraging them to tackle new scientific challenges.” (p. 4). Read the full statement at:

Strengthening Early Career Scientists (ECS) in EGU ESSI

Strengthening Early Career Scientists (ECS) in EGU ESSI

The number of presentations from ECS in the ESSI sessions has been low during recent EGU General Assemblies. We are hence currently trying to get greater involvement and recognition for the ECS in the ESSI Division. How to get involved as ECS in the ESSI division? Join the ESSI ECS mailing list We have a dedicated ESSI ECS mailing list that can be used for discussion between the ESSI ECSs. It is also used for announcements, such as dedicated meetings …

Current issue of the EGU newsletter

We are excited to announce we received over 17,000 EGU 2018 General Assembly abstracts! We look forward to welcoming all participants in Vienna on 8–13 April.

We would also like to remind you that until tomorrow, 31 January, you can apply for the General Assembly Mentoring Programme, either as a mentor, if you are an experienced General Assembly attendee, or as a mentee, if you are a first-timer at the meeting.

Until 15 February, you can enter the Imaggeo Photo Contest for a chance to win a free registration to next year’s General Assembly. You can also apply to receive an EGU Public Engagement Grant, if you have a geoscience outreach project you’d like to develop. Winners receive 1000 EUR and a free registration to next year's General Assembly.

Last but not the least, if you'd like to organise an EGU Galileo Conference, a meeting addressing a well-focused, cutting-edge topic at the frontier of geosciences research, make sure to apply for funding by 28 February.

Find ESSI on

Subscribe to

Tweets by @EGU_ESSI