Skip to main content

Awards & medals Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union

Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal

This medal was established by the Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Palaeontology Division in recognition of the scientific achievements of Jean Baptiste Lamarck. It is awarded to scientists for their exceptional contributions to stratigraphy, sedimentology or palaeontology. The medal is awarded each year alternating between the three subdivisions so that each third year a stratigrapher, sedimentologist or palaeontologist are awarded.

For information on how to nominate scientists for EGU awards and medals, please check our nominations page and the guidelines for proposal and selection of candidates.

Image of Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal
The medal has been exclusively designed for the EGU by József Kótai.